We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation of a lifetime!”
Review of Tryall Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tryall Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vacation of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stayed at Trinity Villa for a week at The Tryall Club. From the staff, to the food, to the drinks, our driver, everything was AMAZING! I don't know if I will ever get the chance to go back, but after Tryall I felt like I could die happy :) It really made me consider moving and opting for a much simpler life in the islands. The service and villas are beyond five star. I would highly recommend this as an experience to anyone who can make it happen.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    41
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
222
59
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
smithfield, va
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed at five different villas over the years, all on the hillside. Great service with all, so I won't comment on that. For exceptional view and quality of the villa itself, Anticipation is the finest property at Tryall. Food was good, not over the top. Xanadu had an almost equally great panoramic view and a really cool location, going down a steep driveway entrance that gave this property a unique feel. For a nice view, but not as good as the previous two, try Mahagoney Hill. Really nice pools, but the main thing that stands out here is the cook. It's way above any of the five villas visited. Can't remember her name, but it was amazing.
Tryall grounds and golf are have been discussed often and rightly deserve praise. Taking a golf cart and cruising the vast grounds is and
Checking out all the villas and the golf course is something you will do often. The security is a "10", and you quickly see that this is no issue.
My only issue with Tryall is not much of one, but I wish their restaurant was a little more "happening". Also need to fine tune the area around the main pool, although with each villa having a pool, this may be a non-issue for most.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank negril66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Tryall is amazing destination... And Bumpers Nest is great 4 bedroom villa, with panoramic views, great staff...Very special..Villa chef is great, food fantastic, villa has cooling breezes from ocean, to take edge of Jamaican blue sky and sunshine..

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markqn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We just returned from an 8 day stay at Mahogany Hill, a beautifully appointed villa at the Tryall Club. You can't get better than this. My husband and I are seasoned travelers and were blown away by the luxury and shear relaxation of this vacation. We were greeted by the wonderful staff with cool, scented towels...this set the tone for our entire vacation. The rooms were beautiful, the views were breathtaking, and the cool breeze that found it's way into our gazebo was exactly what the doctor ordered.

This was a true vacation! The staff was absolutely amazing. Favian proved to be a wonderful host and terrific mixologist. Maureen dazzled us with her made-to-order eggs in the morning and four-course dinners. We're all still talking about her poolside lobster salad! Your laundry is done every day and delivered to you wrapped in clean linen towels each evening.

We were a party of 10 adults and 2 children and we could not have asked for more from our vacation. We're already trying to figure out how we can return!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views. One room has twin beds that can be converted into a King. Three rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank melliempa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We were lucky to stay in a wonderful and large villa on the Tryall Estate, which was fantastic and were very well looked after by superb staff, but this review is about the wider Tryall Resort facilities shared by villa and Great House guests.

When we looked for a Caribbean villa holiday, initially we were looking for a stand-alone house, not one on an estate or resort. However, having ended up booking a Tryall villa we never regretted it.

We made good use of the Tryall facilities. Staying in a villa here gives you the freedom and independence of a “villa” holiday, but the ability to make use of the facilities of a hotel. It also means that if you get “cabin fever” in the villa, you can at least see other friendly faces down at the beach (or on the tennis courts or golf course). We made good use of the golf course (quiet in low season, but immaculately kept – challenging, but manageable) and tennis. All the staff at the golf and tennis facilities were extremely professional, and very accommodating and went to great lengths to meet all our needs. There is a good driving range and well stocked pro-shop on the golf course, and a full range of coaches, hitting partners and ball boys on the tennis courts.

Also, the beach team will keep you busy in the water either sailing the Hobie Cats, or helping you find the best shell-finding spots. The snorkelling was a bit disappointing but perhaps we did not try hard enough. TJ, the in-house naturalist, does great kayaking and walking tours highlighting the local wildlife – great for children and adults alike. The wonderful wildlife at Tryall is a huge advantage, and we saw Mongoose, Pelicans, Magnificent Frigatebirds, Humming Birds, Eagle Rays, huge crabs and plentiful lizards and toads, not to mention the ever present Turkey Vultures who circled the estate.

The Great House has a well-stocked Commissary (grocery store) whose prices were not as scary as we had anticipated. There was also an excellent beautician who we used for manicures etc.

If anyone was restless in the afternoon, then they would hop in one of the villa’s golf buggies and go for a drive around the huge estate, and cool down. The whole estate is immaculately kept, although the broader landscape remains more than sufficiently rugged and untamed (it is pretty much rain forest) to ensure that you do not think you are holidaying in a suburban “gated community”.

We only ate once in a Tryall restaurant which was the Wednesday night beach BBQ. The food was fine, and there was “Jamaican” entertainment after dinner. The show was undoubtedly very touristy, and even slightly tongue-in-cheek, but the children loved it, and several of the performers – particularly the limbo dancers and contortionist – were genuinely jaw-dropping and highly entertaining. We had drinks in the Great House Bar, and the Beach Cafe – both of which were quiet, but despite that were great locations to sip something and watch the sun go down.

Although I am sure that the Tryall properties vary from villa to villa, we were very pleased with the “central” services provided by Tryall, and would very much have missed them had we “gone it alone” on a stand-alone property.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Voyager212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
37.4 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
39.1 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
225 reviews
103.8 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
177.5 km away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
488 reviews
5.2 km away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
23.3 km away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryall Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryall Club

Property: Tryall Club
Address: 1 Rte. A, Sandy Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price range (per night): $577 - $915
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryall Club 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive Caribbean country club resort, spread out over a lush 2,200-acre property on the quiet, pristine north coast of Jamaica.Add an 18th-century Georgian Great House, a celebrated golf course, a state-of-the-art tennis center and a white-sand beach. Complete the picture with 69 villas, all privately owned, tastefully decorated, and fully equipped with a welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Tryall Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryall Club Hotel Sandy Bay
Tryall Hotel Montego Bay
Tryall Resort Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing