We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last reviews do not match up with reality, terrible hotel”
Review of Divi Aruba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Divi Aruba
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Atascadero, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Last reviews do not match up with reality, terrible hotel”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I would definitely not recommend this hotel; it does not even deserve a 2-star rating. We had a top of the line ocean front room, but it was definitely not worth the $400 per night we spent. The tiles in the bathroom and the bath tub were dirty, very clearly had not seen a good cleaning in years. The paint in the room was chipping and had serious rust stains. The furniture might have seen good days 30 years ago, but was falling apart, as I was trying to get my clothes organized, the drawers fell down. You will find Motel 6 to be cleaner and with functional furniture. The food was average, not terribly good but also not terribly bad.
As for the neighboring "resort" The Tamarijn, do not go there. The place needs to be torn down and rebuilt from the ground up. Food in the italian restaurant was quite awful, we ordered fish which was clearly over the hill but they tried to mask the fishy old taste with a ton of salt, an insult to anybody who knows fish.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Corinne705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    1,052
    353
    141
    90
See reviews for
713
1,457
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I visited this resort in June 2010 for a wedding with several friends. It was memorable, and I wanted to share my experience here even though it was a while back. It is all inclusive, just don't loose your wristband. The food was good, breakfast had great options and pastries. All of the restaurants were good, you do have to reserve in advance. The hibachi here was very good ..I did not get sick when I came home from here, so that's a good sign.. The rooms were decent, nothing luxurious, I wouldn't consider this a five star over the top resort.. However, it was very clean, and kept. It was just a tad bit outdated, however it all depends what kind of holiday you have in mind. If you are looking for a casual, relaxing get away, then this is the place. I think the service, food, and overall stay here was great. I am posting the fact that it could be a bit outdated in case there are some people looking for luxury here at this resort. The Tamarjin which is the sister resort, is newer and I beleive you can check it out if you are all inclusive at the Divi. There are golf cart type carts you can take to go around the resort which I thought was so cool. I would recommend this resort for a weekend get away, a trip with friends, or even a family vacation. Our towels were changed daily and the staff was very attentive. There are activities for kids and contests by the pool to enjoy during the day. The beach was very nice and the pool is also nice as well. Alot of people get married here, and the wedding I went to was very pretty.. This place is great for weddings/vacation on a budget. I can't really find any negatives about this place.

Room Tip: This resort has stairs, if you have trouble climbing flights try to get on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle_travelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Juliet, TN
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This was our first trip to Aruba and it was amazing. Most of the people at this hotel have worked there for many years - something unusual in the islands. The hotel was lovely and the cleaning staff was never intrusive yet managed to keep everything spotless, even though the hotel is not new. Aruba is a windy island, so it never feels hot there, no matter the temperature. The beach is a dream: white, soft sand and that gorgeous ocean that is several glorious shades of blue. Some days the waves are calm and other days the waves are high and delightful for body surfing. The food was excellent at the buffet and the restaurants. They have a big wood burning pizza oven where you can get custom pizzas and sandwiches. There is also a lovely covered bar right on the beach for adult drinks and sodas. There are plenty of chairs on the beach and those cute palampa huts for shade. If you are a pool person, there are lovely pergolas with nicely padded chairs. There is as much to do as you could ever want or you can just vegetate and enjoy the sun and the water. The shopping area in town has a great mall with some extremely upscale stores - very different from most islands - and there are also enough of the typical Caribbean junk stores. Your all inclusive also allows you to enjoy the other Divi resorts,

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms: it's built so that most rooms have some view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarthaMountJuliet_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I've been there 4 times and had a great time every time......food fair, drinks good staff very friendly and accomodating, gorgeous views and plenty to do on and off the resort. The rooms are'nt as fancy as the high rise and "high end" hotels, but your very rarely in your room anyway.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JoAnna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We just went to the Divi two weeks ago for our honeymoon and it was amazing. All resort staff was friendly and willing to help with anything. The property is beautiful and it was great to have access to the sister resort just a five minute walk.Great food and excellent entertainment. Beautiful white sand beaches with plenty of water activities to choose from. Aruba overall is a wonderful island that is very safe to travel around with out a tour guide. If you choose to go which my husband and I recommend,check out the national park, the natural pool (conchi) you will need a 4X4 to get there but there are also tours, the different beaches for snorkeling (baby beach is a great starting point if you have never been snorkeling), light houses and of course downtown Oranjestad . Overall we loved it and will definitely return again!

Room Tip: upgrade to a ocean view totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hollie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
2.7 km away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
0.6 km away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
0.4 km away
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,114 reviews
5.1 km away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,816 reviews
3.8 km away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Oranjestad

Been to Divi Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Aruba

Property: Divi Aruba
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #45 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price range (per night): $456 - $884
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Aruba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mile-long beach is just the start. Enjoy breezy, sunny days strolling along the shore or relaxing pool side with a cocktail. The Divi Aruba is a refuge of relaxation, do as little or as much as you like. The atmosphere is laid-back both day and night. There are activities ranging from pool volleyball, to snorkeling to sunfish sailing. The nights heat up with theme shows including carnival, limbo and salsa dance lessons. Select from a variety of restaurants, bars and lounges, most right by the water's edge. All Inclusive Amenities: • All meals and snacks throughout the day at your choice of 10 dining options • Unlimited beverages at 8 bars • Guest accommodations just steps from the sand • Accommodations with a patio or balcony • Four freshwater pools • Non-motorized water sports • Complimentary Wi-Fi • Bikes (child, youth and adult sizes) • Lit tennis courts for night play • Divi Winds Sports Center with 30-foot rock climbing wall and fitness center • Taxes and service charges ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Divi Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Aruba All Inclusive Resort
Aruba Divi Divi
Divi Aruba Beach Resort
Divi Aruba Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing