We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Perfectly Judged

My wife and I spent last weekend 'Mastering' and then 'Making The Most Of,' our wood burning oven... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Mark B
,
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
An Absolute Must if You've Got a Wood Fired Oven!

We've had a wood fired oven for just over a year now and have had a fair bit of use out of it... read more

Reviewed 29 October 2018
ChrisM13198
via mobile
Read all 54 reviews
  
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
50
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood fired oven bread cookery course chicken pizza great fun small group learn how shellfish from start to finish perfect hosts pudding delicious food learning how thanks guys at home warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2018

We had talked about going on the Manna From Devon "Wood Fired Oven Cooking" course for ages, but realising that our oven was being built the second week of September really helped focus our minds!

We went into the course as complete novices but came away feeeling empowered and ready to take on the challenge of our new oven.

David & Holly are not only passionate about their food but also your enjoyment of the time you spend with them.

The day absolutely flew by and that is testament to the relaxed and informative nature of the day, not to mention the scrummy food that you have to eat from 11:30 onwards.

Cannot recommend hightly enough :-)

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank JamesQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyJ853, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thanks James, a pleasure to meet you both and the new outdoor kitchen looks fantastic.

Best wishes

David and Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Very informative day - lots of learning but great fun too . David & Holly are so passionate about what they do and really love wood fired cooking So much to understand but looks so simple when David does it. Great way to learn how to properly cook outdoors

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Gary17061957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

We attended a 1 day wood fired oven cookery course that was expertly run by hosts David and Holly. Focus was on using the wood fired oven to cook a variety of foods and the specific course we took part in was targeted at metal wood fired ovens.
If you want to learn more about wood fired cookery, this is a great place to do it. Wonderful location in Kingswear (opposite Dartmouth in Devon). The relaxed and very knowledgable (and skilled) hosts David and Holly will make sure you have a lovely time - and leave very full from sampling the day’s cooking as well as more skilled in the art of wood fired cookery.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank No_Lemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your day and found it useful for your cooking. Come back again!

Best wishes
David and Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

David and Holly run several courses in Kingswear and I recently had the great joy of going on the 'Sourdough' course. Lasting a whole day (though the time whizzed), our small group of 4 was taken through the practical aspects of making delicious sourdough breads, as well as the techniques and science behind the cooking. In addition to making a number of breads each, we were served wonderful food (some of which we had made ourselves - there nothing better than tasting the proof in the pudding, as they say), all washed down with fresh coffee, tea or something stronger. David's relaxed, yet highly professional teaching, supported by Holly's expert preparation, belies the careful planning and deep knowledge and passion he has for these bread-making techniques. By the time we left, we not only had bag-fulls of home-made breads, but a new wealth of knowledge and confidence to make our own at home. Team Manna from Devon know how to put the 'oo' in to cooking and the 'tasti' into a fantastic, relaxed and informative day. Most highly recommnded!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Hi Richard

Many thanks for such a fabulous review. It was a joy making bread with you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Manna from Devon again.

Best wishes and happy baking!
David and Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

We took our staff to manna from Devon for their Christmas ‘do’, it couldn’t have been a better day. Great fun, informative, delicious food, and superb hosts, David and Holly are knowledgeable, warm and ensured everything ran perfectly from start to finish. We enjoyed it so much I’m going to book next years do very soon! Thanks guys! Helen & Philip

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thanks for the review and kind words Helen. We thoroughly enjoyed having you and the team join us for the day.

Merry Christmas,

David and Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews