We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceed expectations”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of NAVY BLUE

Stunning views from cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning views from cottage
Open plan kitchen/Diner Kitchen with breakfast bar.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Stunning views from cottage
Open plan kitchen/Diner
Kitchen with breakfast bar.
Master bedroom, with stunning views over Dartmouth.
Kitchen with oven, hob, fridge, microwave, dishwasher, coffee machine - complimentary tea and coffee
View of hills and surrounding countryside - fabulous walks.
Family bathroom
Top floor shower room.
Wonderful views of Britannia Naval College, Dartmouth
TV Lounge leading directly on to decked BBQ area
Clean and light, nautical theme throughout!
Modern and light atmosphere,
Single bedroom on the top floor
Front door, sunny decked area for morning sun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Kingswear, Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Katrina C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceed expectations”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely weekend in this house. Gorgeous views over Dartmouth. Well furnished with everything we could need and spotless. Will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and cosy atmosphere.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thank you for your feedback, I am really pleased to hear this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jellybean...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comedy of "not so" funny errors!!”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We rented this cottage for a weekend after reading the reviews on trip adviser and as we arrived it all looked good, I must say firstly, the cottage has fabulous views, nice furnishing,good attention to detail and was clean enough, sadly visitors book with places of interest/ places to eat hadn't been updated since 2013.
We got there at 5:30 to be met by a very cold,damp feeling dark cottage, no heating on, radiators cold on the walls and a few electric heaters about,which we plugged in and got the place a little warmer.
Realised there was no hot water, and cold radiators, we decided to call owner at 6pm....no reply...again at 7:30..no reply...9:30...no reply..11:05pm owner calls and says a plug must have tripped the water heater,she sounded surprised and told us a plumber would call round in the morning, oh and the radiators aren't connected to anything, so just use eclectic plug in heaters.
Saturday morning I texted owner to ask were we to stay in and wait for plumber, she told us to leave out spare key...only we couldn't because it was so bent, it wouldn't go into the lock...spent the morning with the so called plumber, who assured us it was all fixed after 2 hours and he'd had to come out several times to fix it over the last month..AS THE OWNER KNEW THERE WAS AN ONGOING PROBLEM...WOULDN'T IT HAVE BEEN A GOOD IDEA TO HAVE IT CHECKED BEFORE RENTING IT OUT FOR A WKD!!. We tried water before heading out to salvage the day...no hot water!!!
We Went out, came back at 4pm..no hot water...called owner who was not overly helpful until it was pointed out that we were now 24 hrs into a 36hr stay.
She agreed to pay half our money back and got the plumber out again...I say plumber..his main job is selling on eBay.
He spent another 2.5 hrs fixing the problem,at one point sparks were coming out of the wall in the bedroom were he was trying to fit a new plug. Came down stairs and asked which one of us was making him a cup of tea...and then asked for another before leaving.. FINALLY AT 6:30pm hot water!!! Hallelujah!!! We all showered quickly before it went off again..thankfully it lasted.
The plumber told us the owner was well aware of the problems and he was replacing parts after we left on Sunday morning.
We did get half our money back, but it was not a relaxing weekend away.
The plumber has since accidentally called us thinking we were the owner with yet more problems.
I'd suggest checking with owner that you'll have hot water before booking this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Lack of hot water
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
This is a very unfair review. As soon as I was aware of the problem, I arranged for a plumber to visit. He was at the cottage by 10 am on Saturday morning. The cottage does not have a boiler but has a water heater and electric radiators. The water heater was new in October 2015.
I was very apologetic and offered the guests a 50% refund. I also sought an alternative property for the guests next door.
The guests were only interested in getting money back and not at all bothered by the fact they had no hot water.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage with gorgeous views”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights in Feb. We had a fantastic stay. The cottage was really clean, lovely decor and amazing view of the river. We all enjoyed sitting in the window and watching the boats come and go especially in the evening. The cottage had all the home comforts you could want and there was lots to do in the surrounding area, the boys (aged 6 and 8) especially loved the car ferry to go across the river and woodlands theme park. We would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NTSEnglan...
England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place, views good from a certain angle in the front rooms”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A nice little cottage, clean enough and reasonably equipped. Good location even if parking needs a good driver to get into position. It was clean and well presented, would have preferred better quality duvet and pillow covers than the pattern pillow cases etc but still fine. We had a few minor issues with fuse and water heating but all quickly solved by the landlord on email.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Could have been a fraction cleaner
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJDavies9...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was lovely, in such a nice quiet location with beautiful views. We stayed for three nights and it was so relaxing. Such an easy walk to the lower ferry to cross over to Dartmouth, pubs and restaurants and boat hires. We will definitely go again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing