We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place of calm and quality”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious living room with many rustic features, plenty of comfortable seating and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living room with many rustic features, plenty of comfortable seating and dining area
Hallway leading to back door and enclosed private garden Living room, overlooking garden with stairs to Bedroom 2. Large TV with SKY TV including SKY
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Spacious living room with many rustic features, plenty of comfortable seating and dining area
Hallway leading to back door and enclosed private garden
Living room, overlooking garden with stairs to Bedroom 2. Large TV with SKY TV including SKY
Fully refurbished kitchen with additional dining area. Rustic old beams throughtout
Bedroom 1, Super-King size bed,(can be two 3' beds)& 3' single bed. Ensuite Bathroom. TV & DVD
New fully refurbished ensuite bathroom with shower-over-bath; bedroom 1
Bedroom 2, Kingsize bed, ensuite bathroom. TV and DVD player
Bathroom with walk-in shower, Bed 2
Bedroom 3, King-size bed, ground floor ensuite bathroom. TV and DVD player
The Bothy entrance from the court yard
The Bothy, looking towards Hollis Hill
Private fenced garden overlooking goat pen,with view of village
The White Lion, the village pub, excellent food.
Forde Abbey, magnificent house and gardens, 20 mins away
Beaminster, historic small town, 3 miles away
The Bothy is located behind West Hill House
12th Century Church in Broadwindsor
Todd and Herbie, Vietnamese Pot-bellied pigs
Broadwindsor from Hollis Hill looking towards Lewesdon
The Jurasic coast from Golden Cap towards Seatown.
Lyme Regis, excellent for sandy beach, crabbing rock pooling and fossil hunting
Lyme regis, 20 mins away
Unspoilt rolling countryside on the doorstep
Private fenced garden and communal grounds with views of the village,and surrounding countryside
Adorable spring lambs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Broadwindsor, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JakkiPar
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A place of calm and quality”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Jakki and Julia are very old friends who now live miles apart. We have to try and get together regulalry to talk, eat good food, drink some wine and did I mention the talking? We now have our daughters accompanying us (aged 10 and 13) and this deceptively large, spacious, warm and comfortable retreat, with good quality rooms, en suite bathrooms and well equipped kitchen made an immediate home from home that meant we were settled and comfortable immediately and able to get on with enjoying the weekend. The girls had great time in the attic bedroom, trying to take photos of the night sky through the (closed) velux window...plenty of space for us and them! Lovely welcome from the owners, and the local town seemed great... such a great cottage we didnt mind that it poured with rain all weekend as it gave us an excuse to stay inside..... and talk! Many thanks !! Jakki xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was gorgeous, well designed and clean.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCNQuest
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place, great location, wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The Bothy has everything you need, it is warm, comfortable, the kitchen is well equipped, the courtyard is lovely, the outside bath is beyond need, it's a real treat!
The location is perfect if you want to explore a lot of Dorset as it in the middle of everything and not far from the lovely south, or new forest to the east etc. and has some great farm shops and pubs close by.
Sarah is the ideal hostess, a mine of information and very welcoming but also unobtrusive.
A perfect place to get away from it all and explore The delights of Dorset!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor bath!
Liked least: No criticisms
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B
Crowborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay & very friendly hosts!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Bothy. We found it very comfortable & roomy for my husband, 2 daughters, son in law, grand son & Molly the dog! There was nothing I didn't like & straight away the Bothy seemed like a home from home & John was very welcoming but left us to enjoy our holiday without intruding unless we needed him for anything. The beds were extremely comfortable & the showers were the best I had ever experienced, powerful & always kept the same temperature! My 3 year old grand son loved the goats, which we fed most days. The local pub " White Lion" was friendly & served good food. The Saturday night we were there they had a vinyl night which was wonderful! We shall definitely go back to the Bothy at some point! I actually shed a tear when we all packed for home......which says it all! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa D
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous accommodation in a lovely village”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Very high standard accommodation with a friendly welcome from the owners, who made sure nothing was too much trouble without being intrusive. Ideal for a larger family group as there was plenty of space.One of the best cottages we have stayed in. Village community run shop was very good and lovely walks available on the doorstep. The Broadwindsor Craft Centre is well worth a visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard and decor of the accommodation
Liked least: Nothing disliked
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Reviewed 22 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing