We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
We had an absolutely amazing time. Great tuition and friendly service comes naturally.

Beth, Hassan and the Shaka team were lovely to a fault. We just had a great 5 day trip. Surfing... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Bob T
Perfect surfing holiday with the best hosts

We have had the best holiday ever at Shakasurfcamp! Such a lovely riad in the heart of Tamraght, a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Beatriz O
Read all 67 reviews
  
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
54
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great week tagine bonfire tuition riad ohana beth hassan longest wave caves chill beginners company instructor surf accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Beth, Hassan and the Shaka team were lovely to a fault. We just had a great 5 day trip. Surfing instruction was tailored to each individual and the service just as thoughtful and personal. A trip with Shaka Surf is like hanging out with a gang of old friends who can teach you how to surf better and recommend local things to see and do. Rooms in the Riad were not perfect but fair for the price (The Riad we stayed in had clean room and linen, plenty hot water in the shower, local food, nice places to hang out around the pool and on roof terraces). The service and surf guiding were run by Shaka so the 5* is for them.

Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have had the best holiday ever at Shakasurfcamp! Such a lovely riad in the heart of Tamraght, a small and very calm village.
Beth, our host, could not be nicer and friendlier. We arrived very late at night around 2 am and she had prepared a couple of chocolate bars, fruit and bottles of water in our room, so we could be ready and fully charged for our first surfing day!
What can we say about Hassan and Buba? Brothers and our surf monitors. Their passion for surfing was contagious since the first minute and they really made us improve! Always smiling, patient and giving the best tips on the waves.
The food was simply amazing! If you like typical moroccan tagine food, you will have plenty of these tasty dishes amongst other delicious food!
We also spent one day out visiting Paradise valley, incredibly beautiful kinda oasis in the middle of the arid mountains, and had the yummiest hand-made tagine. Unforgettable day!

In a nutshell, we have really enjoyed every day of our Shakasurf experience, and we defenitely hope to come back soon!

Thank Beatriz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaka Surf M, Owner at Shaka Surf Morocco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review - it was so nice to have you both surf and stay with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i had an amazing holiday here. Best hosts ever. Amazing accommodation. Would recommend to a friend 100%

Thank riadimouranesurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaka Surf M, Owner at Shaka Surf Morocco, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your nice review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great time surfung with this company. Our hosts and instructors were excellent and the accomodation they provided (Riad Imourane) was the best hotel I have ever stayed at!!!

Thank Mon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaka Surf M, Owner at Shaka Surf Morocco, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Both Beth and Hassan are super nice and very commited, you will be sure to have a great time and taking your surf skills to the next level. The highlight of the trip was the day we spent to Imsouane (2 hours drive from the village) - such an impressive place for surfing. It was one of the most beautiful place I have ever seen. So thank you !

Morever, as a vegeratian I was afraid to not have many options but the food was amazing. I will definitely be back ;)

Thank L4lie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaka Surf M, Owner at Shaka Surf Morocco, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review Lalie - it was such a pleasure to meet you and so glad you enjoyed your time with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Beth and Hassan are great, lovely and awesome persons. We really enjoyed our 5-day stay. Beth helped a lot with information and any problems. I know her from her super cool jeans jackets (Berber blue) and I was so lucky to visited the surf school.

Surfing:
-small groups
-all levels
-Hassan is a great teacher - individual care, empathic and funny
-great equipment
-every day awesome and new surfspots !!
-photos from surfing to analyse and take home to remember the great time

accomodation:
-nice riad with pool and rooftop
-tasty and authentic food
-nice people

We would totally recommend Shaka surf and we´re planning to come back!! :)

Best regards,
Niko & Hannah

Thank hmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaka Surf M, Manager at Shaka Surf Morocco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review - it was so nice to meet you and Niko!! Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Surfing:

- individual approach
- small groups
- teacher will always find enough time to guide you through
- equipment, organisation - 10/10
- photos of your technique on the surf for further analysis (!)

Accommodation and stay:

- very nice hotel
- nice food
- support with little and bigger problems from Beth
- everything on time and done exactly as promised.
- if something requested by you but not possible - clearly explained

And the same as I wrote on their facebook wall already:

What makes the whole difference? - I guess the reason that I was so happy with my choice is that real professionals at their job and just a good people. They help you gratuitously with all your problems bigger and small, guide you through while surfing and make your stay pleasant.

It was my first time surfing and they made a great experience for me!

Thank Włodek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaka Surf M, Manager at Shaka Surf Morocco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you for your feedback and lovely review - it was so nice to meet you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

I've been to other surf camps in Tamraght and had varying degrees of success and frustration . A friend suggested I give Shaka Surf a go and I can not give the guys high enough praise.

On arrival you are greeted by Beth who makes you feel at ease in milli seconds . She is the hostess with the mostest and is your point of reference for all your needs. I had Hassan as my surf coach who is an amazing teacher with the kindest of hearts. The surf groups are purposely small (4 per group max I believe unlike bigger camps where you can have 1 instructor for up to 10 people) and the tuition impeccable , I improved so much! Hassan allows the guests to choose the surf spots if they so wish but also has the local knowledge to advise on spots . The whole surfing experience is flexible and fluid , you aren't stuck to a beach because the whole camp is there. Rachid the surf camp photographer takes amazing snaps and all included in your fee (other surf camps charge you per picture) . When you aren't in the water make sure you have a chat with Rachid as he is great fun to talk to!

Breakfast in the Riad is ok but the lunches at the beach are good fare and dinners at the Riad (try and be there for saturday bbq!) are traditional , yummy and plentiful .

I cant wait to go back!

Thank Hamish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaka Surf M, Manager at Shaka Surf Morocco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review Hamish - we absolutely loved having you here and cannot wait to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Went for a 6-day course with Shaka last week - first time in Morocco and first time surfing - and really loved it. Hasan is a great teacher and the overall level or organisation is perfect, thanks to Beth. You get help with any little problem which might arise in a trip, Hassan and Beth really care about their guests. Plus you get surf photos, thanks to Rachid. Would recommend to anyone who want to learn surfing!

Thank GrigoryS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaka Surf M, Manager at Shaka Surf Morocco, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely review - it was so great to have you guys with us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

It was an amazing week with shaka surf marocco. Thank you for surfing lessons, tours and all the rest. Hassan taught us to surf Beth took care of the rest and Rachid made cool pictures. I hope to see Arek and Wiktor soon

Thank Arkadiusz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaka Surf M, Manager at Shaka Surf Morocco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you so much for your review - was great to meet you both!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews