We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'BUF' - Best Ulster Fry”
Review of AJ's Diner

AJ's Diner
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Crossgar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At AJ's Diner you will find something for everyone! Always fresh and always the best locally sourced ingredients teamed with fantastic service. For breakfast, lunch and dinner, we are here for you! We have a huge menu with breakfasts, fresh roast dinners every day, 28 day dry aged sirloin steaks, burgers, sandwiches, salads, seafood, chicken, starters and sweets. We've got it all! Everything is cooked to order. There's no such thing as frozen food at AJ's unless of course you are talking about the Maud's ice cream! You can even bring your own bottle of wine for our free corkage service! AJ's truly is famous for food! Our customers come from far and wide for delicious meals served in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere! We are the perfect choice for families and friends. No need to book! We have expanded our floor area twice to accommodate our customers and now are spread over two floors and three rooms so there's plenty of room for everyone! Having a bigger get together? Call us to book a private function. Nothing compares to AJ's Diner! Or in the words of our owner Alan as he plates up yet another culinary treat, "Sure where else would you get it?!"
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We visit family in the area every year and always look for a good breakfast. We've tried lots of places, some good some average and some that are atrocious. AJs breakfast is by far the BUF within a 10 mile radius. It's stunning. Fresh, well cooked and great portion sizes.

1  Thank 680davidh680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen R, Manager at AJ's Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear David H,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We really appreciate you taking the time to reccomend our restaurant to other TripAdvisor members.

We're delighted that you enjoyed what you call our BUF!

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

excellent service food is 5* highly recommended for family outings are meals staff very friendly and restaurant very very clean will definitely be back

1  Thank gerardc8992018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen R, Manager at AJ's Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear gerardc8992018,

Thank you for taking the time to review AJ's Diner on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read your 5* review!

We really appreciate your kind comments about the food and service that you received on your visits to our restaurant and we hope that you and your family will continue to visit for many years to come.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

We went for brunch and I can honestly say it was amazing and cheap. Staff r so friendly n welcoming. I would recommend this place to anyone I meet. Food is second to none. Xx

1  Thank Collette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen R, Manager at AJ's Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Collette M,

Thank you for taking the time to review AJ's Diner. We were so pleased that you were impressed by your visit.

We pride ourselves upon delivering the full package at AJ's! Great food, great service and affordable prices. It's so encouraging for our waiting staff to hear that the friendly service they provide is appreciated and for our chefs to hear that the food they prepare is so enjoyable!

We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Friendly staff, always busy which is a good sign, and the food doesn't disappoint, may have to wait a while for a table but it's worth it

1  Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen R, Manager at AJ's Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Janet,

Thank you for an amazing review of our restaurant!

We really appreciate hearing from our customers and welcome your feedback. We are very glad that you found the food, service and value for money to be of an excellent standard.

We try to make sure that at busy times that everything runs very smoothly so that waiting times are usually very short, and always worth it!

We hope we will be welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

I have been coming here for years and couldn't fault it for both service or food, went 3 weeks ago expecting the same, totally disgusting chicken In the kebab was carved of a breast, lukewarm, wedges could bounce of the floor, or rubbed my son's homework out, stinking, when I returned the un eaten food I got told there was nothing wrong with it and that's how it always is, WRONG!! 2 kids meals both with beans dumped all over the food, couldn't be eaten either, 2years and 4 years leaving starving because someone couldn't heat beans in a rampkin!! I will never return here being made to pay for food that wasn't eaten!! Whoever is cooking needs a lesson quick

1  Thank Natalie0176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen R, Manager at AJ's Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Dear Natalie0176,

Thank you for taking the time to review AJ's Diner on TripAdvisor. Whilst we appreciate all customers feedback and try to look upon critical reviews as a means to improve, we were somewhat disappointed that you chose to base your TripAdvisor review on this one bad experience rather than countless faultless visits.

However, I do appreciate your concern and having spoken to the staff on duty and yourself about this incident, I would like to apologise for the issues surrounding the food and service you received on this occasion. We are very proud of the high quality of fresh food and friendly service that we provide so we are obviously very disappointed that you found this not to be the case this time. As you have expressed it is definitely not the norm for AJ's Diner and the food and service has been excellent on every other occasion, prompting you to highly reccomend us to your family and friends.

We would be very disappointed to lose you as a customer due to this incident and I sincerely hope that we can resolve it so that we can continue to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AJ's Diner also viewed

Downpatrick, County Down
 
Downpatrick, County Down
Crossgar, Downpatrick
 
Hillsborough, County Down
Crossgar, Downpatrick
 

Been to AJ's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing