We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly Human and Dog Friendly”
other travellers have booked this property
Tintern Abbey Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tintern Abbey Cottage
Tintern Abbey seen from our garden Tintern Abbey Cottage seen though the arched windows of the Abbey Nave. We are so close!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Tintern Abbey Cottage
Tintern Abbey seen from our garden
Tintern Abbey Cottage seen though the arched windows of the Abbey Nave. We are so close!
The lavender  and Rosa Mundii hedges in late June smell amazing.Relax.
Dining room
Dining room awaits arrivals
Dining room is ideal for a celebration meal
Cosy fireside
Relax in the sitting room.
Abbey style logburner -Not possible to resist the cosiness!
The ensuite bedroom( own bathroom) downstairs
Upstairs second bedroom
Master bedroom
View of Tintern Abbey from the main bedroom
Whirlpool bathroom with Abbey View
Ensuite bathroom
Welcoming tea
Kitchen window makes holday chores pleasant
Range cooker does family meals with ease
Well equipped kitchen
Abbey seen from our front step
Our fenced back garden in early spring sunshine
Our fenced back garden in  June evening sunshine
Lunch  and a book by the lavender hedge. June
Cosy in Advent snow
View from Wyncliffe near the cottage ( by permission of Visit Wales )
Internation Birds of Prey Centre  a brilliant day out
Canoe the scenic Wye Valley
Fantastic walking from the doorstep
Footpath with medevil walls right by Tintern Abbey Cottage cottage
View down to Tintern from Offas Dyke Devils Pulpit
Autumn in the Wye Valley
Carols by torchlight each December in Tintern Abbey
Offas Dyke passes through Tintern
Relax in the garden
You can see Tintern Abbey Cottage in this picture. Look how near the Abbey we are!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tintern, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emily T
Essex, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly Human and Dog Friendly”
Reviewed 23 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Spent a fantastic few autumn days here. Spectacular location, beautiful walks for my two labradors and all the creature comforts when we returned in the evenings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1968Ellie
1968Ellie
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage, perfect location”
Reviewed 12 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We spent a cold weekend in February at this lovely cottage, The toasty warm log burner and heating made us snug and there’s nothing quite like a log burner on a cold day.

The cottage has everything you need...and more. The warm welcome that you get from Fiona is superb and there are so many additional lovely touches that make this a real home from home. The table was laced, a bottle of red was just asking to be opened and there were fresh flowers in vases.

Everything has a spotless rustic charm, this isn’t some grubby cottage where the last guests are still apparent, this is a first class and sparkling clean place where you can’t help but relax.

The abbey is just breathtaking, and when you open up the shutters in the morning, there it is, in all its magnificence. Priceless.

There is a downside of course...that you have to leave!

Would we stay again? In a heartbeat.

Thanks Fiona!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for this kind review. As a family business we do try very hard and it is really wonderful to be appreciated. We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMSKernow
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 9 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Very pretty cottage in an excellent position to walk into the village, right opposite the Abbey. Everything you were likely to need was provided. Dining table laid out with candles and napkins on arrival so that was a lovely surprise, thank you! Had a couple of dinners in the village, Rose and Crown does particularly good steaks, it is a pub and not what you'd call sophisticated but we were warmly welcomed if slightly of interest to some of the locals! Had a good dinner at Anchor Inn and a filling breakfast at White Monk. Nearby Fountain Inn does a very nice Sunday lunch, book ahead, it was busy!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2017
Absolutely delighted you had a wonderful stay and thanks for taking the time to post this for us. We hope we may welcome you back before too long!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katene199...
Honiton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage in a beautiful location for family holiday”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our family have spent a fabulous week at this gorgeous cottage - teenagers, parents and grandparents plus dog. We have walked, kayaked, cycled and climbed all at nearby locations. The owners Malcolm and Fiona gave us a lovely welcome with fresh flowers, cake and wine when we arrived and the cottage certainly deserves its 5 stars. Since returning home, minus a wallet, Fiona has gone out of her way to locate it and return it to us. Wonderful! We certainly hope to go back again one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay. please come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spitcher7...
Boscastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in splendid location”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Delightful & comfortable cottage with everything you need. The view to the Abbey is beautiful to wake to each day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The upstairs bedrooms were perfect, the bathroom was great too, garden and view to the Abbey was delightful.
Liked least: Not having an undercover area to leave wet and muddy shoes near the kitchen entrance door but could work around this.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
we were so delighted you came all the way from Australia to stay in our cottage and enjoyed it such a lot. We know its a long journey but we do hope we may welcome you back again before too long!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing