We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveller rating
566
114
46
24
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
566
114
46
24
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstamar valleythe main housetasting menufine diningamuse bouchelarge balconybirthday celebrationcountry hotelspecial occasioncoach housemichelin starlobsterdrawing roomfabulous viewssuperior roompetit foursfree standing bath
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 754 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

This is the second time that we have been here and what a very pleasant place it is. The food is good but not very adventurous and a bit limited, however I am afraid the service is very slow and could be more attentive.
Not sure if we will be returning.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank oracle54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkie045, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear oracle54,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent return visit to the Horn of Plenty.
Although we are pleased to read that you found our hotel to be pleasant, it is disappointing to learn that the food and service failed to impress on this occasion.
Our head chef and his team work hard to continuously re-evaluate our menu offering, ensuring quality and variety with a strong focus on provenance. We are sorry that you found this month’s selection to be unadventurous, but hope that future menus may be more to your liking.
With regards the evening's pace, this has been discussed with the front of house manager who will be reassessing the flow of service, with the aim of making improvements where necessary. Please accept our apologies for any delays experienced.
We do hope that you might reconsider visiting us again in the future as we would appreciate the opportunity to better reflect our normal high standards.
Kind Regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

the welcome was friendly and efficient, service was first class and the food was wonderful.
we had the set lunch, selection was small, 1 meat 1 fish and 1 vegetarian, we had a selection between us and they were fantastic.
not cheap but really worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank waite151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkie045, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear waite151,
Thank you so much for your concise and charming review.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your celebration lunch with us and we all very much hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

A short midweek break, chosen because it was a “dog-friendly” hotel. Lovely situation in Tamar valley, with views across to Cornwall, disused tin mines etc.
The staff couldn’t have been more helpful, nothing being too much trouble for them.
The dining room had panoramic views all round, which could have been a welcome distraction if the food was less than perfect. It wasn’t! Fresh locally-sourced ingredients, prepared with skill and panache by the excellent chef.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkie045, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear bob w,
Thank you so much for your delightful review and fab photos. It is such a pleasure reading about how much you enjoyed your stay. Fine food and excellent service are such wonderful compliments and ones which I will be sure to share with the entire team.
For further information on places to visit with four legged friends in the local area, take a look on our ‘out and about’ section of our Horn of Plenty website – perhaps we can tempt you back for another visit very soon!
Kind Regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

We stayed at the Horn of Plenty for two nights as part of a special deal which included our dinner on both nights. The food was exceptional - especially my Carpaccio of Tuna! Our room was in the house and did not have a view but was large and comfortable and had air conditioning which was very welcome in this year's high temperatures. Our friends were in one of the annex rooms. It wasn't as big but a Juliet balcony opening out towards the garden and a magnificent bathroom with free-standing bath and walk in shower. We'd probably choose one of those on another occasion.

Room Tip: The rooms in the house with views are probably pretty special.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wanderer1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkie045, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Wanderer1154
Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderfully detailed review of your recent stay with us at the Horn of Plenty.
We are very pleased to read that you found your experience with us so positive.
Your compliments were very well received by the team, especially our chefs, and I am delighted to read that you may consider returning to the hotel on another occasion in the future.
Please don’t forget to book directly with us next time. We guarantee the lowest rates, and we are always happy to discuss room options and accommodate specific room requests. Photos of all our rooms are available to browse on the Horn of plenty website.
Warmest Regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

The Horn of Plenty is a beatiful venue with gorgeous views across the valley. The house has lots of charm and character and all of the rooms are beautifully decorated with individual character. It doesn't matter what time of year you visit, it's a fabulous little venue.

We held a celebration lunch here in 2016 for a family birthday and fell in love with the place. The food is incredible, the staff are always friendly and helpful. Nothing is ever too much trouble. We arranged a wedding tour very swiftly after this visit and booked without needing to look anywhere else.

We had our wedding on 4th June this year and the team did not let us down. Leading up to the big day, Julie and the weddings team guided us through the build up and were always on hand to answer any questions and give advice without hesitation. On the day, Shirna and the front of house team delivered a perfect day for us from start to finish.

Another selling point for us booking the Horn of Plenty for our big day, was the fact that we were able to sit down with Chef Ashley and create our own personalised menu. From the reception canapes right the way through to our evening set up, the food was impeccable! All of our guests commented on how amazing it all was.

We cannot recommend the Horn of Plenty enough. It's become our favourite place and we can't wait for our next champagne afternoon tea overlooking the gorgeous views!

Thanks to all of the team for being fabulous always x

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Palder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkie045, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Palder,

It has been a pleasure reading your lovely review. We are all so happy that your wedding was such a success.
Thank you for choosing the Horn of Plenty as the venue for such a beautiful celebration.
Julie, Shirna and the team are very happy to have helped make the day so perfect and are very appreciative of your wonderful feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Warmest Regards

Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews