We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
24
16
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
16
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed new zealand wairere boulders dorothy bedroom deck hosts accommodation views ensuite lodge
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Postmasters Lodgings in order to attend a wedding nearby. The place was the most beautiful house I have ever seen! It was decorated Art Nouveau style. The walls and the velvet curtains were teal blue colour. Our bedroom had a four-poster bed, and full of beautiful wooden furniture. The house was full of character!
The hosts Dorothy and John were very friendly and welcoming. I would love to go back again!

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MJnz2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I arrived late in the day with only 30 minutes notice. Dorothy and John made us feel like old friends come for a visit.
We enjoyed a lovely meal, wine and lively conversation before retiring to our charming room. The Postmasters is a sweet place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Juliacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

If you looking for something completely different from mundane hotels
and guesthouses then The Postmasters Lodgings is for you.
From the moment you cross the threshold you will be captivated by this old property
which has a strong Edwardian theme, great individual rooms,
ours featured a four poster bed, and views from the terrace across the estuary.
Your genial host John meets with his guests each evening to share the day's
experiences, and so if conversation and well chosen wines to accompany
delicious food are what you seek then look no further. Enjoy.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philcam45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Great location, right near the ferry. John is a good host. Very comfortable bed and interesting place to stay. Fantastic trip to the totally unspoilt Mitimiti beach and amazing trip to Wairere boulders. Both are must do activities.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 254SueM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I was driving around Northland, and was very lucky to find this very special lodging. Stayed one night from 30. January. The owner is a very friendly host, as hosts should be everywhere!

The lodge is a private house, nearly 100 years old. The inventary is held in an old, elegant fashion style. The owner has made most of the stuff by himself, I would have called him an artist!

If you ever will arrive in this area, you'll have a great experience staying in "The Postmaster's Lodgings"!

Date of stay: January 2014
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Dyrhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews