We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food stop”
Review of Thistle Stop

Thistle Stop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Great parking, great food and great service. Had the lentil and bacon soup to start with coffee and then a scottish breakfast. Best lentil soup and best bacon i have tasted in quite some time. Parking was easy for our campervan and "indicate now" road signage was super useful. Friendly service too. An easy recommendation for anyone driving the length of Loch Ness.

Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at Thistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thanks for your kind comments Scott.....I remember you commenting on our signage and am pleased that you found it helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2018

We called in here on our way to Tomich for a leg stretch and a coffee. Lovely place with a balcony with a non smoking area. Food and drink was really nice and reasonably priced. The owner, who is also a biker, gave us lots of advice and even provided the means for us to clean our visors! Highly recommended!

Thank sde23sde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at Thistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thanks for your review......hope you enjoyed your ride over to Tomich and look forward to perhaps seeing you all again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

When in the area we always stop by The Thistle Stop. Julie and Patrick are always very welcoming and always seem to remember people even though they may only visit once or twice a year. The food is homemade and extremely tasty. Everything is cooked to order and they even cater for gluten free (my husband is a coeliac and has never experienced problems after eating at The Thistle Stop) Congratulations Patrick and Julie on winning yet another excellence award in 2018 it is truly well deserved. Hopefully will be back for more of your excellent fare in 2019

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at Thistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you Amelia......it's always good to see familiar faces back again. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We have passed Thistle Stop Coffee Shop on many occasions on our many trips to the Highlands and have always wanted to stop there. I so wish that we had years ago, what an absolute gem of a cafe! The food was delicious and all freshly prepared, the staff made us feel so welcome, nothing was too much trouble and the surroundings were lovely. To sit on their verandah, with our pet dog, eating delicious food surrounded by outstanding scenery is pure bliss. Highly recommended.

Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at Thistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you so much Gill for such a great review......your comments are really appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Popped in here before Active Highs activities, coffee great, as was the two hot chocolates with marshmallows. Nice homemade chocolate brownies and bake well cakes. If you need a break, some warm coffee, it’s great. Can’t comment on other food, but plenty of people eating there, and happy so can’t be bad. It was also full. Husband and wife team, working hard, give it a try...

Thank Scampmeisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thistle Stop also viewed

Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Invergarry, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Thistle Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing