We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning!”
other travellers have booked this property
View from indoor seating area over Leonards Cove and Start Bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from indoor seating area over Leonards Cove and Start Bay.
A meal for two with a view! Comfortable and airy seating area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
View from indoor seating area over Leonards Cove and Start Bay.
A meal for two with a view!
Comfortable and airy seating area.
Light and airy living accommodation.
Secluded and sheltered outdoor area.
Fully equipped kitchen.  Microwave, oven & hob, dishwasher, fridge with small freezer above.
Washing up is never a chore with a view to while away the time..
Full sized double bed.
View from bedroom window.
Shower Cubicle.
Watch Dartmouth Regatta races from the patio.
Enjoy a walk down Shady Lane.
A short stroll down Shady Lane to Radius 7 bistro, bus stop, village shop and local pub.
A visit from the local wildlife.
Moon coming up over the pine trees opposite, where the buzzards nest.
Great place to star gaze away from artificial street lighting.
Rory says this is the best holiday destination he has ever been to Woof Woof!
Newly refurbished property on quite secluded site.
Relax and enjoy the view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stoke Fleming, Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
sylv b
Chard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 28 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This is a small and perfectly formed, spotless chalet! Everything you could need and more. Val and Richard are very welcoming, as was the welcome pack of a cream tea, prosecco, and milk and tea for that much needed cuppa on arrival! The first thing you notice is the fabulous view as you walk down to the chalet, simply stunning! And so peaceful too. Unfortunately we had to cut short our stay, but we cannot fault the property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
Hello Sylv, thank you very much for your generous review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that everything is now OK with you.

Best wished Valerie and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra H
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely winter break”
Reviewed 10 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed at Rory,s Retreat for a week in Feb and had a wonderful time. It is in a lovely spot with fantastic views out to sea. Although compact it has everything you will need and more. Everything feels very new and clean and extremely well looked after. Valerie & Richard were very friendly and hellpful on arrival. There is a lovely bar / bistro up the lane (Radius 7) which serves great food as well as a village shop. Beautiful beaches nearby, lovely walks with the dog. There is a great cafe on Blackpool Sands beach which is very nearby. We would definitely love to return.
Many thanks for a great week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2018
Hello Petra, thank you very much for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. Best regards Valerie & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LottieHob...
South West England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful location, stunning views.”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We loved our stay at Rory's Retreat - Valerie and Richard have thought of everything you could possibly need and more besides! The chalet was spotlessly clean, warm and cosy, and is equipped to a very high standard - lovely bed linen, huge fluffy towels, fully equipped kitchen, great shower, comfy bed and sofa, plenty of space to unpack. We were given a vey warm welcome by Richard who explained how everything worked, and gave us lots of suggestions for things to do in the area. There are lots of local maps and books of walks in the chalet. The cream tea and prosecco, as well as milk, tea and coffee, and chocolates were wonderful touches that we really appreciated.
The location is wonderful - so peaceful, and with a stunning view. We enjoyed walking to Blackpool Sands (15 minutes), and to Dartmouth along the spectacular coastal path, as well as discovering lots of beautiful woodland and coastal walks starting in the village. Thank you so much Valerie and Richard - we had a wonderful few days!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2018
Hello Lottie, thank you very much for your comprehensive review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and value your positive feedback.
Regards Valerie and Richard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry b
1 review
“Lovely place, beautiful view!”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Thank you, Valerie and Richard, the place was amazing, we enjoyed the cream tea and prosecco that you left for us. We both loved Rory's Retreat and waking up to the view and quiet location. We will definitely be back again. Lin & Barry

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2018
Hello Lin & Barry
Please accept our sincere apologies for not responding to your great review.

We are really pleased that everything was to your liking, and hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Regards
Valerie and Richard Ward
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fay h
Earith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning sea view”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A lovely week away. We were both convalescing from flu and Valerie and Richard could not have been more accommodating right down to provision of a box of tissues and a lemon for a restorative honey and lemon. In the event we did not make so many trips out due to recuperation but our spirits were lifted by the wonderful panoramic sea view which we saw in all weathers. Our dog, Sydney, loved the dog treats which Valerie and Richard kindly provided. We relished the prosecco and home made cream tea provided on arrival. A lovely part of the country. Many thanks to Valerie and Richard for making us so comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Thank you very much for your complimentary review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and I'm glad it aided your recovery. Best regards Valerie &Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing