We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
126
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
7
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2015

Spent a week with my husband and sons (13,16yo) as well as another family (6yo and 8yo). Robert and Joanna were very accommodating, staff lovely and attentive without being overbearing. Found the food to be exactly as advertised and very fairly priced. Well prepared with fresh local ingredients, Don't miss out on cerviche or Ruth's fish tacos. The setting is spectacular. Rooms good size and very clean, but this place is all about the setting. We specifically chose Nicaragua for surfing and Playa Yankee did not disappoint. Walk to beach was too much for 6yo in flip flops, as very steep in places with loose gravel. If walking to beach is important to you pack sturdy shoes, otherwise have the staff drive and pick you up. This is a remote location, and best suited to travelers that are looking for a quiet relaxing stay. The drive into "town" (San Juan del Sur) is a little tedious as the road is not paved, and takes longer than one would think (we were also there Easter week which made for an increase in local traffic). I was happy to spend all my time at Orquedia, where as my husband and sons took a few trips into town and to Playa Hermosa. I think the owners honestly represent their hotel and go to great lengths to accommodate their guests, individual satisfaction will depend on what people are looking for. Wifi was a little inconsistent, but I didn't go to Nicaragua to get online, and if you want to be assured of 100% access you prob shouldn't travel to developing nations!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Just got back from six days at Orquidea with Joanne, Robert, Sarah, Alex and the excellent staff. You'd have to really really stretch to find something not to like about this very well run boutique resort. Four of those days Orquidea was fully booked and two we had the place to ourselves. When it was full it didn't feel crowded at all and when we were the only guests it didn't feel lonely. View is breathtaking all the way to Costa Rica. Grounds are perfectly landscaped. Rooms are very well appointed with Room 5 being the largest, Morning coffee waiting on your patio for you when you arise, followed by an excellent choice of breakfasts. Privacy is definitely not an issue as staff move the dining tables around the property so you can be alone or with others as you choose. We ate at Orquidea 5 nights out of 6 and had an excellent choice of dinners cooked by Sarah along with a bottle of wine or two. Prices were very fair for the services and the staff are exceptionally attentive while not being intrusive. Pool area offers great choices of sun and shade. We stayed on the grounds and beachcombed Playa Yankee watching surfers for 3 days then went horseback riding and exploring beaches north and south for the other 3. If you're renting a vehicle I'd recommend a 4x4 truck or SUV, we never felt unsafe on the roads but there are some unpaved stretches in this area where the extra traction and clearance is an asset. Playa Yankee is an incredible beach that you often have all to yourself or sometimes share with a few others, never saw it crowded but the surfers seemed to love it when the waves were right.

If you're looking for a busy all inclusive buffet style party palace, this is not the place for you. If you're looking for an overly pretentious, trendy resort of the month this not for you either. If you're looking for a place to unwind with your partner or a few close friends in a gorgeous and very unique setting with excellent staff, great service, great food and fair prices then you should stop reading this and go book some time at Orquidea.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, Room 5 is huge with an incredible bathroom
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CanadaGecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

One might describe this property as "homey" ~ certainly not luxury. Most of what other reviews say about the people & owners is fairly accurate. Nice property, although small. Must keep curtains drawn for privacy and thus shut out the view. Rooms are clean and spaciious, Tired decor and lacking in amenities. For example, one large Kirkland shampoo bottle; tiny soap. No tissues or lotion. One towel and girls need at least two when they wash their hair. The breakfast is below par; no variety.
Wifi does not work in the rooms.
Plan on paying for everything extra - second cup of coffee at breakfast will cost you; even a plastic cup of ice costs $1.25 U.S. Beach is a steep walk on a rocky dirt road although you could drive down or get a ride. There are other beach properties that are much better for less money in Nicaragua. This is not a bad place, just way over- rated.as luxurious..

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Happi-Natti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015

This was the most spectacular location we’ve ever stayed in- the views, the service, the grounds- everything was marvelous. This is not a stay at a luxury hotel- this is a family welcoming you onto their lush property, providing a staff for your every whim, driving you around the area, cooking up whatever you feel like- very gracious hosts. They arranged massages to be done in a private part of the pool area. I could go on and on...

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MyValentine2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Joanne and Robert and all the staff are so welcoming. You would think you are part of the family.
Robert drove us down to the beach where Survivor was film and we walked to our hearts desire.
The view from the hotel, the infinity pool, the rooms, the different balconies were incredible. We dined outside on a star lite night watching the moon glaze over the ocean. Great service, great people, great pets.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews