We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”
Review of Pyrgos of Mytilene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pyrgos of Mytilene
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mytilene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I stayed for one night and didnt want to leave, but I was headed to Molyvos for the bulk of my Lesvos trip. It is a beautiful masion, with stone clad walls in the room. The people at the reception couldnt have been lovelier.The breakfast was quite good as well. I hightly recommend staying here. You should know, it is a little bit of a walk into the main part of town, but it is worth it. A quiet stay in a safe and beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Pyrgos of Mytilene
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is a beautiful hotel in one of the old "mansion houses" of Mytilene. It is comfortable and full of personality, welcoming and distinctive. The management go to great lengths to make sure you enjoy your stay, for example they offered to phone ahead to gain us access to a private museum. They also took time to consider what kind of restaurant we would most enjoy before making a recommendation and giving us directions. Even after we left, when I discovered I'd left my purse behind, they were prompt and efficient about getting it back to me. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My husband and I spent our 10th anniversary traveling through Greece, and stayed at the Pyrgos in Mytilini. The rooms are a bit old and worn, but everything else about this hotel is incredible! The breakfast every morning is fabulous, complete with a large assortment of pastries and fresh eggs and toast if you like - including a cappucino or greek coffee to start your day. The location is very good - just a short walk to the port and shops. The service is excellent - if you want "room service" they will provide an assortment of menus from local restaurants, and order anything you like. Catherine and Peter are so warm and friendly - they gave us great recommendations for everything, and made our stay so enjoyable! Next time we are back in Mytilini, we will stay at the Pyrgos!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mh_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We have stayed for several days at October 2011 at this really suberb hotel. It is a really cosy mansion of 1916, preserving its characteristics very well indeed. We had the most wonderfull time, the room was really great, very clean and the service was something else. Panagiotis and Katerina gave their best to feel like home and it worked. The breakfast was spectacular, with domestic products, from marmalades, local cheese, pies to loukoumades. It is located in the town of Mytilene, only 10 minutes walking from the center and only 3 minutes by car. Several restaurants, taverns, cafes and bars are very nearby. We recommend it for sure. A really romantic place to be!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOM729663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We booked a room here in September 2010. This place is totally misrepresented in their website. The rooms are old, tiny, dirty and overpriced. Not cute or charming. There is no elevator, no porter to help you and noisy all night long. The staff was nice but that in no way compensated for the terrible conditions. Traffic is terrible, parking is minimal and it is a long walk into town on a busy street. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. Do not prepay for your room - you will want a refund. Sorry to be so harsh but it is the truth. You can get a much better place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KatNBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mytilene
1.4 km away
Theofilos Paradise Boutique Hotel
2.7 km away
Heliotrope Hotels
Heliotrope Hotels
#1 of 1 in Varia
202 reviews
1.2 km away
Blue Sea Hotel
Blue Sea Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mytilene
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Lesvion
Hotel Lesvion
#3 of 6 in Mytilene
99 reviews
1.9 km away
Michelles Apartments
Michelles Apartments
#3 of 5 in Anaxos
30 reviews
45.2 km away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyrgos of Mytilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyrgos of Mytilene

Address: 49 Venizelou Eleftheriou, Mytilene 811 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Mytilene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mytilene
Price Range: $110 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pyrgos of Mytilene 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"PYRGOS OF MYTILENE" BOUTIQUE HOTEL/MANSION. "PYRGOS OF MYTILENE" is a real jewel, one of a kind, as nothing similar can be found in Lesvos. Our boutique hotel was built in 1916 by the Architect Ignatios Vafiadis in the style of Second Empire. In 1995 the building was renovated in respect of its history and from August 1999 operates as a luxurious hotel all year around. PYRGOS OF MYTILENE is situated in the town of Mytilene where most of the mansions exist in the area, 200 meters from the new Marina. The significant exterior staircase constructed from white marble leads us to the main entrance, flanked by two aristocratic columns and eventually culminates at the highest point in the small tower. The interior seduces with its luxury, including decorations and furnishing from the period of Louis XVI. Every room creates its own unique atmosphere with discreet and soft coloring. The overall, romantic atmosphere takes you back to the 19th century, creating a feeling of living in the area. The three floors, which are connected with an imposed wooden staircase (there is no lift), leads to the luxurious 12 rooms, with assorted views of the garden, city or sea. Home comforts are not lacking as every room has air-condition, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hair-dryer, bathroom amenities, wireless Internet, safe-box and 24-hour room-service. The hotel offers a parking area for your convenience and Business Facilities (Fax, Internet, E-mail). Reception and Bar are open 24 hours per day. As soon as you enter the hotel a warm reception area greets you. In the living room or at the bar you can enjoy refreshments, while your Breakfast, American type Buffet with local delicacies, is served in the Breakfast room or outside on the terrace, where you can enjoy an enchanting view of the houses and the sea. The friendly environment and wonderful service offered by extremely efficient personnel create a warm and friendly atmosphere and will in sure make an unforgettable stay. Feel home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Pyrgos of Mytilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing