We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfectly placed paradise :-)”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
236 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 236 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ST1364
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First holiday in Wales”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This place is great for dogs the area was great walks local pubs with great food.
But let down with the barn on arrival there was a very bad smell of damp in bathroom which is next to living room we went through 2cans of airfreshener also the shower rail rusty paint flaking of ceiling and mouldy grout also they say wifi this was very poor.
For the money we have stayed in better places sorry would not return but Wales was great.
I am sure the owners will sought out these problems.
y

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2013
We're so sorry to hear that you've encountered these problems in The Hay Barn whilst we were ourselves away on holiday. Having just spoken with yourselves we are relieved to hear this didn't adversely affect your stay with us and are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your 1st visit to Wales. With back-to-back bookings since March general maintenance was planned for Autumn/Winter but clearly this needed urgent attention and within 10 minutes of reading your comments the work required to rectify the problems in the bathroom has be actioned. Improving our WiFi is a priority too (broadband in rural areas such as ours is, we agree, not as good as we would like) and we are continually looking for new ways to improve this. Following your review we have just ordered Ethernet cables and an additional hub which we very much hope will improve the situation. Disappointed as we are to have received a review anything short of our normal 5* status we very much hope that our prompt action to resolve the issues outlined shows that our guests' comfort and enjoyment remains our priority. Assuring you of our very best intentions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaynebm1
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfectly placed paradise :-)”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have returned home today from a truly wonderful break in Brechfa Forest, our accommodation in The Hay Barn was tranquil and very picturesque, the location is truly stunning and I instantly fell in love with the place. My husband and three of my children plus our beloved Labrador Milo enjoyed the setting, we travelled and went sight seeing in the day, many lovely places to visit, we enjoyed the tour of the gold mines not too far away and also the glorious Pembrey Country Park where on parts of the beach dogs are welcome. Nikki will advise of the local attractions. We enjoyed the local pub hospitality too and feel I have known the landlord many years and not only met him this week, what a lovely man. I was for once sad to be coming home, my motto is always make a memory and we have made a truly happy memory that will stay with me forever, thank you Nikki and Jason for welcoming us to your lovely holiday setting and we will see you again very soon :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandydean...
Radlett, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A gorgeous spot in the garden of Wales”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at Brechfa Forest Barns. We were a party of 4 adults and my 2 children age 2 and 2 months. We stayed in the Hay Barn which has plenty of beds to suit a family plus Grandparents for babysitting!
The host Nikki was incredibly accommodating - we really had everything we needed including a washing machine and tumble drier to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible.
The views were incredible and the sheep beautiful to watch and listen to. Our 2 yr old really enjoyed watching the lambs bouncing along the lanes as we drove in and out. We ordered a shopping delivery from Tesco and we also went out to the Black Lion Pub - which is a must for Sunday lunch.

Generally a lovely and enjoyable stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion and stunning views!!
Liked least: Unable to access WiFi. We tried in all rooms..
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2013
So glad we were able to accommodate you Amanda, and that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie E
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning views !”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Breath taking is all I can say ! We have just returned from a mon to fri break with our 2 dogs and 2 year old. It was so lovely to hear our little boy waking every morning saying 'sheep, sheep ' wanting to go straight out to see the sheep. The peace and quiet is priceless.
Amazing food provided by Nikki,defiantly worth a try. As is a trip to the country park 40/50 min drive away. £5 to park the. You have access to the whole park including some amazing dog friendly beaches, which were much enjoyed by our 2 dogs.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and the food. We really appreciate your kind review for all to see. Kind regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete T
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden jewel in the crown”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We've found the hidden jewel in the crown.Sitting munching on tea & toast looking down the picturesque valley in the early morning, the silence ''heaven'' the buzzards and red kites soaring high above and finishing the day with a spectacular sunset view following hours of exploring coves and villages ''bliss''. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and excellent Barn
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2013
High praise indeed! Thank you so much. Hope to see you again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing