We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
267
195
78
23
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
195
78
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach golf course south coast blue flag beach relaxing weekend reception staff worth a visit excellent service enjoyed our stay breathtaking views pleasant stay longer stay bird life estate lagoon facilities activities
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We had pre-booked a spa treatment & also decided to book a dinner, bed & breakfast package for one night. We opted for a standard room which had a balcony with a nice view. The room was very clean and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. However dinner at the hotel was extremely disappointing. It was very average & did not meet our expectations for such a nice resort. The restaurant itself also lacked any kind of atmosphere. We were particularly disappointed as we were celebrating a milestone birthday. When we checked into our room a fault with our air conditioning was quickly rectified. However, empty cocktail glasses from a previous occupant were left sitting on the landing outside our room for our entire stay. It did not leave a favourable impression. The grounds of the hotel & golf complex are vast and we enjoyed looking around them. Although we were on holiday in South Africa from the UK, we have friends who live locally. Unfortunately we would not recommend this hotel to them.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nina943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLameerHotel, Assistant General Manager at San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Nina

We appreciate your honest and valued comments, thank you.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor dining experience and for the cocktail glasses. This is by no means our standard and is unacceptable. This will be brought to the attention of the Housekeeping Manager, Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager to immediately address and rectify.

Your comments enable us to continually improve our guest service and food experience; and we are grateful for your feedback.

Again, our sincere apologies and should you visit our area in South Africa again in the near future, please make contact with me direct and I will do all I can to ensure your next stay with us is nothing less than memorable.

Warm regards
Nicci le Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We had a most enjoyable stay during the Easter period. Good value for money; spacious rooms; excellent breakfast at the restaurant at this hotel. Friendly and helpful staff, always trying to make your stay enjoyable. Excellent and safe location. Will visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank twentycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLameerHotel, Assistant General Manager at San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

We are thrilled you enjoyed your Easter holiday with us! Thank you so much for your great feedback and review.

Please visit us again, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards
Nicci le Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We stayed at San Lammer on a 3 for 2 March madness deal. For the price we weren't expecting too much but we were very pleasantly surprised by the whole experience.

The room was a classic with a Juliet balcony. I loved the open plan bathroom (with sliding frosted walls if you need privacy whilst bathing/showering. The room was of a very good size, overlooking the lagoon. There was DSTV, tea/coffee (including filter coffee/coffee press) facilities, shower gel/shampoo and even a body puff. Each evening housekeeping would replenish the tea/coffee and supply water/chocolates - a very nice touch. Free WiFi was also a bonus.

Our deal came with daily breakfast, which was great. Plenty of choice of hot/cold food, and there was also an omelette station. We had dinner one evening and the menu wasn't overly extensive but had enough and was reasonably priced insofar as hotel restaurants go.

There are 2 pools on site, one clearly degisned for children with water slides, and one by the restaurant, which had poolside service if you fancy a cocktail by the pool.

The hotel also has access to its own private beach (a short drive away from the main hotel). The beach was never too busy and the sand was powder soft. The hotel provides separate beach towels at no charge.

We didn't make use of the on-site shop, library or spa but to have these on site would be useful for those who don't have a car. For those that do, there are plenty of nearby coastal resorts a short drive away, including Southbroom and Margate.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLameerHotel, Assistant General Manager at San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Ronnie

We are so appreciative of your fantastic and detailed review!

It is heartwarming to have this amazing feedback from our guests who have clearly thoroughly enjoyed every moment!

It was a great pleasure having you stay with us and we do hope that you will visit us again in the not too distant future.

Warm regards
Nicci le Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The spa is located in a tranquil location. The staff is professional but you get the feeling like you are just another number to fill up appointments. I had a delux mani-pedicure treatment and upon booking I was advised the treatment would take an hour however I ended staying 2-hours as the treatments were done one after the other. I found that my nail polishes chipped off the day after which is a great disappointment as I paid to have a nail strengthening treatment at an exorbitant price which did not last. Not worth a revisit in my opinion.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jesse_Hamman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLameerHotel, Assistant General Manager at San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Jess

We are extremely disappointed to hear of your poor experience at the Spa. Your comments will immediately be passed onto the Spa Management team to address and investigate.

Please accept our apologies on the Spa's behalf and I assure you that your concerns are well noted and request that you contact me direct at the hotel to confirm your contact information in order for the Spa Management team to make contact with you.

Warm regards
Nicci le Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We stayed in one of the golf studios for 5 days, unfortunately the weather wasn’t good so were confined to the room most of the time. The units are very small but adequate for two people, the units are all very close to each other so one hears, without even listening, the entire conversation the neighbors are having if you sit on the patio, it is unavoidable. The kitchen is meant for one person, ours smelt very musty as the cupboards weren’t aired for a while. It had all the utensils one would need. It has a shower over the bath. The linen was clean and it is serviced very day, although some days very late. If we go again, we would definitely go for a larger place. There are plenty of holiday homes that do get rented out. Look on “Where to Stay”. The gardens are beautiful and there’s an abundance of walks one could do. Lots of buck roaming about.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Lesley1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLameerHotel, Assistant General Manager at San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Lesley

Thank you for your comments, as your comments have been made on San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa, l we will be sure to pass this onto the estate management on your behalf.

Warm regards
Nicci le Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews