We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fun day”

Manna from Devon Cooking School
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Kingswear
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A family run cooking school established in 2006 and overlooking the River Dart. We specialise in Bread, Fish, Mediterranean and Asian Cuisines and Wood-fired Oven Cooking. Holiday times will feature Family Classes aimed at inspiring youngsters to cook.Our classes are small, friendly, very much hands on and designed to inspire both budding and experienced cooks to explore new areas and expand their repertoires.
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Very informative day - lots of learning but great fun too . David & Holly are so passionate about what they do and really love wood fired cooking So much to understand but looks so simple when David does it. Great way to learn how to properly cook outdoors

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Gary17061957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wood fired oven"
in 17 reviews
"bread"
in 13 reviews
"cookery course"
in 6 reviews
"chicken"
in 5 reviews
"pizza"
in 9 reviews
"great fun"
in 7 reviews
"small group"
in 4 reviews
"learn how"
in 3 reviews
"shellfish"
in 2 reviews
"from start to finish"
in 2 reviews
"perfect hosts"
in 2 reviews
"pudding"
in 2 reviews
"delicious food"
in 2 reviews
"learning how"
in 2 reviews
"thanks guys"
in 2 reviews
"at home"
in 2 reviews
"warm welcome"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

We attended a 1 day wood fired oven cookery course that was expertly run by hosts David and Holly. Focus was on using the wood fired oven to cook a variety of foods and the specific course we took part in was targeted at metal wood fired ovens.
If you want to learn more about wood fired cookery, this is a great place to do it. Wonderful location in Kingswear (opposite Dartmouth in Devon). The relaxed and very knowledgable (and skilled) hosts David and Holly will make sure you have a lovely time - and leave very full from sampling the day’s cooking as well as more skilled in the art of wood fired cookery.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank No_Lemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your day and found it useful for your cooking. Come back again!

Best wishes
David and Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

David and Holly run several courses in Kingswear and I recently had the great joy of going on the 'Sourdough' course. Lasting a whole day (though the time whizzed), our small group of 4 was taken through the practical aspects of making delicious sourdough breads, as well as the techniques and science behind the cooking. In addition to making a number of breads each, we were served wonderful food (some of which we had made ourselves - there nothing better than tasting the proof in the pudding, as they say), all washed down with fresh coffee, tea or something stronger. David's relaxed, yet highly professional teaching, supported by Holly's expert preparation, belies the careful planning and deep knowledge and passion he has for these bread-making techniques. By the time we left, we not only had bag-fulls of home-made breads, but a new wealth of knowledge and confidence to make our own at home. Team Manna from Devon know how to put the 'oo' in to cooking and the 'tasti' into a fantastic, relaxed and informative day. Most highly recommnded!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Hi Richard

Many thanks for such a fabulous review. It was a joy making bread with you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Manna from Devon again.

Best wishes and happy baking!
David and Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

We took our staff to manna from Devon for their Christmas ‘do’, it couldn’t have been a better day. Great fun, informative, delicious food, and superb hosts, David and Holly are knowledgeable, warm and ensured everything ran perfectly from start to finish. We enjoyed it so much I’m going to book next years do very soon! Thanks guys! Helen & Philip

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thanks for the review and kind words Helen. We thoroughly enjoyed having you and the team join us for the day.

Merry Christmas,

David and Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Had a class in Wood Fired Oven cooking with David. We were small group of four and learnt about filleting fish, cooking various dished and making Naan bread.We really enjoyed the relaxed style, plenty of participation and great fun - served with plenty of great Mucasdet with the early courses that we prepared and a pleasant red with the curry. We also stayed overnight in their rooms which were spacious and clean. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this venue for a great day out.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Superchunk1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thanks so much for your review - lovely to have you all with us for your course and stay and we're really glad you enjoyed it.

Best wishes to all
David and Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manna from Devon Cooking School also viewed

 

Been to Manna from Devon Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing