We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be careful...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Be careful...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Its empty, run down infrastructure but decent rooms and meals

Decent value for money as a 3 star property...don't raise your hopes

Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Derren_Joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    89
    67
    71
    114
See reviews for
47
86
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Yes, there were only a total of 7 people in and out for the 7 days we stayed. We only saw a couple of people besides staff. We loved it! When the pirate ship brought people in to "our beach", we went to the pool. When my husband and I go away like this, we don't like to deal with a ton of people. We like nice and quite. Some people have stated it was eerie, but we didn't think that. When we wanted to go explore, we called Sing, a cab driver that lives close by and he took us anywhere we wanted to go. He was very knowledgeable. Shirley Heights was awesome! We can't wait to return! I do wish the gift shop had been open while we were there, but it wasn't. No big deal, we went to the gift shop at the resort next door at the Coconut something. Our room was on the top floor and had a wonderful view.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chitown66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnersville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

I organized a wedding at the hotel in April for my dayghter and 16 other guests. I had read the reviews upto that date and wanted to give the place a chance.

I went to the island in full knowledge we were going to a Carribean island when the culture was tropical, the people are more relaxed and the pace slower.

i have read the most current reviews and feel they are grossly WRONG. I would respectfully suggest that those people who sould should take their vacations in Florida or New York do so, or take a pill.

To visit Antigua is to want to unwind, relax, lean to communicate with yourself, sure if you have to sit at the bar for 3 minutes to wait for a drink ...learn to breath, look around consider your situation......so the shower runs yellow for 15 minutes then runs clear thats what happens let is run clear, then let it run some more, then take a shower whats your problem if you had to be somewhare in those 15 minutes your in the wrong time zone

I had the mosrt relaxing fun time of my life and every one of my family will return to this hotel at some time in the future. The staff did all they could to make our stay relaxing and memorable. They were and i am sure still are all good people.

Room Tip: The top floor have the best view of the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CarlAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

I’ve never really written a bad review before but the Grand Royal Antiguan is neither grand or royal. We were there for one night due to delays to our LIAT flight (don’t book with these guys either – we had a truly dreadful experience including a malfunctioning plane, 5 hours departure delay, missing the connection, having to stay overnight in this hovel, then finally reaching our destination to find out they had lost our bags and their staff genuinely didn’t care where our honeymoon suitcases).
In summary the place is a massive 1960s type tower block with a weirdly modern reception area but there was only one other couple there so it has a horrible eerie feeling. We went down to dinner where the other couple looked truly miserable as they must have booked in for a week. The bedroom was like a student lodging room with strip lights and horrible cheap furniture.
There was only one restaurant and there were no menus so the waitress told us the starter we could have (soup) and the two main course choices (fish or chicken curry). There was no one in the bar attached to the restaurant but they only had one beer.
My wife and I didn’t sleep a wink as the lumpy bed seemed to be crawling.
A weird experience staying here – truly horrific.
We discussed how this place could be improved but the only answer would be to knock it down and start again. It’s on a nice beachfront but otherwise is horrendous.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daveybigpotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. John's hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

My partner and my self had our wedding at the hotel, stayed two weeks 1 week with my family and 1 week on our own. we had a BRILLIANT time, the staff were wonderful they made our day and our stay extra special. I can not praise them enough, so warm and welcoming. I would defo suggest to anyone to have there wedding here. For these reasons
1) farnella is an great wedding planner and soooo friendly
2) the staff would do anything for you
3) the food is great
4) the rooms are comfortable (i wont pretend they are the ritz, but you have to come to expect some ruggedness)
5) The beach is the best on the island
6) it is very quiet, but to be honest for a wedding and honeymoon this is just what you want. the quietness meant that our wedding day and the hotel was all for us. in some more popular hotels the weddings have a feel being in a cattle market, this was not for us.

Sure things could be improved, with a few more guests there would be more life. i would like to stress though, the staff were what made this holiday great and we will miss them!!!!!.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rcahaela6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
7.1 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
10.3 km away
3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments
6.5 km away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
5.5 km away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
5.1 km away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort

Property: Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort
Address: Five Islands, Deep Bay, St. John's, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Price range (per night): $123 - $197
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Hotel St. John`s
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing