We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Antigua Recreation Ground
Save
Review Highlights
Theatre of Dreams

Run down it is and doesn't look the same as when Brian Lara cracked 375 and 400 or Sir Viv bashed... read more

Reviewed 3 November 2018
Mushatalante
,
Bognor Regis
History

Any cricket buff has to visit here. It's not far from the cruise port and gives you a piece of... read more

Reviewed 8 April 2018
treaksy
via mobile
Read all 30 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around St. John's
from USD 50.00
More Info
from USD 130.00
More Info
from USD 120.00
More Info
from USD 140.00
More Info
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
17
7
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
7
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cricket lovers brian lara cruise port arg cricketing prison stadium iconic sir richardson field century history antigua
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2017

This historical home for cricket and the venue for major cultural activities is located strategically in the heart of St. John's. It is the place where the renowned Brian Lara
made his historic triple century in cricket. Lovers of the sport of cricket and a thirst for nostalgia go there just to reflect on the good old days. Greatly in need of repairs to the double-decker stand and the surrounding walls, it is more a thing of history than of beauty.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank alexandrina55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Loved this ground, its old and run down a little but this is the true Antigua spirit you could almost feel what it would be like on a match day, I loved this and reminds me of the true carribean

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank 1963A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

As has been said in other reviews, the ARG is looking a bit sad these days but it remains one of the iconic venues in world cricket. Contrary to some previous comments, Antigua seemed to me to be completely safe and if you make the effort to engage with the locals, you will find them both extremely friendly and obliging. Indeed, after we had wandered around and stood in the middle where the square used to be, we got chatting to a chap who turned out to have been the signwriter for the honours boards and duly invited us upstairs to have a look at them. On the boards you will find the names and scores of many great cricketers, including Lara's 400 against England in 2004, a match that also produced centuries for both Michael Vaughn and Andrew Flintoff.
If you're at all interested in cricket, you really can't pass this one by.

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank samsotc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

It's a fairly run down stadium now so unless you are interested in cricket from a year or two back (like me) then not worth going out of your way for.
If you're like me though it was great to be stood on the ground where Brian Lara broke the record for highest test score, even though that was against England.
Only a few hundred yards from the cruise terminal and the gates were wide open to just walk onto the ground. Stands are still called after Andy Roberts and Richie Richardson to name two famous players but there is a football pitch marked out now with a plastic subs bench shelter (blown over) at the side of the pitch.
Saw another comment about it not feeling that safe to walk here. Well it is at the the top of a main street that isn't the smartest but felt perfectly safe. In fact, on the way back down a local just started talking to us reminiscing about his time in England. Turned out he played cricket about 20 minutes from where I live in Yorkshire. He was then joined by his family who have never been to England but want to some so they can feel what it is like to be cold! I told them not be bother, it's over rated.
As with all the islands we went to the people were all very friendly.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Its an unused Cricket Ground, thats about it, we wanted to see the Plaque which has the Highest scores recorded on it, looked absolutely everywhere but couldn't find it....

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Lynette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews