We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
9
9
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
9
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardcape kaliakraterracedistancesunbedsbeachseaapartment
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

WE LIKED
Road Signs: If you arrifve late on a Friday night, like us, the Royal Cove road signs that accompany you from the main highway are a relief.
Parking: Inside hotel grounds, fenced in and guarded 24/7 – no BS like need for reservation or charge.
The Flat: Well designed, roomy, nicely furnished, with large balcony and functional air conditioning. Mosquito nets on all opening windows.
The People: Although they speak a rudiments of English or none at all, they are kind, smiling and willing to flail their arms and hands at you to communicate. They will religiously bring you a cash register slip for anything, even a 1,5 leva cup of tea. We could not tell if they really wash the floors in the rooms, but they certainly vaccuum daily wich, for 2-3 days, is enough. They also change towels daily (no code though), which is above and beyond local 3* standard.
Breakfast: Compared to the all-inclusive Turkish opulenece, it’s really sad. For a regular person who is not looking for lavish details and exquisite refinement (after all, we are talking 3*), it’s... so-so. Buffet breakfast offerded: 2 kinds of cereal (both bad), milk, Lavazza coffee machine, water cooler, juice (not recommended), two kinds of salami (same ones every day), yellow cheese, feta-type cheese (delicious), processed cheese wedges, white and dark bread, toaster, jam, honey, margerine (never butter, in 3 days), tomatoes, cucumbers, scrambled eggs (same every morning), smoked sausages (disgusting), local cheese pie, cookies from a box (yuck), water melon, peaches...
WE DID NOT LIKE
The wifi: Although upon arrival the reception staff happily supplies you with not one but two wifi network passwords, none of them really works. You get a very faint fluctuating signal by the pool and, since there’s no lobby to speak of, that’s it, you’re at the mercy of your mobile phone operator and their roaming data tariffs.
The Bed: Those of you with bad backs – you won’t rest well, springy bouncy mattress is too soft to be confortable.
The Bathroom: "Perfumed" with a disgusting persistent mold smell, probably due to the local workmen mastery of putting in a shower tub that leaks. We kept the ventilation on at all times, which further “improved” things with a permanent buzz. The toilet seat is among the world’s cheapest, so if you have a husband who’s 6.5 ft tall and weighs accordingly, said toilet seat is sure to bust under him generating a fit of teary histerical laughter. No hair dryer. Shower water pressure is meagre.
The pool: Nice and clean but still just a puddle where you can hardly fit, much less swim, at the same time with one or two rowdy splashy Russian families... As someone said in an older review “it is smaller than in the pictures”. And the tired sun bed mattresses have definitely seen better days.
The Beach: Almost non-existent, with water access via steps (steep bank), in a little cove with boats that remind you of a distopia like Mad Max. About 10 sun beds at one end, nothing at the farther end, where access to the water is however smoother.
Kavarna: The hotel may be a little farter from the beach than the advertised 70 m, but the way to the beach is what’s representative for the whole town. Kavarna seems to have developed with no concern for urbanism or aesthetics. Additionally, the crisis has dealt a severe blow to the former construction craze, so that the place is full of buildings adandoned in various stages of (in)completion, and that inlcludes the beach, too. Modern ruins mixed with older, communist ruins. Forget about winding down, the atmosphere is weird at best and depressingly squalid at worst.

Room Tip: The C section of the building is the farthest from the street. Lower floors don't really have a sea view, so if you can, go for 4th or 5th.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ioana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I’ve booked a one bedroom apartment at this hotel having in mind that it is positioned 70m away from the beach, according to the advertisement, mainly because we have a small child (a 2 year old) and the trip to the beach can be a bit hectic because of all the luggage one has to carry such as toys, inflatable pool and many more.

I’ll try to be brief, so below you have a list of pros and cons:

Pros:
1. The hotel from outside looks really well structured, small but great
2. The apartment (B7) is really nice, the rooms are fairly generous as is the terrace
3. The kitchen is ok however I personally have not used the pans as they looked a bit too used and not properly cleaned. Would not recommend but it is up to each and every individual.
4. The Restaurant downstairs is ok, they serve really good food (the mushroom soup is excellent) however from the menu you will find a handful of available options. The cook and the waitress are really great, they always greeted us with a smile and always tried to make conversation even if they didn’t know even 5 words of English.

Cons:
1. Bathroom: not really 4 star rated, I’d say 3 but I’d be generous. The hot water is generated with the help of a small boiler and runs out really fast if you don’t use it wisely. Always remember to have the button on otherwise you’ll have to wait a while. We also have experienced an entire day without water at all due to some technical difficulties.
2. Location: I don’t really know how the 70m were actually measured but there’s no way this is the real distance to the beach. I’d say double or even 200m.
3. The pool looks bigger in the pictures.
4. Amenities: there is just one small shop you can buy things from but do not expect them to have too many items. If you do not come by car or prepared, do not set high expectations.
5. The road to the beach is horrible: mainly filthy and totally unsafe for a toddler. Beware of dogs.
6. The famous beach: it’s not really a beach per say, my guess is that sometime in the ‘80s it was a docking facility for boats. One can use the stairs to get into the water however due to the algae it is nowhere safe and most definitely not suited for a child. It is filthy and dangerous. Once on the beach if you look left, in about a 10 minutes’ walk there’s a beach, a bit too rocky at the beginning but ok near the dam. There are about 10 sun chairs for tourists to use but I guess you have to be there really early in the morning. There’s a small bar across the road but again it’s best not to have high expectations. If you have kids, it’s best to use the car to get to the beach as there are plenty of parking spaces.

Recommendations: if you do not come by car, rent one. From the main road, if you take a left, after a 30 minute drive you’ll get to Balchik where the beach is great. If you go right, after a 15 minute drive towards Cape Kaliakra, just before reaching it, there’s a small road to your left which will take you to a wonderful beach. I highly, highly recommend it.
Also, do try the Dalboka restaurants as they are a 15 minute drive from the hotel towards Cape Kaliakra.

Originally I did not want to mention the discussion I had with the Hotel Manager but giving it a second thought I believe it’s worth mentioning it: after the first encounter with the beach, my husband and I decided this is not suited for our 2 year old daughter nor for us and therefore we would cancel the rest of our stay (after only 2 hours upon arrival!) and look for a different accommodation. I went to the hotel manager to communicate our decision letting her know that I do not have anything against the hotel, I actually love it but that I have something against the fact that it is advertised as being 70m away from the beach, a totally impracticable beach. Her response was that she is selling the hotel and not the beach which is public and she printed out the cancellation policy which states that a 2 night rate accommodation fee is to be charged in case of cancellation. I mentioned to her that I will not pay this amount because I believe this is untruthful advertising and asked her if she would take her children to that beach. The response was: “I do not have the luxury to take my kids to any beach because I have to work”. I found the response rude and totally uncalled for. The normal approach would have been: ”I apologize for the inconvenience, unfortunately there is nothing our hotel can do about the beach issue but, I strongly recommend the beach in Balchik or a 15 minute drive towards Cape Kaliakra.”. WE did not cancel the room because the next morning we decided to take a trip to Balchik and check out the beach there and we found out that a drive was not that much of a hustle. The next day we discovered the wonderful almost secluded beach at Cape Kaliakra.

I hope you’ll find this review helpful.

Room Tip: B7 has a somewhat sea view
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maria-Iulia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Excellent hotel, great and very clean rooms. I recomend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenghera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

It's maybe the best place in Kavarna, for sure it has one of the best sea-views.

Very large and clean apartments with all the things necessary. Cleaned every day if required.

It has a decent breakfast option and a nice bar (with room service).
The pool is quite nice, the terrace also.

The only issue it's a bit far from the center of the town (some 2-3 km) and in the center of the town we haven't seen any taxi service. A personal car recommended.
Also nearby not so many options to have fun, but being close to the beach is quite nice. Also, maybe later in the season there are some taverns nearby in May there was none

Room Tip: Get upper floor rooms, the view is great!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mircea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews