We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding ”

Canyon Overlook Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 80.00*
and up
America the Beautiful - National Parks & Federal...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This one-mile hiking trail starts just outside the east entrance to the Zion-Mt Carmel Tunnel, and leads to a dramatic observation point that provides impressive views of Zion's rugged landscape.
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

Did this hike today. This is a must do at Zion. A couple of places it would be difficult for the faint at heart but making it to the top will be a great accomplishment if you are afraid of heights.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank mikegK6419WK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"short hike"
in 86 reviews
"easy hike"
in 55 reviews
"drop offs"
in 34 reviews
"limited parking"
in 17 reviews
"canyon overlook"
in 24 reviews
"small lot"
in 7 reviews
"tunnel entrance"
in 10 reviews
"parking spot"
in 23 reviews
"big horn sheep"
in 25 reviews
"great hike"
in 40 reviews
"mile round trip"
in 19 reviews
"mt carmel"
in 20 reviews
"parking space"
in 12 reviews
"mountain sheep"
in 10 reviews
"narrow ledges"
in 8 reviews
"elevation gain"
in 14 reviews
"amazing views"
in 23 reviews
Filter

92 - 96 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

This is a first trail that I would do. We did this trail at the end of our trip. It is an easy hike. I would suggest to wear a hiking shoes. We come from Canada, so we are well equipped for the hike. The view was so spectacular.

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank byjeanmichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

My daughter and I hiked this trail and to be honest once we got to the over look, we didn't want to leave. A fairly cut and dry hike ( I used my hiking poles my daughter did not) it is a great adventure ending with a stunning view of the canyon. I'd recommend going during the week and as early in the morning as possible to avoid the crowds.Just a magical place...

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

This was the first hike we did on our trip to Zion NP and even after doing some of the more famous hikes this was still one of my favorites.
The Trail head/Parking is easy to miss because it's pretty much right after you exit the tunnel.
It has a few places where you're like "WOW if I slip it's not gonna be a good day"
The amazing Canyon overlook vista at the end is definitely worth the hike
An added bonus is we got to see some Big Horn sheep up Close!!

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank KABBANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

I’m not a hiker, that’s for sure! But I thought I’d give it a go... the hike has steep spots, but is worth the effort. Some tight spots that have a narrow path and a bit of a drop, but take time and away you go.

Would do it again, for sure!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank E3429QHphilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canyon Overlook Trail also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Canyon Overlook Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing