We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pork not gluten ”

Iguana Joe's Caribbean Bar & Grill
Ranked #48 of 251 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The only night we hadn’t booked so we went here with low expectations as both of us wanted ribs. We started with cocktails and clearly just thought we would get water like everywhere else- but we didn’t. My partner is gluten free and asked whether the ribs were suitable for gluten free. The server replied no it’s not gluten, it’s pork.... clearly there was a knowledge gap here and off she went to find out.
We both ordered ribs, and there were plenty of them on a full rack. The bbq ribs were definitely the better flavour than the siracha ribs. The veg I had with it appeared just to be carrots and plantain. The coleslaw my partner got was nice.
Service wasn’t great until a change of server near to the end of the meal who was actually quite good, otherwise it was very slow and given the restaurant wasn’t that busy that was a shame.
Good ribs, average everything else.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were seated very quickly as we arrived about 1230 in the afternoon local time. This restaurant was all al fresco seating under an awning overlooking the main street in downtown.

The menu is quite extensive with something to please most everyone.

I had a hamburger which came with fries, lettuce, onion and tomato. Very large and properly prepared as I'd requested. She had the BBQ ribs, and that portion was very large. Ribs, slaw as well as Mac & cheese was almost big enough to share.

The restrooms were very clean as well was the restaurant. Would recommend for everyone.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TipSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We previously went to Iguana Catina and Smokey Joes and loved them!!! Therefore when we went downtown we were eager to try Iguana Joes. Unfortunately, the service wasn’t good, our food was cold/over cooked and we just did not feel welcome. Sadly, we won’t be back at this restaurant but will gladly go it’s sister restaurants Iguana Catina and Smokey Joes!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 345lisim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love Iguana Joes. I had the BEST EVER Cocoa Loca there. I had two and if they were not so filling i would have had 3 . For lunch I had a chicken and bacon in a spinach wrap . It was delicious !! It is great to sit upstairs at the railing and enjoy the view ! The place is very cute and atmosphere perfect. Will attach photos !

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mamNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

While shopping in downtown Oranjestad we decided to have lunch at Iguana Joe’s. Each meal was very good and the servings were larger than expected, which provided dinner as well.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank MBAF174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iguana Joe's Caribbean Bar & Grill also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Iguana Joe's Caribbean Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing