We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
An Absolute Must if You've Got a Wood Fired Oven!

We've had a wood fired oven for just over a year now and have had a fair bit of use out of it... read more

Reviewed 29 October 2018
ChrisM13198
via mobile
Who knew breadmaking could be such fun!

Signed up for an Artisan Bread Weekend as a novice and had a great time learning a variety of... read more

Reviewed 25 October 2018
WizenWanderer
,
United Kingdom
Read all 53 reviews
  
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
49
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood fired oven bread cookery course chicken pizza great fun small group learn how shellfish from start to finish perfect hosts pudding delicious food learning how thanks guys at home warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017

We took our staff to manna from Devon for their Christmas ‘do’, it couldn’t have been a better day. Great fun, informative, delicious food, and superb hosts, David and Holly are knowledgeable, warm and ensured everything ran perfectly from start to finish. We enjoyed it so much I’m going to book next years do very soon! Thanks guys! Helen & Philip

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thanks for the review and kind words Helen. We thoroughly enjoyed having you and the team join us for the day.

Merry Christmas,

David and Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Had a class in Wood Fired Oven cooking with David. We were small group of four and learnt about filleting fish, cooking various dished and making Naan bread.We really enjoyed the relaxed style, plenty of participation and great fun - served with plenty of great Mucasdet with the early courses that we prepared and a pleasant red with the curry. We also stayed overnight in their rooms which were spacious and clean. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this venue for a great day out.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Superchunk1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thanks so much for your review - lovely to have you all with us for your course and stay and we're really glad you enjoyed it.

Best wishes to all
David and Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Have been building a wood fired oven in the garden so needed to learn how to cook in it - Manna from Devon was an excellent place to do this.

We had a warm welcome on a rainy day and were soon meeting Holly and her 2 ovens and the 4 other students. Holly is such a warm and charming person who really knows her stuff and teaches it very well.

We had a great day - learning how to light the oven, types of wood to use then the cooking techniques themselves. All was done at the right pace and plenty of opportunity to ask questions. The biggest challenge was to make the pizza dough and then to form it into a nice round pizza!

The great thing for us was this was not just about pizza - we learnt a lot of other cooking techniques and Holly cooked some great fish and shellfish, great rump steak, whole chicken and roast potatoes, etc. The food was washed down with a nice level of wine and cups of tea! We left after 6 years absolutely stuffed!

This was a truly memorable and enjoyable day and is thoroughly recommended. Can't wait to put our learnings into action back home.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Neale1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi Neale

Many thanks for your lovely review - great to have you both with us at the cooking school on Saturday for your course and do let us know how you get on with your wood fired cooking; please shout if you've got any queries

Best wishes to you both
Holly

By the way, it might have felt like 6 years but it was only 6 hours!! ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Manna from Devon is ok. Kitt was an excellent tutor with limited resources. Did v v little actual cooking. More watch and demo style.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank neil l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Many thanks for your review Neil. We agree Kit is a great tutor and we hope you'll be able to practise what you did learn in your own kitchen. We are in a domestic kitchen so we are limited as to how much cooking you can do (we hope we cover that on our website) and we aim to increase confidence in all kinds of cooks so they will be able to carry on cooking our fabulous fish for themselves, their friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Holly and David gave us a very enjoyable and informative day on this course. They have definitely given us the confidence to get more out of our wood-fired oven and we cant wait to get going. Just need a week to recover from all the food we ate!!

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Hi Allison

Thanks so much for your review and great to have you both with us; we're delighted you got so much out of your day!

As we said, we've got to cook lots of food to show you what you can do with the ovens so you have to try everything of course!!

Let us know how you get on with your cooking
Best wishes
David and Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews