We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Perfectly Judged

My wife and I spent last weekend 'Mastering' and then 'Making The Most Of,' our wood burning oven... read more

Reviewed 12 December 2018
Mark B
,
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
An Absolute Must if You've Got a Wood Fired Oven!

We've had a wood fired oven for just over a year now and have had a fair bit of use out of it... read more

Reviewed 29 October 2018
ChrisM13198
via mobile
Read all 54 reviews
  
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
50
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood fired oven bread cookery course pizza great fun two days small group learn how delicious food last weekend from start to finish perfect hosts pudding learning how thanks guys at home holly
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Have been building a wood fired oven in the garden so needed to learn how to cook in it - Manna from Devon was an excellent place to do this.

We had a warm welcome on a rainy day and were soon meeting Holly and her 2 ovens and the 4 other students. Holly is such a warm and charming person who really knows her stuff and teaches it very well.

We had a great day - learning how to light the oven, types of wood to use then the cooking techniques themselves. All was done at the right pace and plenty of opportunity to ask questions. The biggest challenge was to make the pizza dough and then to form it into a nice round pizza!

The great thing for us was this was not just about pizza - we learnt a lot of other cooking techniques and Holly cooked some great fish and shellfish, great rump steak, whole chicken and roast potatoes, etc. The food was washed down with a nice level of wine and cups of tea! We left after 6 years absolutely stuffed!

This was a truly memorable and enjoyable day and is thoroughly recommended. Can't wait to put our learnings into action back home.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Neale1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi Neale

Many thanks for your lovely review - great to have you both with us at the cooking school on Saturday for your course and do let us know how you get on with your wood fired cooking; please shout if you've got any queries

Best wishes to you both
Holly

By the way, it might have felt like 6 years but it was only 6 hours!! ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Manna from Devon is ok. Kitt was an excellent tutor with limited resources. Did v v little actual cooking. More watch and demo style.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank neil l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Many thanks for your review Neil. We agree Kit is a great tutor and we hope you'll be able to practise what you did learn in your own kitchen. We are in a domestic kitchen so we are limited as to how much cooking you can do (we hope we cover that on our website) and we aim to increase confidence in all kinds of cooks so they will be able to carry on cooking our fabulous fish for themselves, their friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Holly and David gave us a very enjoyable and informative day on this course. They have definitely given us the confidence to get more out of our wood-fired oven and we cant wait to get going. Just need a week to recover from all the food we ate!!

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Hi Allison

Thanks so much for your review and great to have you both with us; we're delighted you got so much out of your day!

As we said, we've got to cook lots of food to show you what you can do with the ovens so you have to try everything of course!!

Let us know how you get on with your cooking
Best wishes
David and Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We have just returned from a week in the Alpujarra region in southern Spain organised by "Manna from Devon". We stayed at Las Chimeneas in Mairena (reviewed separately). David and Holly had organised a great week, and on site David was assisted by Louis. The course covered local Alpujarran dishes, some bread making, using a woodburning oven and even sausage making. They had organised wine tasting, local ham tasting (both with visits to producers), cava, sherry and olive oil tastings. In conjunction were walks of varying degrees of difficulty to accommodate the wide range of abilities from the course members. A a venue Las Chimeneas was brilliant, and David and Louis augmented the natural charm of the place perfectly. Their humour and general bonhomie (along with those of David and Emma of Las Chimeneas) meant that very rapidly the group of 15 built up a good rapport with cheerful banter being exchanged by all. We had a most enjoyable time.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Owner at Manna from Devon Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Hi Mike,

thanks for th review and we're so glad you enjoyed the Alpujarran Experience. It already seems a long way off from wet, grey, Frebruary Devon.

best wishes

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

From the outset Holly and David could not have been more helpful in planning a surprise cookery course using a wood fired oven for my partner on his 30th birthday. In just one day we learnt how to light, heat and gauge the temperature of a wood fired oven in order to cook a huge variety of different dishes such pizzas, sourdough bread, focaccia, curries, slow cooked stews and Mexican food. All of these were delicious- David and Holly clearly know their stuff! We were given a thorough grounding in all aspects of wood oven cooking and now feel very confident in continuing to experiment in our own oven at home. The tuition was so excellent that we were able to host a successful pizza oven party the day after our lesson!

The facilities both at the cookery school and the B and B are fantastic. We would highly recommend Manna to anyone who has a wood fired oven and wants to learn more, or to those who are looking to buy one and want to learn more.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank VictoriaB-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews