We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,762)
Filter reviews
1,762 results
Traveller rating
483
728
339
128
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
728
339
128
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspaghetti housekids clubisland nightgarden roomtennis courtsfish feedingbeach frontactivities hutcrabbeachfront deluxe roomspa bathedge watergames roomdaily activitiestropical breakfastcocktail hourair con
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 1,762 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018

This is the second time we have stayed here at Edgewater, enjoy this place and fi d it very welcoming. Staff are friendly and helpful. Restaurant good value to eat at if not going out. Pool area and snorkelling area great. Not far from Avarua, easy to get the bus there. Maybe some of the gardenroo s could do with a spruce up but very clean and beautiful setting. Sunset is a must view from this resort, with a cocktail of course

Room Tip: If travelling as a couple Garden rooms have a great setting and both times we have been very quiet as well
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Pae_Tai_Nui, Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Kia Orana Lyn. Thank you for such a glowing review, it's lovely to see guests experiencing the beauty and Kia Orana spirit that we strive to give each of our new and returning friends. We hope to see you soon!
There's a cocktail and a stunning sunset waiting just for you.
Meitaki maata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

The Edge water is in a lovely place with a stunning beach. We stayed in a beach front villa and it was nice, the room was nothing special but the view was fantastic and we had a nice hammock and sun lounges at the front of our room looking over the ocean. We arrived in the dark and when we woke in the morning we couldn't believe the view we had. The staff were helpful, the barman was friendly we got to know him really well. The drink and food prices seemed reasonable our bill was nowhere near as bad as we thought when we checked out. We did visit in the school holidays which we didn't realize and there were a lot of locals using the resort. We could hardly use the pool which is in a very small area as they had so many kids running around screaming and we noticed when the families of the resort staff where there it was very hard to get served. Great for families with children but as a couple without kids or if you are having time away without the kids this isn't a quiet romantic resort more for the family, Great facilities though, kayaks and snorkel gear are all free of charge, rooms are very clean and comfortable, buffet breakfast was nice and fresh. There is a free town bus that picks you up from reception including a Saturday night party bus. There is also scooter hire at the resort which we used for a very reasonable price and a very helpful tour desk.

Room Tip: Ocean front villas are great for the lovely view but at one end they are very close to the bar which is very loud at night.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank penalope2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Pae_Tai_Nui, Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Kia Orana Penelope, and thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination though we're sorry to hear you weren't able to have quite the romantic getaway you had envisioned. I do hope you enjoyed our hospitality and facilities all the same.
Did you manage to catch one of our stunning sunsets from your balcony? Pair that with one of our famous fishbowl cocktails and some music to set the mood and that is a recipe for a lovely night in, in paradise.
We've got more sunsets and fishbowls at the ready when you decide to come back and share in our little piece of paradise.
Till then, meitaki maata :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

The staff are all lovely, the beachside facilities have breath taking views but some of the family villas are well back on the main road. These villas are exposed to very loud music from the bar blearing out until till after 1am on Friday and Saturday nights and earlier on other nights.
We requested a villa change and were offered one directly next door which was hardly going to change the noise levels.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Pae_Tai_Nui, Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Kia Orana John,
We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay due to villa allocation. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of what our beautiful resort has to offer? The sunsets we get to see every night are enough to take your breath away. Find a comfy spot on the beach, grab your favorite beverage and you've got a beautiful evening parataito (paradise).
We do hope you come back and stay with us again, albeit in a villa away from the road.
Till then,
Meitkai maata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

I choose to stay at the EDGEWATER SPA AND RESORT.. IT IS A VERY FRIENDLY PLACE I'VE BEEN MANY TIMES NOW AND AM TREATED AND TOLD I'M A LOCAL... a couple of trips back I did have a problem with my room and I was immediately moved to another room, I feel very safe there and the grounds are very well maintained and clean. the housekeeping staff need to pick up a bit at times but the restruaint staff and bar staff are always very friendly and well mannered, the entertain that is at the resort is good and one really doesn't have to go elsewhere for any entertainment, I like also how the local bus comes right into the reception area to pick up and drop off, always travellers remember a 10 trip bus ticket for $30 Will take you right around the island .. ie 29 klms...... and then you can board the bus and get of at places you have seen on your 1 st bus trip... there are some nice hidden cafes to eat at along the way and don't forget to go to 'TRADER JACKS" for great eats in town and do the saturday markets the bus drops you right there and picks you up.....THE WALK ALONG THE BEACH TO BLACK ROCK IS A MUST..... ABOUT 4 KLMS EACH WAY.... ENJOY I SAY. ALWAYS I GO IN AUGUST EACH YEAR WEATHER IS GREAT........... NO CYCLONS.....

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank veryhappytraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Pae_Tai_Nui, Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Kia Orana and meitaki for the review.
Our friendly staff are always striving to make our guests feel at home while sharing our piece of paradise with them. Sounds like you are an honorary local by now with some great advice on things to do in paradise too.
Hopefully we'll be seeing you again soon.
Meitaki maata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

We had read very mixed reviews of this place so were a little unsure on what to expect but were very happy with our stay here! We had actually booked 5 nights here at the start of our trip and then 3 nights over in Muri at another resort, the price difference between the two was crazy and I would actually choose to stay here again rather than the other one.

The staff here were very friendly, the amenities were good and our room was excellent - we had a ground level beach front opposite the tennis court. I would specifically request a room along here next time also (ground level). We were happy with the bar/restaurant and the breakfast included with our package was wonderful! The italian place at the end of the driveway was delicious and we ate here a few times!

The resort is a nice scooter ride into town with scooter and car rental available onsite up the drive a wee bit which was very handy.

Overall we were very impressed with this resort and felt very welcome and at home our whole stay. The kids club was awesome and my 6 year odl really enjoyed going, they have good hours also and night sessions (7-9pm I think) which was cool.

Room Tip: Ground level, beachfront room was awesome
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TarinaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Pae_Tai_Nui, Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Kia Orana Tarina and thank you for your review on our resort and restaurants. Did you and your family manage to fit some snorkeling in during your stay with us? We have lots of beautiful fish and interesting lagoon life. Definitely a must do on your visit to paradise.
Hope to see you again soon.
Paradise awaits you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews