We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
392
41
16
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
41
16
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail homemade lemonade tasting menu upgraded to a suite addo elephant park private plunge pool deck overlooking nespresso machine friendly and prompt service fine dining hand written separate sitting area course dinner south africa citrus farm four poster bed large bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

I dont usually write about the staff but I felt Woodall excelled in this area, the staff were exceptionally helpful and all knew who we were, we even had our names on our menus and the notes left in the room were personalised too. They were also very accommodating, i informed them I did not eat fish and I had a menu adapted especially to my tastes. Needless to say the food was excellent and very good value, the breakfast was the best we have ever had!
The room was very large with a sitting area, a large bathroom with his and hers showers and outside showers, a lovely touch. The bed was large and super comfortable.
The grounds were beautiful and the oasis with all the different birds was lovely to sit and relax in.
There is lemonade, tea, coffee and snacks available all day in the lounge areas and some canapes in the early evening all complimentary.
The safari was very well organised and comfortable and although its paved roads (no off roading here) we still managed to see plenty of animals including a herd of elephants, babies and all.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WGreen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Woodall is a paradise and heaven combined. Everything about them exceed expectations. They pay attention to even the littlest details. They go more than an extra mile to make their guests stay a memorable one. Food is Devine, rooms are clean, comfortable and top. Staff friendliness and everything. I recommend Woodall 100% to anyone. I will return definitely. Thank you Woodall. You are more than 5 star establishment but I give you 7 star

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bongiswa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Well designed and managed place closed to the Addo National Elephant Park.
Very relaxing atmosphere with nice rooms, great restaurant and SPA.
Individual rooms invite for chill out and are a good base for visiting the Addo National Elephant Park

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank fw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Very nice place with really comfortable and spacious room. Great food but a little bit costly. The dining room in the villa were quite cold and all of the guests got dinner (and breakfast) with jackets. In our opinion the safaris were not their strengths: the safaris start very late in the morning and there is not chance to get both the morning one and the afternoon one (just no enough time …) In our previous experiences, on two night basis, we got 4 safaris, instead at Woodall we got just one. So it was frankly disappointing, because visiting Addo were our aim.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marimonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin M, Owner at Woodall Country House and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear marimonf
Thank you for your review and feedback, we really appreciate your comments. We are glad that you found our rooms comfortable and spacious, and that our 5-course tasting menu was great! However, we are slightly confused regarding your comments on the game drive. We offer 2 drives per day. The morning leaves at 8:30am, and the afternoon drive at 2:30am (9am and 2am in winter because of the light). It is possible to do both drives - in fact many our guests do this option. In addition, there are many other possibilities available regarding game drives and activities. For example, you could do our morning drive, and then the sundowner or night drive in the Addo Park later in the day. Another very popular option with our guests is a morning drive followed by the Schotia Tooth & Claw Safari in the afternoon. We gladly assist with all these bookings and arrangements at no extra cost. Please visit our webpage for a detailed overview of drives on offer (also found in our room directories).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Friendly and prompt service,
Excellent cuisine
Quiet and warm accommodations with all amenities....very fine.
Some details: floor heating
Well maintained garden
Car cleaning without asking
Messages before night
Lounges well-equipped

Continue like this!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank aktivhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews