We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is a great place to stay. ..just like home!”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Orchard Cottage,overlooking garden and Pygmy goat pen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Orchard Cottage,overlooking garden and Pygmy goat pen
Bedroom 2, King size bed, high quality mattress. TV and DVD player Living room, overlooking gardens and goat pen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Front of Orchard Cottage,overlooking garden and Pygmy goat pen
Bedroom 2, King size bed, high quality mattress. TV and DVD player
Living room, overlooking gardens and goat pen
Bedroom 2, King size bed,high quality mattress and 3ft single bed. TV, DVD player
Kitchen, recently refurbished, new double oven, exceptionally well equipped.
Living room with large TV, DVD player and SKY TV, including Sky Sports channels
Dining room, with original Ham stone flag stones. Staircase leads to bedroom 1
Family Bathroom
Family bathroom with bath and walk in shower.
Fenced private garden; access to communal gardens, paddock and large trampoline with enclosure
Orchard Cottage garden; view from the Bedroom towards Lewesdon Hill
View from Orchard Cottage of Broadwindsor, the pretty 12 century church and surrounding countryside
Broadwindsor, surrounded by beautiful countryside, manyl walks straight from the cottage
Beaminster and surounding countryside
Todd and Herbie, mini-pot-bellied-pigs when young. The girls are quite enormous these days!
The Pygmy goats are very popular with guests
Lyme Regis, terraced gardens towards the lovely SANDY BEACH, ROCK POOLS, AND AMAZING FOSSILS
West Hill House and Orchard Cottage; to rear
Marshwood Vale, towards the World Heritage Coast,photographed a short distance from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Broadwindsor, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
edc943
St. John's, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“This is a great place to stay. ..just like home!”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

John, Elaine, Ryan, and Rosie did all they could to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable...we look forward to going back some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisataylo...
Instow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have enjoyed a really interesting and relaxing week in Dorset exploring the Jurassic coast. Orchard Cottage is an ideal base, a short car journey to the coast and surrounding towns / villages and really cosy and comfortable. Our 7 year old son loved feeding the friendly goats, pigs and sheep so ensure you bring lots of fruit and veg which they love! John, Elaine, Ryan and Rosie are always willing to assist and are extremely welcoming and accommodating. We will certainly recommend this property to our friends and family. Thank you so much, we have had a great rest and recharged our batteries ready for the run up to Christmas.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pixiecaro...
norwich
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in peaceful village with walks in every direction”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just returned from having a week in this lovely cottage. We couldnt find a single fault with it. The owners were the nicest of people who helped us out with a taxi on our arrival and were very informative with any questions we asked of them. The village has a lovely shop which stocks everything you may need and a pub. We are keen walkers and covered lots of miles with scenery i dont think could be bettered. If you are looking for a holiday cottage tucked away in a idyllic village with everything you would need and walks from the doorstep, then this is the one for you. If it wasnt for the fact that we are trying to cover holidays all over Great Britain we would definitely return. Thankyou so much for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefullness
Liked least: We loved everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerD
Maidenhead
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing Week”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I found this cottage very relaxing. The cottage was large compared with other two bedrooms cottages we have stayed at in the past.
Each bedroom had a large TV along with the main living room. The only problem we found was sharing the linked en'suite bathroom; Both bedrooms had a door to the bathroom. The main bedroom floor was on the same level to the bathroom but the smaller bedroom has steps down into the bathroom. Whilst using the bathroom we had to lock the other bedroom door once inside to stop others from using the shared bathroom. The smaller bedroom had no door to the downstairs kitchen/breakfast room. The main bedroom has a uneven sloping floor.
The garden was very secure for our two energetic dogs.
The beds were very comfortable not too hard, just right.
The owners Elaine & John were very helpful making sure we had a very pleasant stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location of property and facilities
Liked least: uneven main bedroom floor and shared bathroom linked to two bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snurfdood
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A comfortable base to explore Dorset from”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Really enjoyed my week here with my husband and young sons. The cottage is a pleasure to return to after a long day out. My boys loved the novelty of a TV in their bedroom! Nice to have Sky TV to watch in the evening too. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character features
Liked least: Having to lug everything up the path when we arrived!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing