We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2017

Any trip on the Cape/Namibia route will not be the same without experiencing the hospitality of Melkboomsdrift B&B. The staff, the dogs and Hanika are integral to the success of this place, the views are just an added bonus. Peace and tranquillity abounds,...

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and comfortable, resting here is compulsory. the views from each room is astoundi...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 763zanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2017

We recently spent 4 glorious days at this lovely lodge set amongst the vines, overlooking the Olifants River. It is so peaceful and a wonderful place to totally unwind. Nearby Strandfontein boasts a beautiful beach where one can walk endlessly and enjoy the sounds and air of the Atlantic Ocean. There are several wineries in the area, and a few of them have restaurants too. We were so well looked after by Hanika, the manager, and her staff, and Benita who prepared such delicious breakfasts and dinners for us. It is a hotel we've stayed at in the past and we hope we'll have many more opportunities to return in the future!

Room Tip: River view, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jomc400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

The Platteland is one of the most difficult places to stay in a good facility, if you do not know the area, staying on a farm outside town, is even more risky. Well Melkboomsdrift
Guest house was a total surprise, set on a very pictures spot next to the Oliphant’s River. From the moment you get out of your car you feel relaxed, then you are welcomed by very friendly staff and management, the rooms are very nice and with each room there is a different character.
The food was great and the chef “ Blommie” makes the eating experience special !!!
I will in future always stay at Melkboomsdrift, the view is stunning, for the guys, pack in a fishing rod, bass fishing is great.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lucasjacobusmullerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1807DigitalMarketing, Digital Marketing at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you for your very encouraging review. It's always great to know that our efforts do not go unnoticed as we strive to make our guests our first priority at Melkboomsdrift. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and may look into providing some fishing rods for guests too :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Helpful, efficient, welcoming, especially with my last minute booking for my second nights stay and my late arrival, thank you so much. Will always stay there, excellent service, privacy and the views are second to none.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Igshaanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on a Tennis tour and what a lovely place. The rooms (3 & 4) are huge and stunning with aircon and satellite tv.

Nice swimming pool on the grass to relax and the most friendly hosts

Def worth the 4 stars

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank NielleT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Melkboomsdrift Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melkboomsdrift Guest House

Address: Vredendal 8160, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Vredendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Vredendal
Price Range: $90 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is little to prepare you for the sheer chic and panache of this stylish establishment. Each suite has been lovingly restored and decorated in a uniquely distinctive style. The garden is peaceful and spacious with a pool where you can relax and have a bottle of our own wine while staring out on the beautiful scenes of vineyards and the Olifants River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Melkboomsdrift Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing