We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
11 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Beattock, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colin H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Perfect house to celebrate my son's 21st birthday with my extended family. There was plenty of space with lots of bedrooms, the kitchen was well equipped and the house was very clean. The teenagers in the group enjoyed the bar area downstairs where they were able to chill out. On arrival the dining table was beautifully set out with a 21st cake, card, wine and other goodies which was a lovely surprise. The owners and caretakers were welcoming and on hand for any problems. We enjoyed a walk around Moffat which is a nice little town with several nice coffee shops. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and we especially enjoyed the walk up the grey mares tail.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Lovely to meet you all, hope you stay again. Thank you for leaving the House so tidy. Kind regards, Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire D
Alva, United Kingdom
1 review
“Surprise 50th Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Cannot thank the landlord enough for all the stops they pulled out to make our surprise weekend happen.
Above and beyond anything we could have asked for.
The home itself has everything you need and ideal for large groups or families.
The caretaker is great and will help with anything he can.
Cant wait to book our next visit.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2015
Hi, Many thanks for your kind comments; so please it all went well. We hope to welcome you to Telford Manor House again. Best Regards, Chris & Thomas Cameron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What can I say, simply the following -
Wonderful House
Wonderful Hosts
Wonderful Location
Wonderful Caretaker
Wonderful Ambiance..............get the idea?
We booked Telford House for a large family get together, 13 Adults, 4 kids, 2 babies and 2 dogs. All under the one roof and we will be back, thats a promise!
From the huge Dining Space, the ample Kitchen, the comfortable lounge it was all perfect. Our hosts and caretaker were attentive and had provided snacks and sweets for the children and even some wine for the adults, all above and beyond.
There is a self contained apartment in the Basement which we had the use of which again was perfect.
Moffat is a beautiful little place and the Golf Course is a challenge set in cracking scenery.
We stayed there for two nights and our plan was to venture out on the second nigh to a local pub/restaurant but we had so much fun and comfort all under one roof that we stayed in the second night and had another family party, wonderful!
As soon as we can sort out our home dates for 2016 we will be making our second booking, 5 stars all the way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Hosts, Dining Room
Liked least: TV size in the Lounge
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope you come back again. Kind Regards Chris & Thomas Cameron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great venue for large groups”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at the house for two nights prior to our wedding. We had a group of 12 staying there but can host many more. The basement has just been converted in to an apartment which is an ideal quiet area.
The welcome was warm and we were given a tour of the house. Colin (caretaker) is on hand to offer help and advice. The rooms are ideal and we couldn't fault the accommodation.
I would highly recommend. We will hopefully be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrytsco...
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Second time at Telford House, once again it was excellent. The welcome pack is par excellence, caretaker is very helpful and not at all intrusive. Looking forward to another stay next year.. Definitely Haste we Back!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing