We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Relaxing Experience Throughout...”
other travellers have booked this property
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Avonlea Cottage frontal aspect Tourist Board awards
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Avonlea Cottage frontal aspect
Tourist Board awards
Lounge / Diner with blazing log fire, TV/DVD/freeview and Broadband below open plan stairs
Welcome bubbly on arrival
Private and secluded sunny rear garden with view to open countryside with two seating areas.
Garden view with open countryside views and second patio for BBQ and al fresco dining an
Large double bedroom with cast iron bed with co-ordinated decorations and linen.
Bedroom with comfortable bed and distressed pine furniture
Bedroom with wicker chair, ladies dressing table / stool and hairdrier
Large bathroom with 3 piece white suite with power shower over and countryside view from window
Relaxing chair with view through bathroom window  to countryside
Fully appointed kitchen with with fine quality porcelain crockery, cutlery and crystal glasses
Fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/ and ample utensils any chef.
View over the garden and patio to open countryside
Garden view from kitchen window, is a delight when birds and animals come to visit.
Garden view towards Cottage with 2nd patio. An ideal location for a BBQ and outdoor dining.
Visitors to bottom of Avonlea's garden usually cows or horses
Monyash village showing Avonlea's location with The Bulls Head pub on the village green
The Bulls Head pub and Smithy cafe on the village green in Monyash 150 meters from Avonlea
Hartington - Lambs at play on walk to Beresford and Wolfscote Dale
Walk high above Ladybower Reservoir with picture postcard Peak District scenery.
Chatsworth House with acres of Grounds
Original Bakewell Pudding shop in Bakewell town centre
Bakewell bridge and river Wye. Bakewell is probably the most popular venue in the Peak District.
View from Monsal Head looking down onto Monsal Dale. Beautiful scenery and a must to visit.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Monyash, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alistair...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Relaxing Experience Throughout...”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

...we arrived at the cottage, with the excellent instructions provided by Chris, settled into the very comfortable environment of the Peak District. We were able to relax in the comfort surroundings of village life, the cottage is well equipped for all your daily holiday needs and more, very clean and presented with the addition of a welcome drink when we opened the door.
We sampled the local pub for evening meals at the Bulls Head, staff are very friendly.
We used the cottage as base station to explore the various towns and attractions within the area, which are easy to find from this location.
The cottage was a delight to stay in, very quiet and able to relax in the back garden.
Our stay was a pleasure, very highly recommended, thank you Chris

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing Area
Liked least: Lack of a local shop
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Another lovely review from guests who enjoyed there stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
25KarenB
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful as usual”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stay at Avonlea for a long weekend each year so that my husband can take part in the White Peak Walk. We've been back to the cottage 8 years in a row (might even be 9) which is proof enough of how lovely Avonlea is a base. The cottage is perfectly cosy - everything you could need for your stay is provided. There is a lovely garden out back with seating for those long evenings unwinding from your days walking. If it's raining you've got a good selection of DVDs to choose from.
Monyash itself is a lovely little village - the local pub does excellent food but is always busy so book in advance. There's also the Old Smithy - perfect for a full English in the morning. The only thing the village lacks is a shop but Bakewell is only 4 miles away and has everything you need.
We highly recommend both Avonlea and Monyash - we'll be back next year !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Our most frequent guests who have visited every year from 2006 without a miss. It must be like a real home from home
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stagespot...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“As good as a B&B”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This cottage is very cosy with everything you could wish for including a welcome bottle of wine. There is no need to cater for yourself with both the Bulls Head pub serving great food only a few yards up the road. Next to the pub is the Old Smithy cafe serving their famous breakfast all day long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
These guests found no need to cater for themselves with such excellent eateries just a couple of minutes walk from Avonlea's front door.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthnSou...
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent comfortable cottage in great location”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was my second stay at this cottage, the first time being some years ago, and it was as lovely as the first time. The accommodation is very comfortable and of high quality, fully deserving of its 4-star Gold rating from Enjoy England scheme. Can't fault it and the location is excellent for anyone who is keen on walking and wants to explore the Peak District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Lovely comments from a returning guest about the quality and standard of our accommodation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sapd2015
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“A total 'switch off & relax weekend' Glorious!!! :-)”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a brilliant long weekend from 17th to 20th April for my partners birthday. The cottage was everything it said it was, the surrounding village was lovely too and we had a couple of excellent nights in the local pub The Bull's Head, where the food was great and there was a lovely friendly atmosphere. Some great walks and visits to local towns, we've returned to work totally refreshed.
Many thanks for a wonderful stay - we would highly recommend it!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
Our guests had a brilliant time and left totally relaxed following a 3 night long weekend. Three nights is the shortest break we offer but its available all year round, at anytime and not just a weekends. We always keep out cottage prepared for use, so it can be booked in less than 24 notice. Just check our availability calender to see if its free for your dates.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing