We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
229
122
53
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
122
53
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swiss diamond star hotel lake view shuttle service beautiful location free shuttle hotel is located amazing hotel outdoor pool attention to detail nice view breakfast buffet lago restaurant spa area two hours stayed here for one night milan airport
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Not many great 5 star options in Lugano. For the money this was the best value I could find.

Rooms are dated, but if you book a lake view room you get a very nice view.

The staff is helpful but not overly friendly. I’ve experienced much friendlier service at 4 star hotels.

Overall a safe choice if you want to relax by the lake in a decent hotel without getting taken to the cleaners.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Dom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_albergo, Direttore generale at Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent stay at Swiss Diamond and for your positive feedback. I sorry to hear the comments about our staff, but at the same time I am sure of theirs commitment to meet all the needs of our guests in a professional and courteous way, trying every time to go the extra-mile. However, considering your appreciation for the room, I still hope to welcoming you again at Hotel Swiss Diamond.
Kindest regards,
Francesco Cirillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Stayed in the end of July. We liked the most vied from the hotel (lake view) and the room itself. Was spacious, enough space for 3, nicely furnished although slightly aged, quite and comfortable. Hotel’s restaurant on the other side of the road with fantastic lake view. Nice jogging option.

Space for improvement. Wifi could work better in our room, parking during the weekend had not enough space for all cars.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arturs-PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_albergo, Direttore generale at Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,
thank a lot for your positive feedback about your stay with us. We always pay lots of attention to cleaning, service and clients’ requirements. I hope to welcome you back in the next future to Swiss Diamond Hotel and in the meantime I wish you all the best.
Kind regards.
Francesco Cirillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

This hotel has many great things about it:
* Location!!! Right next to lake offering great views. And the fact that there is road between hotel and lake does not bother at all - they have underground tunnel for reaching lake - very convinient.
* Hotel grounds are great - sunbathing and swimming in lake, little spa with jakuzzi, steam sauna, hammam and indoor pool.
* There is pool outside as well but they do not have sumbeds there and also the pool is very cold there - in august lake water was warmer and more enjoyable
* Rooms are clean and nice
* Parking available

The only things we did not loooove about this hotel was the staff there - I must agree with someone who wrote a rewiev about this hotel lacking attetion to detail.
I booked a hotel directly from homepage and had only one special request - room with a bathtub. When arrived we still got a room without it.
Also - on last day (we stayed 4 nights) we asked for check-out one or two hour later and they refused telling that our room will be needed -the hotel were definately not sold out - also - our room was not the nicest one in this hotel - it had no view, no balcony etc. And booking.com showed plenty rooms available on that day - so that tells already something about staff.
Overall all the staff was polite and professional, BUT not friendly (bit haughty even).

I really liked this hotel - some attention to their staff attitude and visiting it could be amazing experience.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_albergo, Direttore generale at Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your positive feedback about your stay with us! Guests’ impressions are very important and helpful for us, especially with regards to our facilities and service in order to improve. I’m going to share your comments with my team members who will be delighted to hear about your experience with us. I hope that you will be able to come back to Lugano and stay at Swiss Diamond Hotel. Kind regards.
Francesco Cirillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

I like this place
Nice view, nice rooms but breakfast is very cheap and even the food at the very ecpensive pool restaurant is nothing special at all
Plus swimming pool water was always cold even during very hot days

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank confusa e felic... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_albergo, Direttore generale at Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Guest, your fantastic review is the best part of our work. Thanks a lot! We are really glad you enjoyed the visit at us and appreciate so much our culinary experience and hearty hospitality. We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and stay at Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano.
Kind regards.
Francesco Cirillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

In all my years I never thought I'd be in a hotel with a clear view of the lake that comes with the tranquility and beauty of Lugano. The hotel has everything including a spa, gym and swimming pool which are essential for rejuvenating and unwinding in one of the spectacular regions in Switzerland. I highly recommend it for those who want to relax.

Room Tip: Lakeview room
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank missiontravel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_albergo, Direttore generale at Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your positive feedback about your stay with us! Guests’ impressions are very important and helpful for us, especially with regards to our facilities and service in order to improve. I’m going to share your comments with my team members who will be delighted to hear about your experience with us. And thank you for recommending our hotel at TripAdvisor's readers. I hope that you will be able to come back to Lugano and stay at Swiss Diamond Hotel.
Kind regards.
Francesco Cirillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews