We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
USD 135
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/22
Booking.com
USD 135
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
USD 122
View deal
Hotels.comUSD 135
PricelineUSD 135
TravelocityUSD 135
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,416)
Filter reviews
1,416 results
Traveller rating
355
423
269
173
196
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
355
423
269
173
196
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club fish beach front rarotongan beach resort marine reserve cook islands deluxe beachfront suite marine life great resort cooked breakfast kia orana island night snorkel gear lagoon cocktails nz paradise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,416 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2021 via mobile

Kia orana!

On behalf of my family, I want to acknowledge the brilliant staff of your resort during our stay from 13-17 July 2021.

Upon arrival it was evident that guest numbers were near to full capacity at the facility.

As frequent travelers, we held nil expectation for service levels to be at least standard due to pressure on limited staffing.

But boy were we in for a pleasant surprise!

From reception to restaurant to bar to activity centre to pools, service was top notch.

Staff catered to even the smallest of requests.

A special thanks to Lote and Daisy in kids’ activity room for providing the x factor in attending to my 5 year old (over) energetic son. In my son’s parting words “this was the best holiday ever”.

Needless to say, we will be back in the (very) near future.

Meitaki.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Avinash_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Taylor, General Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2021

thanks you for your review, we are thrilled that you had a great stay and the staff looked after you well, we will certainly pass this on to the staff.
Look forward to see you again at some stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2021

Very warm. The Island was very clean and tidy. Daily Kids Club. A lovely, sandy beach to walk on. Clean, clear water with good snorkeling just off the beach, whether high tide or low tide. Great food. Each morning we enjoyed breakfast and looking over the balcony at all the fish swimming by.
The 34 km cycling around the island had lots of food and coffee stops. There is a Saturday market and evening markets to explore. Very friendly staff. Definitely returning.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Taylor, General Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2021

thank you for your review, we are delight that you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2021

After the tough last 18 months it was wonderful to escape to paradise. The Cook Islands have been hit hard because Covid stopped tourism completely. There was no work available so many Cook Islanders came to NZ to earn and send money home. Now there is a big staff shortage in the Cooks.

So, if you were expecting to go to The Cooks and receive the same level of service as pre-Covid days, then you haven't been paying attention to world news!

Come on Kiwis. We should be giving our Cook Island neighbours kindness, compassion and financial security - not moaning and whingeing. They are doing an amazing job with what they have. As tourism increases, so too will their staff and supplies.

We are so blessed to have paradise on our doorstep. Go to the Cook Islands - it's the only safe destination in the whole world right now. Spend your money there, support our neighbours, and have a wonderful, relaxing holiday in the sun.

The Rarotongan is a great resort. The snorkelling straight off the beach is fabulous. The food and rooms are great, and the staff are so lovely and welcoming. The warm weather and water are a balm to our winter bodies. It’s beautiful, relaxing and a true paradise-getaway.

Go, enjoy, spread your money around as many businesses as you can. You will love it!

Room tip: Best rooms are Deluxe Beachfront Suites. Out the door, straight onto the sand, and only steps from the beautiful lagoon. Paradise!
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sarie_and_Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Taylor, General Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2021

thank you so much for your kind words, they are truly appreciated by all.
We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us and hope to see you back some day if your travels allow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2021

No service. Have to go to bar to order food in long line. Then get given a buzzer to pick up food when ready. No music in the evenings (apart from island night). Half the food and drink off menu not available. Blaming covid again but supply chain has not been broken. Every other resort we have been to on island supplies adequate supplies.

I see common reply from owners is that they are working on getting more staft. That is not good enough. Do not fully book the 'resort'If you cannot provide proper service. Greedy owners ruining the review. Should be downgraded from 4 to 1 star.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Eamon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Taylor, General Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Kia Orana, thanks you for your comments and sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to your expectations.
Our restaurant and bar is one of the most popular on the Island and, as such, experiences high demand, particularly during dinner service. We are implementing a range of measures and new technology to speed up good preparation and reduce the length of time to serve meals.
We have entertainment on every day of the week except Wednesday at the moment.
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment, but most of our guests provide positive feedback about our staff’s performance since reopening after 14 months border closure. We continue to make every effort to offer our guests a wonderful beach holiday experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2021 via mobile

Just been here for 10 days. Booked last minute so ended up entry level rooms, which were fine.

Like any island nation there are mozis so they provide bug spray in rooms. Just spray before you leave for dinner.

Honestly couldn’t speak more highly of all the staff. Beautiful people. Special thanks to Lottie, Daisy (kids club) the activities desk are wonderful, reception always helpful, especially Anne in Reservations:-) restaurant and bar staff all lovely. Litiana was the best masseuse I’ve ever had. Magic hands

A smile and Kia Orana from us visitors helps as they are super busy and understaffed (not their fault) many staff have left the island to Nz in search of jobs during Covid. If you want your room serviced leave card out, and chat to housekeeping in the am to arrange a time.

Sometimes meals can take a while, don’t stress - if you need to feed hungry mouths maybe order a bit earlier. Grab a drink and watch the gorgeous sunset. The breakfast included was more than adequate , pancakes , cereals , fruit , yogurt , toast ect. I never saw anything run out in 10 days peak time.

We did a lagoon cruise and snorkelling out by the reef which was amazing (Kokas) and honestly I can say the snorkelling out the front of this resort was just as good , if not better.

Plenty of snorkelling gear, kayaks , SUPS and all the gear you need is here.

We hired a car after day 5 as felt we wanted to explore a bit more. Definitely night market for food in Muri and sat am market in town 8-12pm awesome shopping.

We usually do Fiji in July, this is our new July destination (in a beachfront : deluxe beachfront suite next time)

The small niggles were minor compared to the fabulous time we had here at The Rarotongan. Thanks to all the team , see you again soon
Rachel Brown & family

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank vinorach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Taylor, General Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Great to hear that you had a good time, we look forward to welcoming you again should your travels bring you this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews