We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would go back in an instant!”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
218 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 218 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca O
Gits, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would go back in an instant!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful time in the Bay Tree Barn!

Nikki and Jason go out of their way to make sure your stay is unforgetable =)

The Bay Tree Barn has 2 bedrooms, (with 1 double bed and 2 singles) a good size bathroom, a well equipped kitchen (Nikki also cooks a variety of meals from starter to dessert which she delivers to your table!) a cozy livingroom with flatscreen tv/dvd player, free WiFi and a woodburner, there's also central heating all over the barn. (we didn't use the woodburner because it didn't get too cold in the evening but i imagine it's a real bonus when the weather turns colder!)
When you go outside you are greeted by the most beautiful sight ! (would want to wake up to that view everyday)
Brechfa Forest Barns is totally dog friendly (just like they promised) the garden has a fence all around it so you don't have to worry about letting your dog go out on his own (there's a nice big patch of grass provided for your dogs needs) and alongside the barn there's a broad path of gravel and a table with chairs (for relaxing outside and enjoying the view)

Yes, the Barns are slightly in the middle of nowhere but Nikki and Jason provide a book with all the adresses of the places you might need (shops, pubs, many walking/mountainbiking routes, even take-away adresses) and there's also a large basket with many 'what to do in..'-pamflets or you could just ask Nikki and she'll help you out!
We made some unforgetable walks with amazing views!

To make a long story short (too late!) we had the most wonderful time staying in the Bay Tree Barn and although it's a 6 hour drive for us to get there (from Folkestone) we would and will do it again in the future!

I hope this review wil convince you and your pet that Brechfa Forest Barns is the place to go!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
What a lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your honeymoon Rebecca! All the way from Belgium too :) Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience here for others to enjoy too. For anyone reading this, we'd like to mention that the king-size double bed Rebecca mentions is a zip linked bed which can be separated to make 2 singles instead if it's helpful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigphilja...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After a very hectic 15months for my wife and I we decided to go and have a short break, somewhere we could take our dog and chill and also do some walks, and we were not disappointed. Wow what a place, the most beautiful scenery, amazing food cooked by Nikki the owner(delivered to the door) the cottage was the biz, very clean and extremely tidy.The knowledge of the area was second to none.We would highly recommend this place if you have a dog and want a stress free break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
As always we are delighted to hear your stay in The Hay Barn ticked all the boxes. Really hope to see you here again soon for more relaxing :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic views and first class accommodation”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was our second visit and again never failed to impress, wonderful scenery on your door step, dog friendly and beautiful beach walks. Managed to also do one of the local bike trails, there is still so much to do and see and can not wait to come back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thank you Paul and family. It's so lovely when guests return. See you next year?!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaynecox
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Lovely”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed with a couple of friends and our dog (Dylan- the whiteish Golden Retriever featured in some FB posts!) for a week in early July. We had the most fantastic week. There are some great walks and mountain bike trails locally. Accomodation is really good and very homely. Nikki and her husband are very accomodating and friendly. We wished we had researched the walks/ bike trails etc and beeches a bit more before we arrived but we didnt! so still feel that there is alot more to see and do on our next visit. Also feel that we missed out on Nikki's cooking cos we so enjoyed cooking and BBQ ing for each other we just didnt get round to it. So all in all a great stay which has just given us appitite to return. Great!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh S
1 review
“Fab cottage with great views and very dog friendly walks near by.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in the bay tree barn for 3 nights with our two large dogs and the whole experience was great. Nikki and Jason were really helpful and knowlegable about the local area. The cottage was really well equipped, no need to bring anything but shower gel and toothpaste, all other essentials were provided including food if you wanted it. The cottage comes with some great recommendations for walks, bike routes, pubs beaches and other amusements which are really usefull. The outside garden is fenced off so is good for smaller dogs but we tethered ours as they can jump a bit and with sheep near by I didn't trust them. The views from the barn garden are stunning. We did some of the recomended walks nearby (tower, black lion at abergorlech and keepers) and the slightly further afield pembry country park with a forest and dog friendly beach at the far end. All of these walks are great for dogs as shade and streams aren't far away. We didn't get to do the mountain bike routes because of the dogs this time but looked good for cyclists, will be recommending to my cycling friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views and comfort of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing really but being picky the entry road was a bit bumpy at the end
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing