We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Hotel, Great Location, Allstar Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vico Morcote
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

I was surprised at the great rate we got at a hotel of this quality. The room we had was huge by European standards. As was the balcony which offered wonderful views of Lago di Lugano and the village across the water. The room was well appointed, the bed and linens amazingly comfortable and the bathroom modern and spotless. There were also multiple outlets for all our electronics, something that is missing from a lot of European hotels.
It was obvious that this hotel caters to a lot of demanding visitors. Swiss hoteliers do not focus on staff friendliness, but rather on providing great service. And that is exactly what we experienced here. The staff was never obtrusive, but somehow always there when you needed something. For example if there were 2 people checking in, suddenly there was someone to help out. We ordered ice for the room one day, and every day thereafter ice was brought to our room at the same time. The bartender remembered our wine preference from the previous day. Once served, he would disappear, then come back when our glasses were not quite empty. Great timing.
We did not try the gourmet restaurant, but the bar food was excellent and considerably less expensive. The breakfast buffet was expansive, delicious and included warm items such as eggs, sausage and bacon.
Lovely Morcote is a short walk away. It is small but offers several excellent waterfront restaurants featuring fish fresh from the lake.
The only complaint is that if you shower standing up you will flood the bathroom. The result of great water pressure and a leaky and poorly designed glass partition. I suspect the maids are sick of mopping up after the guest and that the hotel will address this issue.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jadamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_albergo, Direttore generale at Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Jadamek,
thank you so much for your positive feedback about your stay with us! Guests’ impressions are very important and helpful for us, especially with regards to our facilities and service in order to improve. I’m going to share your comments with my team members who will be delighted to hear about your experience with us. I hope that you will be able to come back to Lugano and stay at Swiss Diamond Hotel.
Kind regards.
Francesco Cirillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in Morcote a couple of minutes from Lugano. We had a nice traditional room with view over the lake. The hotel style is traditional. Perfect for a weekend when you look for a quiet place, outside pool and time to relax.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_albergo, Direttore generale at Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Marco R,
Thank you so much for your great feedback about your stay with us. It is very much helpful to listen to your comments for all of us. I hope to welcome you back in the next future and in the meantime I wish you all the best.
Kind regards.
Francesco Cirillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Not many great 5 star options in Lugano. For the money this was the best value I could find.

Rooms are dated, but if you book a lake view room you get a very nice view.

The staff is helpful but not overly friendly. I’ve experienced much friendlier service at 4 star hotels.

Overall a safe choice if you want to relax by the lake in a decent hotel without getting taken to the cleaners.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Dom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_albergo, Direttore generale at Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent stay at Swiss Diamond and for your positive feedback. I sorry to hear the comments about our staff, but at the same time I am sure of theirs commitment to meet all the needs of our guests in a professional and courteous way, trying every time to go the extra-mile. However, considering your appreciation for the room, I still hope to welcoming you again at Hotel Swiss Diamond.
Kindest regards,
Francesco Cirillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Stayed in the end of July. We liked the most vied from the hotel (lake view) and the room itself. Was spacious, enough space for 3, nicely furnished although slightly aged, quite and comfortable. Hotel’s restaurant on the other side of the road with fantastic lake view. Nice jogging option.

Space for improvement. Wifi could work better in our room, parking during the weekend had not enough space for all cars.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arturs-PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_albergo, Direttore generale at Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,
thank a lot for your positive feedback about your stay with us. We always pay lots of attention to cleaning, service and clients’ requirements. I hope to welcome you back in the next future to Swiss Diamond Hotel and in the meantime I wish you all the best.
Kind regards.
Francesco Cirillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

This hotel has many great things about it:
* Location!!! Right next to lake offering great views. And the fact that there is road between hotel and lake does not bother at all - they have underground tunnel for reaching lake - very convinient.
* Hotel grounds are great - sunbathing and swimming in lake, little spa with jakuzzi, steam sauna, hammam and indoor pool.
* There is pool outside as well but they do not have sumbeds there and also the pool is very cold there - in august lake water was warmer and more enjoyable
* Rooms are clean and nice
* Parking available

The only things we did not loooove about this hotel was the staff there - I must agree with someone who wrote a rewiev about this hotel lacking attetion to detail.
I booked a hotel directly from homepage and had only one special request - room with a bathtub. When arrived we still got a room without it.
Also - on last day (we stayed 4 nights) we asked for check-out one or two hour later and they refused telling that our room will be needed -the hotel were definately not sold out - also - our room was not the nicest one in this hotel - it had no view, no balcony etc. And booking.com showed plenty rooms available on that day - so that tells already something about staff.
Overall all the staff was polite and professional, BUT not friendly (bit haughty even).

I really liked this hotel - some attention to their staff attitude and visiting it could be amazing experience.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_albergo, Direttore generale at Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your positive feedback about your stay with us! Guests’ impressions are very important and helpful for us, especially with regards to our facilities and service in order to improve. I’m going to share your comments with my team members who will be delighted to hear about your experience with us. I hope that you will be able to come back to Lugano and stay at Swiss Diamond Hotel. Kind regards.
Francesco Cirillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vico Morcote
6.8 km away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
550 reviews
8.7 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
10.2 km away
Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 km away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
6.2 km away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#4 of 45 in Lugano
170 reviews
3.7 km away
Resort Collina d'Oro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano

Address: Riva Lago Olivella, Vico Morcote 6921, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Vico Morcote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vico Morcote
Price Range: $324 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the enchanting shores of Lake Lugano, this luxurious property offers elegance and charm in a breathtaking location. Behind the impressive façade, the Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano boasts dining and leisure facilities that rank among the finest in Switzerland. Only 7 km away from the centre of Lugano, the hotel features 3 restaurants serving typical regional, Mediterranean and international cuisine with a wide range of international wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Diamond Resort Olivella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing