We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
348
100
20
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
348
100
20
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews travelzoo deal delamere forest oulton park pizza oven steak and ale pie family meal evening meal both nights no lift glass of prosecco cooked breakfast small hotel cheshire oaks modern bathroom large tv both mornings cooked to perfection
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Spent one night here for our anniversary. Friendly staff and room was clean, spacious and really nice. Enjoyed our evening meal. We were going to leave our car here and catch the bus into Chester. The manager said it would be better to drive in and leave the car in the park and ride. Excellent tip.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kestrel_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Couldnt fault this place. Little tiny village but what we needed as a little break away from work etc. Room fabulous and spacious. Booked evening meal-amazing food
Staff really friendly. Would highly recommend for a little treat away

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pobruc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights, the room we had the Marbury was lovely and spacious, bathroom very large, the windows did not fit or shut properly and a couple of the small panes were cracked. The room was directly over the eating area and so every evening there was noise until late and from early morning you could hear the scraping as they moved the furniture - presumably the cleaning staff. The food on the first evening was very nice I had a very large piece of steak and ale pie, nice pastry and very filling. The breakfast was however a let down, the bacon and sausage were over cooked, perhaps from being kept warm rather than cooked fresh. On the third morning the beans were cold. Having breakfast freshly cooked would be better, as even with the deal it is still an expensive stay. We did get the 10 percent off the food and drink. They could also do with a bigger area inside just to relax and have a drink as once you have eaten - or if you just want to have a drink - the seating area is very small so we ended up staying in our room. Not everyone is a smoker, so sitting outside after our meal was not an option, as the weather was not that warm in the evening.
On our arrival we had to find someone to check us in, and the one barman seemed a little offhand when my husband tried to make conversation with him. As we only really ate breakfast there the next two mornings the morning girls were friendlier. When going again to the area we will be looking elsewhere for accommodation.

Room tip: The first floor rooms very noisy as over the bar and dining area.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Heather1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Beautiful spacious rooms tastefully decorated in keeping with the period building. Very friendly and professional staff. Great food and nice atmosphere in the restaurant. I didn't get chance to try breakfast but will on my return.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank lemonsherbets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Although this review is a little late in the making as i visited here last July, it is an experience which has stuck in my mind so i feel i must comment. The hotel is located in a beautiful area and with it being summer time the garden was in full bloom and was truly breath-taking. The room i stayed in was lovely, with a great vintage feel, big comfy bed and was immaculate. The breakfast was really good and all the staff were friendly and welcoming. i didn't get chance to try the food as unfortunately we chose to eat somewhere else, but we both commented on the quirky restaurant decor when enjoying breakfast.We will definitely be returning again this summer to sample the menu!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sekh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews