We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage - ideal location for Western Lakes”
other travellers have booked this property
Briscoe Mill Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Briscoe Mill Cottage
Master bedroom with king size bed, tv/dvd Path to garden at rear
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Briscoe Mill Cottage
Master bedroom with king size bed, tv/dvd
Path to garden at rear
Briscoe Mill bridge over the River Ehen
Lounge with TV, dvd player
Kitchen with fold away dining table, microwave, oven, fridge
Twin room with toy box and trundle for 3rd child - bedding provided
Picnic bench over beck
On Briscoe Mill Bridge looking north up the River Ehen
Great place to set off on your cycle ride, close to the Coast to Coast route
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Egremont, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
cathmikeu...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage - ideal location for Western Lakes”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lovely well appointed cottage. Good location for visiting the less touristy Western Lakes. Thank you for the welcome pack, much appreciated after a long drive. Enjoyed feeding the cows and cooking apple and blackberry pie - produce from the garden :) Note to dog owners, the garden isn't enclosed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet, looking out over the fields
Liked least: Lack of decent places to eat in Egremont
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Many thanks for your reply and glad you made use of the produce. Rhubarb doing well at the moment! Best regards Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We chose this property as it gave us easy access to the far western Wainwright fells and peaks. It is conveniently placed approximately 10 minutes drive away from Ennerdale Water and half an hour from Crummock Water and Buttermere, and I would highly recommend it to any Wainwright Peak baggers or walkers. Also, it is only 5 minutes away from the beach at St.Bees and approx. half an hour away from the larger towns of Workington and Whitehaven. As for the cottage, it is beautifully restored to a very high standard and provided plenty of space for 4 adults. It is immaculately clean and has a modern fitted kitchen and beautiful shower room. It provides a great Wi-Fi connection and has a large flat screen TV in the lounge.
What surprised us the most was the amazingly large, well stocked garden which was a very welcome sun trap to relax in after a hard day walking on the fells! I would like to thank Sarah and Sean for the bottle of wine and goodies left in the cottage for our arrival- most welcome! They were the perfect hosts as we knew that they were next door if we needed them but they were never intrusive- only enquiring as to our comfort and enjoyment of the cottage if we saw them. Many thanks and I would highly recommend the cottage to anyone- we would love to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Thank you for your kind review and glad you had a comfortable stay. If you need to cross anymore Wainwrights off on the western fells, you'll be more than welcome. All the best Sarah and Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stokiejan...
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our stay at this beautiful cottage was fantastic, Sean & Sarah were the perfect hosts. On arrival there was a welcome basket of goodies which was very useful, they gave us lots of tips on where to visit, including a hair raising trip Sean recommended over the Rhinos the views were amazing!!! The cottage had everything you could need and very well equipped. Would love to go back, the only down side to our holiday was one of our dogs broke her foot so water was out of bounds no lakes for us!!! Thanks Sarah & Sean for a great stay

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Hi there, really sorry this response is so late and thank you so much for your thank you card - it was a lovely surprise. Hope all the dogs are doing ok and hope to see you soon, thanks again Sarah and Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic Cottage nestled by the river”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage was exactly as described on the website. Ideally situated close to Egremont and the main coastal road but tucked into a peaceful valley next to the River Ehen. Footpaths beside the river lead you to the town in one direction or a small lake in the other.

The cottage was well equipped for a small family and dog with two good sized bedrooms and a cosy lounge. The kitchen although small, offered enough room to cook and eat, and the bathroom which was off the kitchen was suitably equipped. The storage heaters and electric fire created sufficient heat in the cold evenings.

The welcome pack was very much appreciated and the information folder and local books very useful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bathroom being downstairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Hi there and thank you for taking the time to review the cottage. Please recommend us to your friends and family and if there is anything we can/should be doing differently, please do not hesitate to let us know. We are always looking at ways to improve.
Kind regards Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinet...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely week at Briscoe Mill cottage. The cottage is of a good standard and we enjoyed the welcome pack provisions left for us on our arrival.
Wifi made sure sure our teenage son was happy ! and we found the cottage very peaceful and comfortable for our stay.
The owners have very tastefully ensured that this cottage an ideal holiday cottage destination by retaining the feel of a quaint old cottage in the bedrooms and living room whilst ensuring the bathroom and kitchen are both up to date and with a modern feel -an ideal combination
We enjoyed the surrounding area very much. This area is a quieter side of The Lake District away from the bustle of Windermere, Coniston and Keswick and we enjoyed amazing walks along the coast path from Whitehaven to St Bees, a high ridge walk above Buttermere (High Stile etc) and walking around Ennerdale - a beautiful lake and almost deserted even in the middle of August.
Lots of places to eat nearby if you don't want to cook. We enjoyed a lovely meal at The Manor in St Bees and The Briery in Workington (a little way up the road). We also used the local Star Takeaway in Egremont (only 1 mile away and do delivery!) which all are to be recommended.
A fantastic little cottage and as our daughter lives locally we shall almost certainly be returning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: having to go home !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Thank you for review its very much appreciated. We hope to see you again if you fancy more walks this side of the Lakes. Cheers Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing