We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding”
other travellers have booked this property
Spectacular views from the patio, stretching from Hadrians Wall to the Lake District & Scotland.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular views from the patio, stretching from Hadrians Wall to the Lake District & Scotland.
Our cosy lounge with maple floor,beamed ceiling and arch picture window to catch the fabulous views Spacious kitchen/dining room,with underfloor heating,where everyone can enjoy a social meal together
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Spectacular views from the patio, stretching from Hadrians Wall to the Lake District & Scotland.
Our cosy lounge with maple floor,beamed ceiling and arch picture window to catch the fabulous views
Spacious kitchen/dining room,with underfloor heating,where everyone can enjoy a social meal together
The grass is not always greener, as the cows found out today, whilst checking out the new arrivals.
A really comfy bed with en suite, and your own private balcony & hayloft steps.
High pitched ceilings creating a wonderful sense of space & relaxation. En suite.
Cosy twin room with arrow slit window, beamed ceilings & antique furniture.
Crammel Linn waterfall, for the extreme canoeist when in full spate, not for the faint hearted
This is Sweep our faithful friend. Always keen and loves meeting new friends, hobbies include sheep.
The girls out for a stroll.Not quite sure what Betty,Doris & Mable think of it? Pretty unimpressed.
I took this shot while out feeding the sheep,the colours are fantastic, looking down into the gorge.
Private fishing in the spectacular Irthing Gorge.Site of special  scientific interest. Brown trout.
Bubbles the Highlander having his photo taken. Certainly not camera shy, got the field to himself.
Local Blackface sheep enjoying the views across to Hadrians Wall.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gilsland, Brampton, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
aloucoo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked to stay in the cottage in the first weekend of the half term to celebrate my mum's 50th (7 adults). The cottage was spacious and absolutely immaculate, with stunning views from the garden. No one felt they'd drawn the short straw with the bedrooms, all huge and three of them have en suites. Plenty of lovely walks near by- would also recommend the food at the local pub, The Samson.

My mum hasn't stopped raving about it since we got back- fantastic weekend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Thank you so much.
We are thrilled you all enjoyed your stay with us.
Especially mum for the special birthday.
It's great to have reviews of local eateries.
Thanks again
Best wishes.
Paul & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Wow. Thank you so much for your kind words.
We love to make our guests feel welcome.
So glad you had a great celebration.
Best wishes
Hope to see you sometime in the future.
Paul & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barclay H
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hadrian Wall Cottage”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is what the Web can do for travel. It was not an inn or B&B. More like a beautifully rennovated sheep farm stone house sitting high up looking down on the valley floor. There is nothing there but sheep. My GPS couldn't even find it. Call Shepard Paul for directions and bring the groceries with you. It's a schlep onto the village. The experince and The Wall are worth the effort

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Hi there Barclay,

Hope you are enjoying the rest of your tour.
It was a pleasure to meet you both, so glad you enjoyed you stay in our little bolthole. It is a bit of a hidden gem.
Thanks for your review.
Best wishes

Paul & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Fantastic cottage everything you could possible need. The owners were very helpful and the views magnificent. Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
Many thanks Linda,

We are thrilled you had a good time and enjoyed our home from home.
Paul & I try our utmost to make sure you have a good time.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes
Paul & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway to a Fantastic Cottage!”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had four lovely days and nights at this beautiful, well presented, clean and comfortable cottage!
The object of the exercise was to relax, recharge the batteries and for myself and my girlfriend to have some 'quality time' together.... mission accomplished!
As for value for money, this was first class/excellent. We have stayed in other cottages and although there was just the two of us, we wouldn't hesitate to pay Paul & Chris the asking rate to enjoy such a place and location!
Thank you very much for your hospitality...

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
Hi Steve & Esme,
Lovely to hear from you, hope you are both well.
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and you were able to find real quality time & relaxation together, that is so important & needed in today's world.
Thanks again and hope we see you in the future.
Best wishes

Paul & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing