We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Official Site
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
bandkphelan
Traralgon South, Australia

PERFECT

Review of Vivere Retreat
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Oct 2015
just what was needed quiet and comfortable and relaxing .Enjoyed the spa and fluffy white robes :).Great views. Country breakfast perfect (just needed salt and pepper).Cant wait to try out other cottage in February.
Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela S, Owner at Vivere Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 8 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Pear Tree.
I am very sorry about the salt and pepper not being available - somehow I found them in my pantry. They are not back in the cupboard where they belong!

Yes we too are excited about our new guest retreat - I may want to stay there myself.

See you again soon I hope
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$130
  • Agoda.com
    AU$130
  • Vio.com
    AU$130
1.6 km from Vivere Retreat
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$220
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$220
6.5 km from Vivere Retreat
Toorongo - Queen Room
Booking.com
AU$290
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$290
15.9 km from Vivere Retreat
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$169
  • Priceline
    AU$169
  • Agoda.com
    AU$169
13.7 km from Vivere Retreat
Booking.com
AU$140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$140
  • Agoda.com
    AU$140
  • Vio.com
    AU$140
14.4 km from Vivere Retreat
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Toorak Room
Booking.com
AU$106
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$125
  • Expedia.com
    AU$118
  • Hotels.com
    AU$124
14.5 km from Vivere Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mercure
AU$219
  • Booking.com
    AU$219
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$209
  • Hotels.com
    AU$219
14.7 km from Vivere Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$110
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$110
  • Agoda.com
    AU$110
14.7 km from Vivere Retreat
Booking.com
AU$165
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$165
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
14.8 km from Vivere Retreat
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Neerim South
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
194
29
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
194
29
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews studio cottage mt baw baw short drive accommodation valley kangaroos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Nice quiet 2 day getaway just before the AFL Grand Final. And couldn't have picked a nicer place if we had tried. Spacious studio apartment complete with all the goodies for a home cooked breakfast & delicious home baked muffins. A/C & ceiling fan made for a comfortable stay. The most amazing views and only an hour from Mt Baw Baw or Lake mountain & yet only an hour from Melbourne. Bryce & Angela the most pleasant & friendly hosts.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrPiquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela S, Owner at Vivere Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2015

Thank you for your "wonderful" review and for sharing your experience with others.
There countryside here is beautiful so I am delighted you ventured out, with your mountain bikes, and experienced this first hand.
We hope to see you back again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Everything was just as described. We immediately felt at home in the studio. The decor was so pleasing topped off with beautiful bouquets sourced from the lovely property gardens. The studio felt secluded and private with its exquisite view over the valley. So relaxing to sit on the deck and enjoy the delights of the breakfast hamper provided. So much to see and do in the area and Angela was so helpful and informative.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elspeth_Emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela S, Owner at Vivere Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review... its very rewarding to hear guests enjoy Pear Tree just as much as we do.
The Studio is currently my favourite suite too, with the undercover verandah and that endless view, it instantly makes you feel relaxed. However once we make modifications to the Cottage, and build our new 2 bedroom Retreat, then it maybe hard for me to choose!
Such a beautiful place Neerim South.... thank you for spreading the word and I hope we get to see you again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

We stayed in the studio for 2 nights and absolutely loved it. We took the public transport since we are new here and Angela was very kind to picking us up from the station and drove us to the property. We were welcomed with delicious home baked muffins and once we rolled the curtains up, the view was astounding and out of the world. Studio is neat and very well maintained with a kitchenette filled with supplies which are quite fresh. There is a really big bath which is very comfortable. The balcony opens up to a lounge area with BBQ facilities and an amazing view of the green hills around. The room is well stocked with good collection of DVDs and audio CDs. We just spent the day indulging in these things the first day. Next day, we walked to the Neerim South town which is around 2 kms from the property. The walk itself is very beautiful along a green trail with lot of livestock grazing around. When we were back, Bryce showed us the small poultry section they have maintained and gave a lot of interesting information! We were again treated to a wonderful Lemon and yoghurt cake.

We have visited a lot of B&Bs before and nothing comes close to this. Few things which stand out :
1. Very Very gracious and friendly hosts Angela and Bryce.
2. Amazing location with excellent views all around.
3. Big comfortable bath.
4. Delicious homemade muffins and cakes.

We would definitely go back again sometime soon!!

Room tip: Studio has cozy and has a great view.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela S, Owner at Vivere Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2015

Thank you so much for your "blissful" review, and for such a detailed review at that.
It was a pleasure meeting you both and show casing what a picturesque part of the world Neerim South is.
You will definately have to come back (once you have your licence and a car) and see the many other interesting and amazing places in this neighbourhood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed in the studio for two nights and loved the view as well as the breakfast (farm fresh eggs) and yummy muffins! The studio was clean and has a lovely view over the gardens and across the valley. Saw kangaroos and even some deer in the lower paddocks...you are really in the country, but only just over an hour or so from Melbourne...we will be back!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Grant1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela S, Owner at Vivere Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our accommodation.
The wildlife are indeed a favourite experience for our guests... so I am very glad you too got to see the kangaroo and deer. We were walking down our paddock recently and stumbled across an echidna. The kids got to touch its spikes as it tried to bury itself into the ground - very exciting!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pear Tree Cottage.
We stayed in the Studio, and were thrilled with how beautiful it was, and how clean.
The views are simply wonderful - given it was a very rainy weekend & they still looked fabulous I can only imagine how great it would be to have a BBQ on the deck in summer!
Angela was a lovely host and even baked some gluten-free muffins for me.
Can thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaV351
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela S, Owner at Vivere Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review Pear Tree. Its a fabulous property and I am delighted that you enjoyed it just as much as we do.
Whilst I am writing this response, the birds are chirping and the sun is just coming up - its a magical place.
I do hope we see you again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews