We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A few days away”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Strete, Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
You're very welcome we hope to see you again soon Glad you had a lovely break and thanks for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marilyn g
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely stay with family”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Part of the same group as the previous reviewer! Such a gorgeous place with a wonderful atmosphere and perfect location, thanks for having us!

Date of stay: September 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Marilyn, thank you for your review, as with Hilary we very much hope to welcome you back to Walpole House and 'The Hams' soon...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hs6551
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stylish, comfortable home from home in Strete, Devon”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Five of us going to a local wedding needed a place to stay within walking distance of the venue, and once we found Walpole House decided to make it a 5 night holiday. The house was stylish, welcoming and comfortable. There was a 'welcome' bottle of wine, a gift of a tea towel and the shopping I had requested waiting for us on arrival. The Rayburn was easy to use (instructions provided) and kept the house and hot water nice and warm. A large wardrobe on the landing and drawers in all the bedrooms provided ample space for all our wedding finery and holiday clothes. The shower was a delight - hot and powerful. It was nice to find a dishwasher to use. Although there's no parking at the property that didn't matter - we travelled in 3 cars and all found free of charge parking within a few metres of the house. The local shop had everything we needed and everyone was very friendly. On Sunday we had a roast at the Kings Arms - lovely food and good value. We shall definitely be visiting Walpole House again.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The stylish comfort of the house.
Liked least: Nothing we didn't like!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
Glad you had a great time in Strete for your wedding, we are sooo lucky to have the great community we have who welcome all and we think it's a rather fab location too. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimD860
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We are shortly to leave after a great 5 day break at Walpole House. In a lovely village between two great beaches - Blackpool and Slapton sands - with a great shop and nice pub within a 100 feet from your front door. as well as a good restaurant (The Laughing Monk again within 100 feet) House beautifully decorated and also very well equipped with cooking utensils, board games and children books to keep anyone occupied. Wifi connection also strong. If you are familiar with the area you vey well placed for Dartmouth, Kingsbridge, Salcombe, Totnes and many others. We have an 18 month old daughter and it worked well for us.

Date of stay: September 2016
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
Thanks Jim, Glad you had a great stay, we hope to see you all again soon in the South Hams, we are still discovering ourselves all the fabulous places to visit. Thanks again for your kind words we aim to please!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.