We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem!”
Review of The Malt Shovel

The Malt Shovel
Reserve with OpenTable
The Malt Shovel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Brearton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 13 - USD 31
Cuisines: European, Swiss, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Stopped off for lunch while doing the Knaresborough round. What a thoroughly lovely pub! Friendly hardworking landlady and fabulous food. Great menu. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank kareng862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marek J, Owner at The Malt Shovel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Thank you. We hope you will dine with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018

We met up for a family history meeting with the dear lady wife's cousins on a cold and snowy March Saturday!

It was anything but cold and snowy inside! Warm and welcoming.

We had ordered our food in advance, being a party of a dozen, and our drinks, ordered at the bar, were brought to our table.

The food arrived in good time, piping hot (where appropriate!) and was enjoyed by all.

Staff could not do enough for us, nothing was too much trouble, and I felt that this was not put on for our benefit, but was the way things were!

An excellent venue, excellent food and excellent service!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MisterBee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marek J, Owner at The Malt Shovel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

We like to make sure our fires are toasty on those chilly days! We are glad you had a good experience with us and hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

The Malt Shovel is definitely a local favourite. Decent menu that’s a bit different and always a lovely atmosphere. Rudgate Ruby Mild on tap which was delightful.

The Belly Pork was superb as was the Hunters Chicken. Vegetables always done well too.

It’s a lovely atmospheric pub too. Off the beaten track but well worth a visit.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank S7882BMadrianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marek J, Owner at The Malt Shovel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

We are delighted you had a lovely meal with us. We hope to see you again soon for a pint & pub grub!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Very busy on the actual Mother's Day and unable to get a table so went back on the Tuesday after booking. Wise to book in advance by a few days, esp at weekends. Dates back centuries. Pleasant, old-world atmosphere. Staff friendly and efficient. My wife and I had our youngest daughter and 1yr old grandson but no problem with bringing in children. Menu not extensive but reasonably good choice. Fairly generous portions to the point that my wife could not find room for a pud!! Daughter and I had 2 courses for a set price. Bill for the 3 of us incl a bottle of wine came to just over £70 which I felt was reasonable.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tomhanks776616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marek J, Owner at The Malt Shovel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

We are glad you had a nice meal with us. We are sorry you couldn’t get in on Mothers Day, unfortunately we do tend to book up quickly on special events and weekends so it is best to book in advance. We hope you will dine with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

The Malt Shovel never ever disappoints with its excellent food and unbeatable friendly service. Our favourite place by far for Sunday Lunch.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Tigger0591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marek J, Owner at The Malt Shovel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

We are glad you enjoy dining with us. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Malt Shovel also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Malt Shovel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing