We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodall Country House and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Addo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Unfortunately are two nights in Woodall became one when our flight was delayed. We arrived and thought we were in paradise; beautiful grounds and facilities and our room was larger than the economy cabin in an A380! Beautifully appointed, great food and the staff were lovely. The drive to Addo park was also very memorable - lots of baby elephants and we sighted a dung beetle :).

Room Tip: They are all superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 1950BGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

I dont usually write about the staff but I felt Woodall excelled in this area, the staff were exceptionally helpful and all knew who we were, we even had our names on our menus and the notes left in the room were personalised too. They were also very accommodating, i informed them I did not eat fish and I had a menu adapted especially to my tastes. Needless to say the food was excellent and very good value, the breakfast was the best we have ever had!
The room was very large with a sitting area, a large bathroom with his and hers showers and outside showers, a lovely touch. The bed was large and super comfortable.
The grounds were beautiful and the oasis with all the different birds was lovely to sit and relax in.
There is lemonade, tea, coffee and snacks available all day in the lounge areas and some canapes in the early evening all complimentary.
The safari was very well organised and comfortable and although its paved roads (no off roading here) we still managed to see plenty of animals including a herd of elephants, babies and all.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WGreen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Woodall is a paradise and heaven combined. Everything about them exceed expectations. They pay attention to even the littlest details. They go more than an extra mile to make their guests stay a memorable one. Food is Devine, rooms are clean, comfortable and top. Staff friendliness and everything. I recommend Woodall 100% to anyone. I will return definitely. Thank you Woodall. You are more than 5 star establishment but I give you 7 star

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bongiswa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Well designed and managed place closed to the Addo National Elephant Park.
Very relaxing atmosphere with nice rooms, great restaurant and SPA.
Individual rooms invite for chill out and are a good base for visiting the Addo National Elephant Park

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank fw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Very nice place with really comfortable and spacious room. Great food but a little bit costly. The dining room in the villa were quite cold and all of the guests got dinner (and breakfast) with jackets. In our opinion the safaris were not their strengths: the safaris start very late in the morning and there is not chance to get both the morning one and the afternoon one (just no enough time …) In our previous experiences, on two night basis, we got 4 safaris, instead at Woodall we got just one. So it was frankly disappointing, because visiting Addo were our aim.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marimonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin M, Owner at Woodall Country House and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear marimonf
Thank you for your review and feedback, we really appreciate your comments. We are glad that you found our rooms comfortable and spacious, and that our 5-course tasting menu was great! However, we are slightly confused regarding your comments on the game drive. We offer 2 drives per day. The morning leaves at 8:30am, and the afternoon drive at 2:30am (9am and 2am in winter because of the light). It is possible to do both drives - in fact many our guests do this option. In addition, there are many other possibilities available regarding game drives and activities. For example, you could do our morning drive, and then the sundowner or night drive in the Addo Park later in the day. Another very popular option with our guests is a morning drive followed by the Schotia Tooth & Claw Safari in the afternoon. We gladly assist with all these bookings and arrangements at no extra cost. Please visit our webpage for a detailed overview of drives on offer (also found in our room directories).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
13.8 km away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
511 reviews
5.6 km away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
1.4 km away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#7 of 23 in Addo
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Africanos Country Estate
39.2 km away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
392 reviews
5.9 km away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodall Country House and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodall Country House and Spa

Address: Jan Smuts Ave | Woodall Farm, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Addo
Price Range: $204 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodall Country House and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodall is a beautiful property, situated on a peaceful citrus farm, 65km from Port Elizabeth and adjacent to the Addo Elephant Park. It is ideally suited for nature lovers, food and wine connoisseurs, as well as those seeking time out in the spa. Accommodation is private with exceptionally large rooms, especially the suites which have their own pools. There is a wide choice of relaxation areas, including indoor and outdoor sitting areas, library, sundowner deck and chill room. This award winning boutique hotel is the ideal base from which to explore the adjacent Addo Elephant Park, and nearby game reserves such as Schotia, Amakhala, Pumba, Kwantu and Elephant Back Safaris. Honeymooners are specially pampered in an environment of peace and privacy. Stylish, regional cuisine is served in the thatched dining room with views of resident herons, cormorants and rare waterbirds. The cuisine is inspired by the flavours of local ingredients and freshly picked herbs and vegetables. Complementing the menu is the Diner's Club Diamond award winning cellar, boasting a unique and comprehensive collection of fine South African wines, personally selected by the owner. The Citrus Spa offers a unique range of treatments, inspired by the surrounding orchards, and includes a sauna, hydrobath, steam room, Vichy shower and couple's therapy room and gym. Safaris to Addo Park depart daily Experience game at close quarters from Woodall's open Landcruiser. Five Star Country House (TGCSA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodall Country House and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodall Country House Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing