We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
320
161
41
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
161
41
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool outdoor shower sand floor mystery tour beach front guest lounge across the road office staff our honeymoon every morning slice of heaven car scooter hire stayed nights close to town tuna raw fish relaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2018

We loved this place! It had everything we could possibly need for a relaxing break away. The location is stunning, good snorkeling just off the beach. We loved the ambiance of the garden surrounding the units, the pool and the outdoor beach area. The loungers were just the place to finish off a days exploring. Especially when the attentive staff bring you a cold glass of the local beer! The breakfast was great and we ate in the restaurant several times and found the food was delicious. The mystery tour is a must do! A good way to see a bit more of Raro and to have a laugh with some of the other guests. Scooter and car hire just over the road and plenty of eating places to discover if you feel the need! I love kids but it really was nice to have a quiet environment free from the noise and dramas associated with little ones, this is a true bonus of this place. We loved the chickens and the wandering wild life, we became quite fond of the little black chicken who greeted us for breakfast each day! This is a wonderful place and we cant wait to come back!

Room Tip: Right on the beach, literally!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nik67015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue F, Owner at Manuia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review and such great information for the potential guests! Take care and hope to see you again one day soon :)

Kind Regards
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Our stay an Manuia Beach Resort was very nice overall. This is an adults-only resort only allowing children to outside visitors of the restaurant which we found preferable.

There are definitely some things management could do to step things up however.

Room: The unit was very nice and the outdoor shower was neat. Would have been nice to have an indoor option when it was raining however and the hot water was a bit temperamental.

Grounds: The grounds are well kept, clean and quite lovely.

Chickens: VERY irritating and loud. They're all over the island. However the fact they are tolerated to the degree that they are on the resort grounds is confusing and really hurts the overall perception of paradise. We would HIGHLY suggest management make a concerted effort to discourage their encroachment as it absolutely diminishes the overall atmosphere.

Restaurant: The food was pretty good but options were very limited fairly expensive. Some lower priced options would have found us eating there more often. Instead we opted to leave and find other options on multiple occasions. Again, management allowed chickens and cats to beg at tables -- not just beach tables but actually IN the restaurant. Not exactly the experience we expect for a $200 romantic meal on the beach in paradise.

Management really very nice and accommodating. Island life may have made things a little too sleepy at times and communication could be a bit better but ultimately they provided a really good experience. They even offered and provided local currency/cash at the office which they put on our room bill -- this was a fantastic touch as many hotels refuse to do this and it was very much appreciated. Additionally, our departing flight was delayed until 2:30 AM the following morning and management allowed us to use the room for nearly an entire extra night for a very reasonable additional $100 rather than an entire night rate. We were very thankful for their effort in helping with that and couldn't praise them enough for it (thank you!!).

Ultimately, chickens aside, we would stay at Manuia again and suggest you give it a try.

Room Tip: The lower the room number the closer it is to the beach.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jmarsh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue F, Owner at Manuia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review and really appreciate all the great feedback! I am so glad you said you would return despite the very pesky chickens and roosters that roam our paradise. Unfortunately they are all over the island and whilst we do regular culls via our pest control man on the island we are fighting a loosing battle as they fly and new ones just replace them! We will keep up the loosing battle and believe me it is every resort and private holiday home not just ours!

We do have spray water bottles that we spray at the chickens in the restaurant to chase them away which really works and so I will remind them to be vigilant about this and to also remind other guests to not feed the chicken or the cat who has made Manuia its home.

I'm so glad to hear that you were well looked after when your flight was delayed and we also now have a brand new after hours guest lounge available with new bathroom and shower for guests that leave on an afternoon flight so that you can still enjoy our paradise and we don't just kick you out on the street at 10am ..... :)

Thanks again and hope to see you again one day soon!

Kind Regards
Sue Fletcher-Vea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights to and fro to Aitutaki on our honeymoon. The rooms are just perfect beautiful and clean and well appointed. Great coffee and loved the outdoor shower. Quality beds and linen were also perfect.

The detour is private and quiet and the west facing beach has the islands best sunsets and good snorkeling.

Food was great with nice breakfast and a stunning chicken curry. Staff all friendly and helpful.

We have stayed in many places in Raro over the years but will go back here from now on. Perfect and great value.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank markdQ3418EL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue F, Owner at Manuia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review! Thankyou for choosing Manuia to celebrate your honeymoon and hope to meet you again one day soon.

Kia Manuia
Sue Fletcher-Vea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We stayed at this hotel for our nights, after staying at hotels on two other islands. The room was great, beach front, very well equipped and with an outside shower. The ladies who serviced the room were magnificent. Kept us supplied with plenty of towels, including beach towels and,kept the apartment immaculate. The restaurant provided a standard buffet breakfast with he option of additional choices from the kitchen for.a charge. Evening service could be variable.
One aspect at does let he hotel down, is the reception. Whereas other hotels have an open and welcoming reception area, this hotel has quite a basic, almost clinical reception, which we felt to be intruding on the air conditioned area, each time we visited. Linked o thisarea, the guest lounge area, used by guests, waiting to be collected to go to he airport, was shabby. If this whole area could be addressed to be made more welcoming, I am sure that he overall ambience of the hotel would improve.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve3236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue F, Owner at Manuia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Kia Orana Steve

Thanks so much for your feedback and lovely comments about the staff. The location and outlook is amazing and the set up of the whole property is based on looking out to the ocean. We do have plans to build a new reception area and this is in the planning stages for the next 2 years and we are currently refurbishing the guest lounge which is almost finished with a new bathroom and shower. This is an afterhours space for people to store bags or shower if they have a late flight but we do encourage guests to stay at the beach, restaurant and pool area until their flight and we give beach towels for this.

Thanks so much for the feedback and much appreciated :)
Kind Regards
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We stayed in a garden bungalow, which was very roomy, clean & close to the beach. We specifically enjoyed the outdoor shower & the good coffee in the room!!
Breakfast was plenty and the food in the restaurant was good and so was the service. Everybody was very helpful and friendly!
We also liked the chickens and the kitties, as they are such a unique part of the island!
We did rent a car for one day (car rental is conveniently located across the road) to drive around the island, do some shopping in Avarua, as well as some snorkling at different locations around the island.
Snorkling in front of the hotel is also really good, a good amount of fish to see.
Tokerau, Jim is just across the road, who does wonderful pearl and pearl shell art, which makes for great souvenirs.
The weather was great, the water nice and warm, we were taken care off very well and had such a relaxing holiday at Manuia Resort in Rarotonga!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank E2493SGyvonnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue F, General Manager at Manuia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review and it was great to meet you! We love our locally roasted coffee and so lucky to have such wonderful staff. It is really wonderful to get yoru lovely feedback and I will be sure to share with the team.

Kind Regards
Sue Fletcher-Vea
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews