We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“luxury in relaxing surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property
The Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bedroom
The Bedroom The Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Living Area
The Living Area
The Kitchen and Dining Area
The Kitchen
Looking Out From Japonica Across The Thrift And Chives In The Courtyard
The Spa (Spa Bath, Steam Room, Sauna and Lounging Area)
The Gym
The Reading Room
Lavender Outside Japonica
Japonica
Looking West From Japonica
Looking West From Downe
LOOKING NORTH TO LUNDY FROM DOWNE
Grounds
Clovelly Harbour
Hartland Quay
View from the South West Coast Path
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hartland, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ann P
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“luxury in relaxing surroundings”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage we stayed in was fabulous. Everything you could possibly need was provided. Beds were comfortable, it was spacious but retained the cosy feel of a Devon cottage. Having a gym, reading room and dvd's to use was very thoughtful. The peace and quiet made our stay a relaxing getaway. The location of the cottages was perfect for exploring north Devon and Cornwall.We didnt want to leave and definately want to return.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bushbaby9...
nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“everything you could want and more”
Reviewed 19 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Myself and my granddaughter had a week of pure indulgence and relaxation in japonica cottage .Champagne and chocolates were awaiting us when we arrived.The cottage was spotless , well equipped and exremely comfortable.Meals were delivered fresh to our cottage daily ,the choice and quality were excellent all homemade and delicious.The therapies were sheer indulgence and the therapists made us feel very relaxed and special .relaxing in the lounge between therapies with lovely views of the atlantic and surrounding areas was outstanding. well what can i say about the owners Jeremy and Lynda ,they collected us from bideford at the begining of our stay and then dropped us off in barnstaple on the way home they are very proffesional and really srive to make sure their guests have a truly unique experience and they certainly succeed .If you want to see what they offer just look on their web site as what you see is what you get .We would recommend a stay at downe we guarantee you will not be dissapointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kejoel
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent facilities in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 20 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We were greeted like old friends on arrival by Jeremy,even though we were over an hour earlier than we should have been.Jeremy showed us around Japonica cottage and told us where everything could be located.The Cottage was very clean and fresh a real home from home,also very well equipped.Also on sight is a wonderful Spa,we were able to have exclusive use for one hour at a very reasonable cost.Hartland is truely a gem in North Devon and a visit to Hartland Quay for stunning views is a must.Downe cottages and Spa is the best place we have stayed in North Devon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Reviewed 15 October 2010 for a stay in October 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West Sussex
Reviewed 8 September 2010 for a stay in September 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing