We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
23
16
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
16
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed car ferry off street parking new zealand wairere boulders dorothy bedroom deck hosts accommodation views ensuite lodge
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Beautiful well appointed rooms ( a fireplace in the bathroom!!), friendly people, amazing views and decor. Authentic period furniture, fabulous views, excellent food and quite a bit of laughter in the evening!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We booked this hidden gem for a family road trip weekend away from Auckland & loved every minute.

Hosts John & Dorothy are brilliant and made us feel so at home at this special BNB.

We brought our 3 year old son which when I arrived I thought may be a challenge with all the amazing antiques John has collected but he was happily reclusive in our cosy room - so no problems there.

The queen room with the extra single bed was perfect for us. It's so peaceful and quiet - best sleep and so comfy.

The food is divine I really suggest booking breakfast & dinner. Dinner was more of a challenge for us to have in-house with our wee one as he can't sit through three courses but if we had come kid free we would have loved it - smelt & looked amazing.

Ambience outside on the deck is so picture perfect and the added great company & selection of wines on hand make for the perfect evening.

This is a stay you won't forget & well worth detouring while traveling through northland.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank FarAway559871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Everything was sold out in Opononi and the Tourist Office directed us here. We feel like we lucked out. The Postmasters has lots of character and is very clean and comfortable. Rawene is great as well. Very small, but we loved it. Do the Mangrove walk and visit the James Clendon House. At the latter, try to get the history lesson from Lindsay. Fascinating.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ret921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We enjoyed our stay in this lovely village. The Postmasters certainly has lots of character and a host with a sarcastic sense f humour which we liked. Comfortable beds and great location and good views.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We booked early to coincide with friends who migrate from Perth to this unique accommodation each year at this time. We had a fabulous two days at this heritage villa loving our en-suite room with a post bed and fascinating decor. When you book you are offered the option of an evening meal. Apart from the fact that there are few alternatives, the three course dinner is exceptional quality and value. Our host invited us to join him for pre-dinner nibbles and wine. This takes place on the verandah overlooking the Hokianga harbour and we shared this with our friends.The conversation was lively and we had numerous tastings of excellent wines from our host's cellar. Our stay was an experience we would love to repeat.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Spokeshave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews