We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful holiday for a week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manuia Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed in a garden premium room whihc while awaiting an upgrade was comfortable and pleasant. The upgrade programme they are working through is leaving rooms and units very well presented. The outside shower accessed from the unit was a first for us and we think it is a great idea.

The surroundings and gardens help to make one feel apart from all others while still being close to facilities.

The area on the beach with loungers, umbrellas, hammocks, and tables and chairs was attractive, close to the hotel rooms. The boutique nature of the hotel enabled there to be a sense of privacy without it being closed to those on the beach.

The pool as a part of this was very clean, attractive and great to use. Slightly lower temperature than the sea made it even better.

The small restaurant with a sandy floor was great. Staff were pleasant and always helpful.

We would return again without hesitation.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank TonyandPamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Manuia Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 426 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

Having stayed at this hotel 4 out of the 5 visits to Cook Islands since 1994, through thick and thin the service and friendliness of the staff has always surmounted any climatic inconvenience, such as the total loss of the swimming pool, restaurant and bar to a typhoon, and previously the burning down of the original restaurant. The sand between your toes in the dining room is tolerable. The facilities are adequate, the beach is excellent and when not washed away it is well maintained. Swimming at low tide can be a little cramped. The fishing dogs were always an alternative entertainment at low tide. It's within walking distance of the town and there are a number of alternative restaurants. The home baked banana scones for afternoon tea were memorable, and because of the small size of the hotel, the guests are always good company. The island is not a tourist trap, and shopping for pearls became a comfortable experience - for my wife. As a stopover on the way to Aus or New Zealand it is perfect, but more than a week may become a little boring. Our last stay was in 2009, but if on the way to the antipodes again, we would not miss it - or Manuia Beach.

Room Tip: Got to say, pay the extra for beach front.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rtewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have just returned from 5 nights staying at Manuia Beach. The hotel has just recently been taken over by new owners who have started to make improvements that will only enhance a place that has alot going for it. Both the restaurant and the infinity pool are right on the beach - it would be hard to find another resort offering that. The beach like many others is fabulous but Manuia has the advantage of having no rocks to negotiate on the sand - these are cleared away daily making it alot nicer than many others. Our room had an outdoor shower which we all enjoyed very much. Overall the staff are very friendly and with a few improvments now being made in the service area - this will be the place to stay for a relaxing (no children under 16) and special Island getaway.
Penelope Byrne

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank Penelope B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The new owners have done a great job in their refurbishment of this place. The rooms are great and the enclosed outside shower and the little garden was great. We spent a lot of time in the infinity pool and relaxed afterwards under the umbrellas with cold drinks and nibbles from the bar. Feeling the sand under your feet in the dining area is lovely. The staff were friendly and we felt at home. We would love to go back.

Room Tip: The beach rooms are to die for
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JannienadKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Wow, what a setting for a wedding. We stayed at Manuia for a week prior to the wedding of our daughter, and were very impressed with the whole experience. Although we stayed in one of the rooms yet to be refurbished, it is quite clear that the new owners are on a mission to totally reinvent the whole resort. Our room was clean, comfortable and private, set amongst beautiful gardens. The beachfront units are in the process of being refubished to a very high standard and the gardens replanted. The resort is an absolutely perfect place for a wedding, with a beautiful pristine beach, fabulous pool area and a wonderful restaurant right on the beach. We stayed in house for most of our evening meals and it is fair to say that we had 'the best' meal of our holiday there - fresh Mahimahi fish cooked to perfection at a very reasonable price. Good luck to the new, young and motivated owners of the resort. You are certainly on the right track.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nova05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
11.0 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.9 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
10.8 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
10.9 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
2.4 km away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuia Beach Resort

Address: Main Rd Arorangi | Beachfront, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range: $310 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manuia Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Polynesian Paradise at Manuia Beach Resort awaits you... Marvel at the magical sunsets over a sparkling blue lagoon, while lounging on your sheltered, white sandy beach fringed with swaying coconut palms. Wander through the tropical gardens on your way to the beach side infinity pool. Rest your elbows on the pool edge and soak in the view across the beach, through the lagoon onwards to the waves crashing on the barrier reef beyond. Sip a refreshing tropical cocktail delivered to you from the Beaches Restaurant and bar, or enjoy your Polynesian inspired meals in the restaurant while you trail your toes through the sandy floor. Manuia Beach Resort - your Cook Islands resort accommodation - is set right on the beach in private and peaceful surroundings on the sheltered sunset coast of Rarotonga. You will love the authentic Cook Islands style accommodation, with the coconut thatched suites complete with island style decor and modern amenities such as air conditioning. Walk through the sandy path down to the water and be stunned by the beauty of the poolside area. The infinity pool, Beaches Restaurant and Bar with its relaxed authentic Polynesian cuisine, loungers set invitingly facing the beautiful lagoon, and attentive local staff, will all set the stage for your dream Rarotongan get-away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Manuia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuia Beach Boutique Avarua
Hotel Manuia Beach Boutique
Manuia Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing