We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who knew breadmaking could be such fun!”

Manna from Devon Cooking School
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Kingswear
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A family run cooking school established in 2006 and overlooking the River Dart. We specialise in Bread, Fish, Mediterranean and Asian Cuisines and Wood-fired Oven Cooking. Holiday times will feature Family Classes aimed at inspiring youngsters to cook.Our classes are small, friendly, very much hands on and designed to inspire both budding and experienced cooks to explore new areas and expand their repertoires.
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Signed up for an Artisan Bread Weekend as a novice and had a great time learning a variety of techniques and processes. David is a great teacher full of encouragement and enthusiasm for his craft. The level of technical information and detail was set to meet the needs of all the students who came from a variety of backgrounds and experience. All in all it was a great weekend full of bread making and delicious food. I now have the confidence to bake a range of breads which have all come out looking and tasting pretty good to date!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank WizenWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyJ853, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Thanks so much for your review - we're delighted you found the Artisan Bread Weekend so useful and also that you're using the knowledge to make your own breads at home. That's what it's all about after all!

Best wishes and do keep in touch with your breadmaking successes!
David and Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wood fired oven"
in 17 reviews
"bread"
in 13 reviews
"cookery course"
in 6 reviews
"chicken"
in 5 reviews
"pizza"
in 9 reviews
"great fun"
in 7 reviews
"small group"
in 4 reviews
"learn how"
in 3 reviews
"shellfish"
in 2 reviews
"from start to finish"
in 2 reviews
"perfect hosts"
in 2 reviews
"pudding"
in 2 reviews
"delicious food"
in 2 reviews
"learning how"
in 2 reviews
"thanks guys"
in 2 reviews
"at home"
in 2 reviews
"warm welcome"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Did a taster course for wood fired oven cooking as we have a wood fired oven at our holiday home in Greece which wasn’t being used as it all seemed so intimidating. It was such a valuable day which took out the mystery of wood fired cooking and gave me the confidence to use my own. I would like to do the fish prep / cooking course too and will get round to it.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank jaz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyJ853, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thanks so much for your review - we're so glad you found your day enjoyable and useful and look forward to welcoming you back for a fish course soon
Best wishes
David and Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

We had talked about going on the Manna From Devon "Wood Fired Oven Cooking" course for ages, but realising that our oven was being built the second week of September really helped focus our minds!

We went into the course as complete novices but came away feeeling empowered and ready to take on the challenge of our new oven.

David & Holly are not only passionate about their food but also your enjoyment of the time you spend with them.

The day absolutely flew by and that is testament to the relaxed and informative nature of the day, not to mention the scrummy food that you have to eat from 11:30 onwards.

Cannot recommend hightly enough :-)

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank JamesQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyJ853, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thanks James, a pleasure to meet you both and the new outdoor kitchen looks fantastic.

Best wishes

David and Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Very informative day - lots of learning but great fun too . David & Holly are so passionate about what they do and really love wood fired cooking So much to understand but looks so simple when David does it. Great way to learn how to properly cook outdoors

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Gary17061957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

We attended a 1 day wood fired oven cookery course that was expertly run by hosts David and Holly. Focus was on using the wood fired oven to cook a variety of foods and the specific course we took part in was targeted at metal wood fired ovens.
If you want to learn more about wood fired cookery, this is a great place to do it. Wonderful location in Kingswear (opposite Dartmouth in Devon). The relaxed and very knowledgable (and skilled) hosts David and Holly will make sure you have a lovely time - and leave very full from sampling the day’s cooking as well as more skilled in the art of wood fired cookery.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank No_Lemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your day and found it useful for your cooking. Come back again!

Best wishes
David and Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manna from Devon Cooking School also viewed

 

Been to Manna from Devon Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing