We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded our high expectations!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Treescape Elie

Morning sun lights up the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Morning sun lights up the house
The west-facing terrace soaks up the sunshine The free flow of light and space between lounge and dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Morning sun lights up the house
The west-facing terrace soaks up the sunshine
The free flow of light and space between lounge and dining room
Wonderfully comfortable lounge. A full Sky package, Blu Ray player and free WiFi throughout
A kitchen designed and equipped for those who love to cook
Elegant dining for up to ten
The beautifully light and spacious master bedroom
A powerful, raindance shower in the master ensuite
The welcoming hallway
The upper hallway; the perfect spot for quiet contemplation
A super king/twin room facing west for wonderful sunsets over the trees
Bespoke solid oak bunk beds with full-size Tempur mattresses. Perfect for kids...
...and adults alike.
A twin room facing east for the morning sun. Can also be a super king.
A super king/twin room downstairs with ensuite shower room, faces east for morning cuppas in the sun
The family bathroom, with bath and large walk-in shower
Kilconqhuar church through the reeds; a lovely 15 minute stroll along a quiet woodland track
Kilconquhar Loch, a SSSI bordering the Elie House estate
A boat, left high and dry above the beach and taken back by nature
Looking towards your neighbour, the magnificent Elie House
An expanse of sand exposed at low tide on Elie Beach
The sun sets over the Elie waterfront, only a ten minute stroll away
The private drive leading to your vacation hideaway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Elie, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
blackla
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exceeded our high expectations!”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a feeling our stay at the Treescape was going to be good as soon as we booked. The website provided us with everything we needed to know and Simon was very quick to respond to a couple of queries.

The house is fantastic and has everything to provide a stress free and relaxing stay (from full sky package, a lovely arrival hamper from the local deli and a high spec fully kitted out kitchen to name just a few things). We were very impressed at all of the bits and pieces for children (high chair, toy box, cutlery and cots) as we had 3 in our group. We spent quite a bit of time enjoying the gardens and grounds and residents were very friendly to us.

The location is great and it's just a 5 minute walk to the high street and 10 minutes to the beach. We wouldn't change a thing about the Treescape and would highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
Thanks for taking the time to post; it means a lot to us. Treescape really is perfect for families (I know because ours is there as often as possible!) and I'm so glad you had a lovely blend of activities both within the grounds and beyond. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IYFC
Dumfries
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Stunning property in magnificent grounds.”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is truly a luxury property with every facility you could ever want and very stylishly presented. It looks good, feels good and by jolly it does you good! The setting amongst manicured lawns and mature woodlands was ever so peaceful and relaxing. The spacious 5 bedroom house is lavished with designer furnishings of the highest quality and is ever so comfortable. It was really easy to relax indoors or outdoors as the two spaces seamlessly harmonise, with the interior decoration ideally fusing with the magnificent arboreal and lawned setting of the house. The extensive floor to ceiling picture windows in all of the rooms provided wonderful panoramas and light. It was a great joy to watch the deer grazing on adjoining pastureland as dusk fell and red squirrels scampering over the lawns to take refuge in the magnificent trees.

The house was stunning, wonderful, magnificent.......you just run out of superlatives to describe it and Elie was breathtakingly beautiful also. The east Neuk of Fife provided a wonderful holiday opportunity with striking seaside towns, rural villages and very picturesque countryside.

Thank you Treescape Elie for nine wonderful days holiday. By FAR the best holiday apartment we have been to anywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2014
We're blushing over here! Seriously though, many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Your description of the wildlife and the beautiful combination of woodland and open spaces chime so perfectly with the way we view Treescape and the wider Elie House estate. We love being there - and we love that you did too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen f
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“serenity”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had an amazing stay at Treescape. We were there for 2 weeks with our 4 kids - age 10 - 24 as well as their grandparents. It was a full house but it never felt that way as there is plenty of space to spread out - both inside and out!
Simon (& his team) have clearly put a lot of thought in to the experience they want guests to have. After quite a long trip we were pleasantly surprised to find a wonderful basket of goodies awaiting our arrival! The rooms are perfectly appointed - will meet most anyones needs/wants. The kitchen, as many other reviewers have pointed out, has everything you need. We typically had lunch out and most dinners in as it was such a pleasant experience to cook in this kitchen!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Treescape and Elie. We walked daily in to town - often visiting the Elie Deli for amazing croissants and americano coffee!
We loved visiting the towns surrounding Elie - St. Monans (must eat at the East Pier) and Anstruther - many great restaurants and shops!
We are already thinking about our next stay in Elie & Treescape!!
Thanks Simon (&team) for being so accommodating around our arrival and for making Treescape such an amazing destination!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2014
Hi there. Thank you for your kind words. Yes, we have put a lot of thought into Treescape, mainly because we wanted to create somewhere we ourselves would love! It's not often you get to start with a blank canvas but we could here at Treescape. Great that you made the most of the neighbourhood. Elie is a special place and we're delighted you share our good feelings about the place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateDK
USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“As Mary Poppins would say "Practically Perfect in Every Way!"”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Except I'd go one further and say perfect in every way.

We returned from a family holiday bringing together six adults and four children. Our stay at Treescape Elie was simply wonderful! From the moment of book to our departure, communications with the owners were extremely easy and prompt. Simon often responded to my questions within a matter of minutes. Upon arrival, we found a wonderful welcome basket full of treats from the Ardross Farm Shop down the street and it was particularly welcome since we arrived a little later than expected due to flight complications. As one point of note, if you are flying in, you may want to stop off at a grocery store before you reach Elie as it really is a village an much closes earlier than we were accustomed to.

The house itself is beautifully appointed in a modern but comfortable style. As a family of tall individuals, it was wonderful to have lounge furniture that was tall enough in the back to sit comfortably and the kids absolutely loved the giant beanbags. The table comfortably seated all of us and everyone had the bed configurations they preferred. Oh...the beds...they were so comfortable! We stayed at three different locations throughout our journey, and Treescape Elie had the most comfortable beds of our trip. It really felt as if we were in a home that we could live in. That extended to the kitchen. Many time, you run into vacation rentals with accessories that are for all intents and purposes "disposable" - knives aren't sharp, flatware is lightweight and mismatched etc. Not here! Everything in the kitchen was of the absolute highest quality and we really appreciated the plasticware for the kids. We LOVED cooking in the kitchen....and that's not necessarily something you say on holiday.

We spent hours exploring the grounds, walking to the beaches, blowing bubbles on the lawn, and really just relaxing. It was exactly what we wanted from a vacation. The neighbors we met from the manor house next door were also very nice and shared a lot of information about the gardens and the area.

The information provided was also very useful given this was our first trip to Scotland and Fife was an excellent choice. We thoroughly enjoyed some of the restaurant recommendations in the welcome information. East Pier Smokehouse in St. Monan was low key but delicious and we all took a night to enjoy Sangster's in Elie. Perhaps two of the most memorable meals of my life.

For those who may be interested in golfing St. Andrews, members of our party did so. It was about a 30 minute drive to the courses in St. Andrews and it was actually a lovely drive. The advantage of Elie was that we got to see so much more of Fife than we would have if we had stayed in St. Andrews proper.

We were all quite sad to leave Treescape Elie. We've done a lot of traveling and have a lot of places we want to see. This is one of the few places we truly want to return to - now we just have to figure out when.

Thanks for a great stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: level of comfort and appointment
Liked least: The combo washer/dryer takes some getting used to
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2014
In a busy first year at Treescape and with lots of lovely reviews, I think this may be just about the nicest we've received! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a considered review. We're particularly pleased that we were able to give you such a favourable first experience of Scotland. We hope it won't be your last!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClydeVall...
Clyde Valley
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned from a family celebration at TREESCAPE in Elie. With contemporary homes or hotels, it is very rare to find form and function in equal measure - treescape handles both of these perfectly! So stylish to look at and so tastefully done, and yet everything is comfortable and easy to use. The setting is magnificent and we were blessed with good enough weather to really enjoy all the outdoor space and grounds. The house inside is beautifully equipped with everything one would need for the perfect stay - the kitchen encouraged us to cook wonderful meals as it is so well appointed. I actually felt quite depressed to go home to my own kitchen!! The downstairs bedroom with en suite was perfect for my elderly parents as they didn't need to climb the stairs and were able to nap and have some privacy. We ate well, slept well, relaxed well - could not have asked for anything more from a holiday property. Treescape is PERFECT!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
What can I say? Your review has left us humbled - but very pleased! All along we have tried to create a holiday villa we'd be delighted to stay in ourselves (which, of course, we do!). We've taken care over both the big picture and the little details; the sort of things that make a stay truly memorable. We're so glad you share our belief in going the extra mile. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing