We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Surprise...”

Ristorante Guaita S. Eutizio
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Preci
Price range: USD 10 - USD 38
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Located next to the Abbey of San Eutizio with a beautiful view and a small stream bubbling below the terrace this restaurant was a revelation. I did not expect much of the food, most of the time Italian kitchens are never below average so you can hardly ever lose. But this one is well above the cut. Very good pasta, very well prepared meats (there was fresh fowl) very friendly service. The Abbey is a wonderful place for weddings and if Guaita does the catering a happy marriage will be certain!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LvdG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2016

This is a little gem of a restaurant. Situated in a beautiful position overlooking the Abbey of San Eutizio just off the Castoriana valley near Preci, the husband and wife team of Anita and Domenico work extremely hard to provide a wonderfully relaxed dining experience. The menu is fairly restricted by local standards.....there are only 4 antipasti, for example....but this allows the one man band of Domenico in the kitchen to prepare tasty meals using fresh ingredients.

The Mosaico antipasto is wonderful and a meal in itself. Along with the traditional salami and local cheese it includes unusual dishes such as a light potato and cheese creation....bliss...and pear or apple topped with scamorza cheese, also delicious. The primi dishes use homemade pasta and are excellent but the highlight for me was the Tagliata di Manzo (sliced steak with parmesan and rocket leaves). We stayed in Preci for seven weeks and I had this dish three times. On each occasion the meat was of very high quality and beautifully cooked.

Anita is extremely friendly and runs the front of house with great character. Overall a lovely restaurant and our favourite in the area.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Lepi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

This restaurant is a hidden secret of Umbria. The service is amazing and very personal. The dishea are scrumptious and are perfectly served by Anita and Dominic the owners and chefs, and the prices are very reasonable . I do not miss a visit whenever I am around.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank 97menyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

If you are looking for excellent authentic cuisine from the Norcia region, this place has it. My wife and I had an amazing meal there this April, the best we experienced during a trip that included excellent and highly rated restaurants in Rome and Tuscany as well. Individual attention, genuine effort to please, excellent wine, delicious food........this restaurant had it all. The couple that runs it puts their hearts into it and it shows. If you want to experience Sibillini truffles at their best this is a good place to do it.

Date of visit: April 2016
1  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Unfriendly staff. Unless all five of you order the same food plates come 10 minutes apart except when forgotten. Wasps, smokers at next table. Beautiful setting bring s picnic lunch.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Gabor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Guaita S. Eutizio also viewed

Preci, Province of Perugia
Preci, Province of Perugia
 
Preci, Province of Perugia
Norcia, Province of Perugia
 
Visso, Province of Macerata
Visso, Province of Macerata
 

Been to Ristorante Guaita S. Eutizio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing