We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
56
42
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
42
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolifants rivercape townexcellent stayone nightguest housegreat viewother gueststhe main housestaff are greatdining room issurrounding vineyardsbusiness tripnext morninglodgedinnernamibiaflowers
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We recently spent 4 glorious days at this lovely lodge set amongst the vines, overlooking the Olifants River. It is so peaceful and a wonderful place to totally unwind. Nearby Strandfontein boasts a beautiful beach where one can walk endlessly and enjoy the sounds and air of the Atlantic Ocean. There are several wineries in the area, and a few of them have restaurants too. We were so well looked after by Hanika, the manager, and her staff, and Benita who prepared such delicious breakfasts and dinners for us. It is a hotel we've stayed at in the past and we hope we'll have many more opportunities to return in the future!

Room Tip: River view, if possible
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jomc400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

The Platteland is one of the most difficult places to stay in a good facility, if you do not know the area, staying on a farm outside town, is even more risky. Well Melkboomsdrift
Guest house was a total surprise, set on a very pictures spot next to the Oliphant’s River. From the moment you get out of your car you feel relaxed, then you are welcomed by very friendly staff and management, the rooms are very nice and with each room there is a different character.
The food was great and the chef “ Blommie” makes the eating experience special !!!
I will in future always stay at Melkboomsdrift, the view is stunning, for the guys, pack in a fishing rod, bass fishing is great.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lucasjacobusmullerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1807DigitalMarketing, Digital Marketing at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you for your very encouraging review. It's always great to know that our efforts do not go unnoticed as we strive to make our guests our first priority at Melkboomsdrift. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and may look into providing some fishing rods for guests too :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Helpful, efficient, welcoming, especially with my last minute booking for my second nights stay and my late arrival, thank you so much. Will always stay there, excellent service, privacy and the views are second to none.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Igshaanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on a Tennis tour and what a lovely place. The rooms (3 & 4) are huge and stunning with aircon and satellite tv.

Nice swimming pool on the grass to relax and the most friendly hosts

Def worth the 4 stars

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank NielleT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Fantastic view & nice authentic rooms! The location is nice, close to a river in a pretty dry area. The best element is watching the sunrise in the morning. Also, all the nice wine plants make this location unique!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank janz359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews