We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total chill out just what we needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dickenson Bay Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dickenson Bay Cottages
Ranked #2 of 14 St. John's B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total chill out just what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Just returned from our 2 week stay hadn't been to antigua since 1994 and was really pleased to find it still unspoilt and empty beaches are still to be found. Cottage was fab and had everything we needed, very spacious and well equipped. My husband was on crutches and being a small place we could totally relax and enjoy the sunshine.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    37
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
40
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I stayed at the Dickenson Bay Cottages for one night over the xmas break. I actually have family in Antigua hence why it was only one night. As many times as visiting Antigua, I never really ventured out into the hotel scene and was used to seeing the usual Sandals hotel around the island, however, this place is very cozy and the price is great. The rooms are villa style which make your stay more comforting which include a full kitchen. All cottages are self-catering. Our room was right outside of the pool which at night you could just sit on your veranda and enjoy the quiet, airy feeling of dickenson bay. The closest beach is only a 5 minute walk down the hill which is a rather active beach with watersports, a local beach bar and locals selling antiguan items. Dickenson Bay Beach is one of my favorite beaches in Antigua. If you like to vacation where hotel staff don't bother you and like alone time, the cottages is the place to stay. The only thing I would not recommend is if you have small children. The cottages is very quiet and the noise of screaming children takes away the surreal soothing feel of the area. The only thing I would recommend is the rental of a car. To purchase groceries, the drive is a good 10 minutes and town is a 20 minute drive. And if you want to visit the other 364 beaches of antigua then driving is the way to go. Overall, I would stay here again if I needed to.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam_cooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Just got back from Antigua and planning to go back again. ( a week is not enough)

This location was excellent for getting around the island. I would recommend renting a car to get the full Antiguan experience.
Dickenson Bay Beach is a 4 minute stroll down the hill, and there are several restaurants, and a small store. The beach itself can get quite crowded when the Cruise ships are in, but if you stroll toward the point (where the large house sits) you can find a nice quiet spot.

Dickenson Bay Cottages was just what we like. Full kitchen (we love to cook), a BBQ, nice pool and a great little deck to pass the time away. The room was cleaned daily and was always spotless. It is not a Sandals etc, but it is well maintained, and the staff are extremely friendly.

They have Wi-Fi, if you need it, at a cost of $20.00 per week. They also have in-room safes at a cost of $3.00 a day. The latter is a good investment to keep your passport etc secure.

They have plenty of brochures, and a book exchange in the office. One person noted the parking is not lit during the evening, yes its dark, but we had a flashlight and never felt unsafe.
I would reccoment this property to my friends. And as we are thinking of heading back in May, will more than likely book here again.

P.s. The Opus restaurant across the street is excellent, a little pricey, but the food was to die for,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Son_of_a_Sailor_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

This review is way over due. We stayed at Dickenson Bay Cottages in April while on route to Montserrat. The owner was very accomodating and the cottage we stayed in was clean, spacious and comfortable. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JennyValleyStreamNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Setup was unique and staff was very friendly. View of nearby hills from our bedroom window. However, parking area is completely dark at night and inadequate (safety concern). Wireless Internet may not work on Apple computers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
2.3 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
0.8 km away
Trade Winds Hotel
Trade Winds Hotel
#9 of 16 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.7 km away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#7 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
4.4 km away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#5 of 16 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 km away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickenson Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickenson Bay Cottages

Property: Dickenson Bay Cottages
Address: Anchorage Road | Trade Winds, P.O.Box1379, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price range (per night): $151 - $261
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dickenson Bay Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dickenson Bay Cottages is an exclusive development offering elegance and intimacy. The Suites are set in tranquil tropical gardens around an inviting and very private swimming pool. Fully equipped with every modern amenity and catering for couples and families alike the accommodation is practical and extremely flexible. Just a short walk from one of the islands premier beaches with its water sports, restaurants and bars. "Arguably the best self catering accommodation in Antigua" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Booking.com so you can book your Dickenson Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dickenson Bay Cottages Hotel St. John`s
Dickenson Bay Cottages Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing