We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
23
16
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
16
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed car ferry off street parking new zealand wairere boulders dorothy bedroom deck hosts accommodation views ensuite lodge
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We found this place last minute after another place let us down. So glad we did! John and Dorothy were convivial and welcoming hosts, the house is splendidly decorated, and when you know that a lot of the lighting and other fittings and furnishings were created by John, it makes it even more special. We chose to have dinner and breakfast there and the meals were lovingly made by Dorothy. We haven't done a lot of B&Bs together, usually preferring to keep to ourselves... but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay... bring some wine and relax!

Room Tip: We stayed in the front room with the Peacocks! Awesome.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Beautiful well appointed rooms ( a fireplace in the bathroom!!), friendly people, amazing views and decor. Authentic period furniture, fabulous views, excellent food and quite a bit of laughter in the evening!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We booked this hidden gem for a family road trip weekend away from Auckland & loved every minute.

Hosts John & Dorothy are brilliant and made us feel so at home at this special BNB.

We brought our 3 year old son which when I arrived I thought may be a challenge with all the amazing antiques John has collected but he was happily reclusive in our cosy room - so no problems there.

The queen room with the extra single bed was perfect for us. It's so peaceful and quiet - best sleep and so comfy.

The food is divine I really suggest booking breakfast & dinner. Dinner was more of a challenge for us to have in-house with our wee one as he can't sit through three courses but if we had come kid free we would have loved it - smelt & looked amazing.

Ambience outside on the deck is so picture perfect and the added great company & selection of wines on hand make for the perfect evening.

This is a stay you won't forget & well worth detouring while traveling through northland.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank FarAway559871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Everything was sold out in Opononi and the Tourist Office directed us here. We feel like we lucked out. The Postmasters has lots of character and is very clean and comfortable. Rawene is great as well. Very small, but we loved it. Do the Mangrove walk and visit the James Clendon House. At the latter, try to get the history lesson from Lindsay. Fascinating.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ret921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We enjoyed our stay in this lovely village. The Postmasters certainly has lots of character and a host with a sarcastic sense f humour which we liked. Comfortable beds and great location and good views.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews