We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your home on Ometepe”
Review of Hospedaje Soma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moyogalpa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hospedaje Soma
Ranked #1 of 14 Moyogalpa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Schiermonnikoog, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Your home on Ometepe”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Just outside of Moyogalpa you'll find this lovely place. It breathes the love and dedication together with the relaxedness of the owner, Zkinny. He mixes Nica vibe with German efficiency and hospitality and has found the perfect mix to it.
Let your fall back in the hammocks in the garden and if you feel like it, ask Zkinny to help you make a plan. Be sure to get the best guide, the beautiful secret spot or the one hike you shouldn't miss.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thijsvliegerparadijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    89
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
197
75
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed here three nights and absolutely loved it. The garden is pretty and taken care off, breakfast is delicious, dinners were good and above all very nice atmosphere. Happy we stayed here!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missw29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Soma - a great place to hang out with its nice garden and terrace, a great place to sleep with its neat and clean rooms and a great place to eat with its delicious family dinners. Zkini is a very friendly host who readily helps with any kind of information you need on the island or on any other place in Nicaragua. Soma is definitely worth the short walk out of the town center - especially as being out of town adds to Soma's relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AABG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hospedaje for 3 nights in April during Semana Santa. It was absurdly hot and the power went out every night for 4+ hours, which meant no fan. The water also went out a few times which meant no cold shower to get a respite from the heat. These were island problems and zkini did the best he could to help people thru it, but the experience was overall not good. The common area is nice and we ate dinner one night too and it was tasty. It's definitely a long walk in and out of town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospedajesoma, Owner at Hospedaje Soma, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your review Seema,

Unfortunately we faced a lot of problems with the electricity during Easter Week and a lot of visitors to the island as well as business owners on Ometepe had to experience the same situation. I am very sorry that this happened during your stay.

It is very well known that April is one of the hottest and most dry month of the year, so I personally do not understand why the electricity company does not get prepared better, especially because there are a lot of visitors coming to Ometepe Island during these days.

At Soma there is not enough capcity to run the whole guesthouse straight with solar and wind power. Even we are not affiliated with any EcoTourism institutions we are concerned about our environment and do not support the idea of a diesel generator back-up which creates more contamination to island as well as a lot of noise for us and our neighbours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The Hosp. Soma is a few steps away from the "downtown" area but well worth the walk. The rooms, the restaurants, and the shared baths are kept extremely clean. My room was huge with good furniture. The bed was large and quite comfortable with new good quality bedding. The la yout of the windowe does not provide the best air flow but the manager can provide supplementary fans if required. I was there during a fairly humid period which made sleeping difficult at times. The air conditioned cabins are great if yiou can afford the extra cost.
Zkini ihe owner//manager lives on site and is extremely friendly, helpful , and knowledgable.
The breakfast prov ided was great with fresh fruit, eggs and meat, and endless coffee. The kitchen staff were always pleasant and friendly. Laura the Canadian cook also makes a nightly special which was always tasty and worth the price. Dinner always came with soup and salad too.
Security on the site is extremely good to the point where I felt comfortable sleeping with my room door wide open to increase the air flow. The guard dog is friendly but noisy- just what is needed.
The honour bar system seems to work well and ensure you can get a drink when you want one.
I also used the laundry service and it was quick and very economical. The Hosp Soma is only about 5 minutes into town centre but a flashlight is handy as the road is poorly lit.

Room Tip: If you travel during the hotter or humid time of year, consider the cabins with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diverdan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
16.1 km away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
398 reviews
36.0 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
14.9 km away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Finca del Sol
Finca del Sol
#1 of 3 in Santa Cruz
407 reviews
19.1 km away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
382 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Casa Moreno
Hotel Casa Moreno
#3 of 14 in Moyogalpa
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Soma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Soma

Property: Hospedaje Soma
Address: Frente del Instituto J.R. Smith, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe 00000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Moyogalpa
Price range (per night): $11 - $66
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodations are located on the edge of Moyogalpa, about 10 minutes from the main port on Ometepe. We have a variety of accommodation types available to suit the needs of every traveler, including our spacious cabins, rooms with private or shared bathrooms and a 7-bed dormitory. Our rooms are placed throughout a lush garden setting, giving Hospedaje Soma a relaxed, tranquil atmosphere. All accommodations come with free breakfast served on our spacious communal terrace. We organize individual tours & hikes on Ometepe Island and provide private transportation on the mainland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing